Boring Bombers?

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club:
Looks like flooding is catching!

Could you have got any more players inside defensive fifty?

So tell me Bomber fans - did you find it boring?

The fact remains, the game was not a scrap (even in those wet conditions). The boys tackled hard and ran hard into space to open the game up heading forward. The SCG is a small ground, and the Swans were their worst enemy. They were far too slow in turning defence into attack and time and time again bombed the ball to CHF.

On occasions, flooding at the SCG cannot be avoided. However, IMO flooding at larger grounds (MCG, Colonial) is more often than not, a premeditated tactic!

The game was boring. full stop. We weren't allowed to use the adverse conditions as an excuse for the Freo v Hawks being boring, so you can't use it for the Sydney essendon game

topdon- are you seriously suggesting that Essendon didn't have a premeditated plan to flood the Swans forward line-absurd.

If anything footy is worse to watch when flooding occurs on small grounds for obvious reasons. Yet you seem to be satisfied when the Bombers flood a tiny ground its ok but when Hawthorn or the Dogs flood at the G or colonial its not.

It just seems hypocritical-could you please explain the difference

stegelator
No they won't do that, but just wait until we have another loss, they will be in here with their 100's of topics bagging us, tall poppy syndrome, they are all jealous of our mighty team.
rolleyes.gif

------------------
RED & BLACK, THE COLOURS OF FENG SHUI

I didn't find it boring at all. Aussie Rules is the most exciting spectator sport in the world, full stop.

The match was played in wet, soppy conditions which obviously leads to a lot of ball ups, and so forth. If there is a lot of flooding at one end of the ground, it also means that at the other end of the ground, there is a lot of open space. We exploited this a few times when Fletcher cleared from the defensive 50.

I think supporters tend to get a bit precious sometimes. The game has always been a great spectacle and will continue to be.

Footy is never boring, at least to me.

I thought the Crows-Carlton game was extremely entertaining and there were only 7 or 8 goals kicked for each side.

Originally posted by mantis:
stegelator
No they won't do that, but just wait until we have another loss, they will be in here with their 100's of topics bagging us, tall poppy syndrome, they are all jealous of our mighty team.
rolleyes.gif

Just as well you put the rolleyes there
wink.gif

------------------
Yellow n Black is the colour of the sky and the grass.

have u been completly obvlivious to afl football for the last 5 years
every team floods in one way or another

how was it boring, essendon flooding did not hold the game up, it created play by allowing essendon to transfer the ball quickly through the midfield into a position to shoot for goal

last week people were praising brittain for flooding essendon, this week essendon is getting slagged for doing a similar thing

simple solution
if u find it boring dont watch it

Walshy,

Exactly right, mate. If there are 30 players in one teams defensive 50, it must mean there are only 6 players in the entire rest of the ground. Essendon had an open forward lne at various stages last night, because they moved the ball quickly.

There hasn't been a noticeable change in scoring over the last 5 years, and there hasn't been a decline in crowds. In fact, crowds rose every year from 1991 to 1998, with a "slight" drop in 1999 - probably only due to random variation.

Football is just as exciting as it ever was.