" Boofa " Maxfield

Jun 24, 2004
Guantanomo Bay
Watching a bit of the North - Swans game last night . Early on saw Maxfield slam a couple of his customary left foot ,on the run , goals through and it got me to thinking ...............

We often discuss on this forum about the plethora of drafting and recruiting errors we have made over the years but i never hear this blokes name mentioned . I reckon letting Boofa go is up there with the best of them . Look at his career at the swans , culminating in him getting the captaincy .

I`d be interested to hear other peoples thoughts on Stewie , and i would keen to know whether anyone out there knows the true facts around his departure . My understanding is that we thought he was worth about 80 -90,000 grand a year and the swans offered him something like 150,000 a year . We couldn`t ( or didn`t want to ) up the anti due to having to mortgage the punt rd. stand for the like of cambo , Daffy , Richo etc .I don`t think we even got anything for him , they got him as a priority ?

Every time i see Maxfield slam one of those left footers through it turns my stomach . Especially when you see some of the duds out of that era we held onto instead.

IDGAF said:
Watching a bit of the North - Swans game last night . Early on saw Maxfield slam a couple of his customary left foot ,on the run , goals through and it got me to thinking ...............

We often discuss on this forum about the plethora of drafting and recruiting errors we have made over the years but i never hear this blokes name mentioned . I reckon letting Boofa go is up there with the best of them . Look at his career at the swans , culminating in him getting the captaincy .

I`d be interested to hear other peoples thoughts on Stewie , and i would keen to know whether anyone out there knows the true facts around his departure . My understanding is that we thought he was worth about 80 -90,000 grand a year and the swans offered him something like 150,000 a year . We couldn`t ( or didn`t want to ) up the anti due to having to mortgage the punt rd. stand for the like of cambo , Daffy , Richo etc .I don`t think we even got anything for him , they got him as a priority ?

Every time i see Maxfield slam one of those left footers through it turns my stomach . Especially when you see some of the duds out of that era we held onto instead.

i believe we were somehow given first pick in the psd as compensation from the afl or something (dont quite know how or why this was done) which is how we got gaspar so it was effectively maxfield for gaspar. i think he wanted to go and money was the motivating factor.

The Swans were granted some concession picks that let them target some uncontracted players. They targeted and 'signed' Maxfield and Naish. Richmond then pointed out that the Swans had stuffed-up and ignored the one player per club rule and the Swans had to back-out of signing Naish.

In exchange for losing Maxfield we got a compensation pick in the PSD that we used to pinch Gaspar. So Maxfield for Gaspar in effect.

Maxfield was no great loss. We came out ahead in the deal until the last 2 seasons when Gaspar did his knee, and there is no predicting that sort of thing.

hahaha chris naish. does anyone here know where he is.

Watched our 1994 video the other day

dundas,maxfield,stuart edwards,stuart wigney,nick daffy

WHAT A CROP OF STARS! GET THRM BACK TO THE CLUB ASAP haha

Maxfield was a Tivendale for ten years of his career. He has only become reasonable in the last couple of years. Good riddance.

cairo tiger said:
i was very voacl about maxfield leaving us for the swans...he wanted to stay and went to the club and said this is what the swans offered me can you match it and wladron said go jump...well done waldron

You critise the club for overpaying players like Daffy and Gaspar then you critise the club for not giving in to the demands of Maxfield for a 100% salary increase after his first good season.

look mate i just told you the facts i am not to blame for what happend.

everyone knew boofa was going to be a great player. the problem with daffy was that he was only a spare parts player and all of a sudden he gets elevated to legend status after an ok year where he kiced a few goals. Gasper just plain wanted more money and asked for it. Maxy was a tiger boy who loved the tigers and we did not have any good people who could see he wated to stay there for ever.....we miss out

He was a sook !

Spoilt rotten and loves himself in the Aron Hamil mode but not as good a player.

Would never Captain in any other state.

IDGAF said:

We often discuss on this forum about the plethora of drafting and recruiting errors we have made over the years but i never hear this blokes name mentioned . I reckon letting Boofa go is up there with the best of them . Look at his career at the swans , culminating in him getting the captaincy ..

you dont need to convince me , he was an absolute fav of mine in his brief time at tigerland....pretty sure tiges did all they could to keep him, swans had concesions that entitled them to 2 uncontracted players..they wanted Naish as well at the time...Rumour had it that he was offered as part of the Locket deal that stkilda declined, preferring , the wakelins, robert neil amongst others

" Boofa " Maxfield