Bongetti at say pick 36?

len_jet

Jun 11, 2006
Mernda
I know this kid personally and he is not only a top kid but can play the game!

Played at FF along side Kreuzer and Cotchin. At 191cm and 89kgs I reckon he would be great alongside Fev and Fisher. Known to kick bags including 2 bags of 7 and 3 bags of 6 during this years TAC year. What is most impressive is he kicked 63 goals in only 15 games (4.2 ave) and as a FF he avereaged 13 stats this year with a couple of injuries. In 2006 he kicked 40 from 20 starts.

The last knights player to do something like this was Ben McKinley who kicked 71 goals from 19 starts in 2005. He was picked up by West Coast at pick 29 in the 2005 draft.

Thoughts?

Is that you Tim?? :p:D

No No Gilly... probably just bias views towards the guys I know personally... Bongetti, Cotchin, McKinley, Jackson etc.

However the stats and his game play is good. Bongetti has dominated from way back in his early greensborough days :thumbsu:

I think i brought this up ages ago lol, i had the same idea. He will definately be around with a later pick, even if we end up taking a 4th pick with him.

What's his acceleration off the mark like CHELSWORTHGATE? has he got the pace to get off his man?

is that meant to be an insult? Are you trying to be funny? hard to understand, no wait Tiger... Richmond supporter I assume... understandable now

he's not bad off the mark, no asafa powell. Wish I had some 20m times off him. Can take a good pack mark though and with today's sensational coaches ruining the game like Solarium Terry and No Idea Lyon with their flooding techniques pack/contested marks are crutial.

I think i brought this up ages ago lol, i had the same idea. He will definately be around with a later pick, even if we end up taking a 4th pick with him.

sorry mate the board is huge to trawl back through to find our thread. Wouldn't mind a read got a link?

no insult intended chelsworthgate--didn't mean that at all---my username is a tribute to brent crosswell as no. 17[an old favourate]as in ''tiger'' crosswell

sorry mate the board is huge to trawl back through to find our thread. Wouldn't mind a read got a link?

Nah it's cool, i think I got shot down pretty bad for saying we needed to start looking for another FF. I really only watched a couple of Northern games this year due to uni and work commitments, but the ones i saw Tim played really well and kicked a bag in another.

The questions i had over him was his pace off the mark, but he is smart and seems to know where and when to lead. Also i dont rate him kicking the ball from 50m +. I think the Fev comparisons end there.

Itd be a massive risk to take him but he could play a stay at home forward. If anything probs a 4th round pick, anything lower is pushing it. Id prefer to go for someone like Dan McKenna

Nah it's cool, i think I got shot down pretty bad for saying we needed to start looking for another FF. I really only watched a couple of Northern games this year due to uni and work commitments, but the ones i saw Tim played really well and kicked a bag in another.

The questions i had over him was his pace off the mark, but he is smart and seems to know where and when to lead. Also i dont rate him kicking the ball from 50m +. I think the Fev comparisons end there.

Itd be a massive risk to take him but he could play a stay at home forward. If anything probs a 4th round pick, anything lower is pushing it. Id prefer to go for someone like Dan McKenna

I wouldnt tout him as a Fev replacement, more of an assistance to Fisher. Imagine you got Fev and fisher leading with XXX a stay at home, or you mix it up a little with Fisher and XXX leading and Fev staying at home. Three good contested markes, two solid stay at home types and two genuine lead up and mark types... seems like a pretty good combo with plenty of options.

The speed of the mark is something you can work on. The right coach and the right type of weights work etc will work wonders. Also the kicking a ball 50m can come with specific leg training and more practice on timing. No doubt he is raw but the potential is there.

Dan McKenna... tell me more.

We have enough options for third tall forwards, all who are a lot more agile and versatile than Bongetti. I think if Bongo is going to play AFL then he probably needs a year or two in the VFL to impress and then get picked up late in a draft a-la Aaron Edwards.

The game has past the likes of Bongetti by. He's OK on the lead and 1 on 1 but if he doesn't mark it he's completely out of the contest. Tim unfortunately has the turning circle of the Queen Mary and would be run off constantly at AFL level making him a liability.

Will be a great VFL player.

The game has past the likes of Bongetti by. He's OK on the lead and 1 on 1 but if he doesn't mark it he's completely out of the contest. Tim unfortunately has the turning circle of the Queen Mary and would be run off constantly at AFL level making him a liability.

That's pretty much my thoughts on Bongo. If he can get some athletisism into his game, and work on his mobility at VFL level, then he might be a chance at AFL level, but suspect he'll be a good VFL player.

Thanks for everyones input... I now see why you were shot down in a blaze of glory ClayBlue87! :D

So pick 36, who then? I know about 5 in this draft, the 5 that they have spoken about... Morton, Kreuzer, Cotchin, Palmer, Masten... who and what will be there at 36?

Levi Greenwood

If Greenwood manages to get past Port's first pick then there is no way that the SA based club will let him slip past the 2nd round... would be great get though.

Im just praying to GOD that Vesz ir Marric manage to slip down to 3rd round. I have a feeling a lot of clubs will be taking risk tall project players. Like Tony Notte...wtf is he doing at 70kg?

I wouldn't get my hopes up about a Vesz or a Maric getting to 36 in this draft, normally when blokes are pushed back like that it is usually in a deep draft and/or with some outstanding athletic talls who look like they may make it as well (e.g. Hampson), this draft has neither.

I suspect we will target whoever falls through who has decent pace, footskills and a determnation to work hard and succeed.

I wouldn't get my hopes up about a Vesz or a Maric getting to 36 in this draft, normally when blokes are pushed back like that it is usually in a deep draft and/or with some outstanding athletic talls who look like they may make it as well (e.g. Hampson), this draft has neither.

I suspect we will target whoever falls through who has decent pace, footskills and a determnation to work hard and succeed.

You make it all sound pretty grim. I'm hoping on some non under 18 late developers being worth it. There was a few mentioned in the IF draft guide. They are often underestimated because they are deemed to have been 'passed over'. Have you looked much beyond the TAC cup and the championships, Gilly?

We have enough options for third tall forwards, all who are a lot more agile and versatile than Bongetti. I think if Bongo is going to play AFL then he probably needs a year or two in the VFL to impress and then get picked up late in a draft a-la Aaron Edwards.
Exactly. He would need to play such irresistable VFL footy that he couldn't be ignored.

When I saw this thread my first thought was "20 years ago." Top player, wrong era.

Im just praying to GOD that Vesz ir Marric manage to slip down to 3rd round. I have a feeling a lot of clubs will be taking risk tall project players. Like Tony Notte...wtf is he doing at 70kg?
If Adelaide passed up Vesz or Maric at 27 I'd be angry. If we passed up Vesz or Maric at 30 I may end up commiting an assault.

Bongetti at say pick 36?