Skills Boots

• Thread starter Thread starter neng

Went out and bought a pair of Tigreors during the pre-season and haven't had any problems. Very comfortable boot.

Thought about the F50's as I found them at $180, but prefer leather to synthetic.

unsure whether its because of numerous sprained ankles and liagament damage or just the extra cushioning but i mush prefer the asics boots that have the wider sole and extra heel support... Am currently running these...
How do you find they are for kicking? I love my Gel Lethals, but I'm a referee so I go solely for comfort. When I played rugby and was kicking, I used to wear Predators.

do they have boots similar to this that are predominantly white?

also, is the big aasics fan group in footy players due to their comfort and foot support?

i never see anyone wear nikes, a few wear predators though

Some players where Nike Legends I think. I don't go for them because I think they are overpriced pieces of crap, Asics are by far the better brand. Adidas aren't bad but if you don't get top of the line it isn't exactly worth it I reckon.

Hey all,

As alot of you at the stage of buying a new pairs of boots. (Late start to the season for me this year).

Went into Athletes foot and tried the Adidas predator, Asics Tigreor and Xblades Legend.

Found all boots comfortable to try on but that means little really without spending a couple of training sessions or a game in them.

Wasn't overly thrilled with the high toe in teh Xblades, seems it would affect kicking.

So really torn between the predator and tigreor. I seen rave reviews for the Tigreor on here.
What is the go with the 10mm heel, supposedly it reduces strain on the body? I do have hamstring problems at times, and get heel/achilles pain at the latter stages of training and games on the right side.

For some reason Im leaning towards the Predator, and not for the colours as I would buy black regardsless of the boot I buy. I just really liked the fit.

I'm 6'4" mid 90'sKG.
A little concerned if I went adidas for the fit over the asics, I might find myself with aches and pains down the track.
Any thoughts from people who know about boots?

Luke

Hey all,

As alot of you at the stage of buying a new pairs of boots. (Late start to the season for me this year).

Went into Athletes foot and tried the Adidas predator, Asics Tigreor and Xblades Legend.

Found all boots comfortable to try on but that means little really without spending a couple of training sessions or a game in them.

Wasn't overly thrilled with the high toe in teh Xblades, seems it would affect kicking.

So really torn between the predator and tigreor. I seen rave reviews for the Tigreor on here.
What is the go with the 10mm heel, supposedly it reduces strain on the body? I do have hamstring problems at times, and get heel/achilles pain at the latter stages of training and games on the right side.

For some reason Im leaning towards the Predator, and not for the colours as I would buy black regardsless of the boot I buy. I just really liked the fit.

I'm 6'4" mid 90'sKG.
A little concerned if I went adidas for the fit over the asics, I might find myself with aches and pains down the track.
Any thoughts from people who know about boots?

Luke
Just buy the Tigreors

The Tigreor gets such rave reviews because Asics really know how to make awesomely comfortable boots, probably the best out there. That doesn't mean that the Predator is a bad boot though - it's very well designed. Because it's primarily a soccer boot adidas also put more effort in designing the kicking zone - greater rigidity and better shape - which I tended to find gave me better consistency with my kicking.

At the end of the day they're both great boots. Unless you have serious problems with your feet, if you prefer the fit there's no real reason not to choose the Predator.

The Tigreors took me a while to get comfortable in but they're very good boots once you get used. As are the Predators - which for mine, are definitely the better kicking boot.

With the Tigreor though, the higher heel does make it feel like my ankles are more vulnerable. Been getting a bit of pain in my right ankle (which I had injured a few years ago but been good for well over a year) but not sure if it's the boor aggravating an old injury or a genuine injury I picked up.

The Tigreors took me a while to get comfortable in but they're very good boots once you get used. As are the Predators - which for mine, are definitely the better kicking boot.

With the Tigreor though, the higher heel does make it feel like my ankles are more vulnerable. Been getting a bit of pain in my right ankle (which I had injured a few years ago but been good for well over a year) but not sure if it's the boor aggravating an old injury or a genuine injury I picked up.
Same with the getting used to them part, man I love them so much, best boots I have ever worn by far

Thanks all,

I am planning to go back in to try both the Tigreors and Predators on again and spend some serious time comparing the fit and feel.

My head is really telling me to listen to all the people talking about how comfortable the Tigreors are and as I have mentioned with my history of Achilles/Calf tightness and hamstring problems in R leg perhaps that elevated heel is a wise move. But I'd hate to compromise kicking efficiency for perceived injury prevention when perhaps more comfort doesn't result in that at all?

The appeal of the predator for the light/tight fit, and the reported assistance with kicking efficiency has me liking them alot, but is that worth ignoring the possibility that this boot may not provide the long term comfort and reported 'reduced strain on the body'?

Some of you may feel I am crazy for being so pedantic about boot choice, but with such an injury ravaged career it could be the make or break of my footy comeback.

Luke

Look, the Tigreor is a great boot. When we say 'the Predator is a better kicking boot' we're talking about pretty minor differences.

Personally, if you're that worried about your fitness then I'd make that the priority. Nothing's more important than your health and it's not like opting for the Asics is going to turn you into a crap player.

Look, the Tigreor is a great boot. When we say 'the Predator is a better kicking boot' we're talking about pretty minor differences.

Personally, if you're that worried about your fitness then I'd make that the priority. Nothing's more important than your health and it's not like opting for the Asics is going to turn you into a crap player.

Yeah very valid points. And I think that's why my head is telling me to go with the Tigreor, now is not the time to be adventurous with boot choices.

Cheers all
Luke

anyone used the tigreor's and the Gel lethal and give me a comparison? i understand they both have the 10m heel.

and what is the difference between the tigreors 3 TI and tigreors 4 IT. Simply the 3rd and 4th versions?

I have had both over the years. Personally in terms of comfort and support, the GEL Lethal's kick the Tigreor's ass. Not to say the Tigreor is a bad boot. Far from it, it is lighter than the Gel Lethal and looks flashier. I just prefer the Gel Lethal as it is an extremely snug and comfortable fit. Can't go wrong with that :)

is there any difference in the ball coming off the boot?

also, i know it might seem silly, but as the Gels seem bigger and heavier do you think there is any difference with acceleration and speed, ie are the Gels slower?

In terms of the ball coming off the boot I didn't notice a difference. I guess both boots are very true to how well you kick the footy.The Tigreor's where much lighter that was a given. But I didn't think the Gel Lethal's affected me to the point of slowing down you know. But if you want a light boot, go tigreor. If you want more comfort, go Gel Lethal. BTW if you do go Gel Lethal I recommend the Gel Lethal 13, I found their stub pattern better then the Gel Lethal Ultimate's. Which where like 80 bucks more expensive. Hope this helped man..:)

Ive been a Puma King man the last 3 years, very happy with them. If I wasnt playing only half of this season i'd have bought this years model as well. I got last years pair for $80 shipped from the UK, so I was quite stoked.
Before the Kings i had some Predators which were rubbish, felt bad for my feet and started to come apart not long after I had them, which I found out later seemed to be a common problem.
Ive never been an Asics fan with boots, every time i tried them they didnt feel right. In saying that though, I havent tried them for a couple of years now, and the new Tigreors look fantastic, and my mate who has them raves about them.

Biig bump!

I'm looking at purchasing some Nike Mercurial Vapor 7's for this upcoming season. I want to train in them now for the pre season. Has anyone had any experience with these? After the season how did they go? I see someone said they may be a bit thin.
http://www.eastbay.com/product/mode...ISTENT CART: QUICK VIEW: MORE INFO#tab-sizing Has anyone found it cheaper anywhere? Shame the big splash of pink though

Biig bump!

I'm looking at purchasing some Nike Mercurial Vapor 7's for this upcoming season. I want to train in them now for the pre season. Has anyone had any experience with these? After the season how did they go? I see someone said they may be a bit thin.
http://www.eastbay.com/product/mode...ISTENT CART: QUICK VIEW: MORE INFO#tab-sizing Has anyone found it cheaper anywhere? Shame the big splash of pink though

I had the orange Nikes two years ago when they first came out. Didnt see out the year. Comfy boot but just feel apart. i dont get as much of the ball as Dane Swan or run as much as Nick Riewoldt so no real excuse for them to fail.

After spending this year wearing the Tigreor's, I can confidently say I won't be looking to any other boot than Asics. I didn't experience any blistering, they wear comfortable to wear even from day one, haven't even started falling apart and bloody good to kick with. Would recommend to everyone if you want a reliable and comfy pair of boots.

couldn't agree more