10k Posts
Jan 8, 2001
On the 'Group W' bench.
Footscray
Does anyone else think that Basketball is a pointless waste of time. Maybe thats being a bit unfair on people who like the game, but I just can't see how its in anyway interesting. Its just another of those American sports(like Gridiron) that are for people who dont actually like sport, just the idea of liking a sport and need to be entertained.
If your'e wondering what this has to do with footy, then I think that some of the culture of these sports are beginning to rub off on our game(music blaring, excessive pre-match entertainment.)

------------------
...Son, if youre going to follow the Doggies you'll need a sense of humour...

U guys are weird!

Basketball is one of the most entertaining sports in the world!

Go 6ers!

------------------
"I came here to win, I am a winner" - Denzel Washington , Remember The Titans ; 2000

Basketball!?

I'd rather watch rug beleagured!
eek.gif

I love the game basketball, but I can't stand watching it when played too fast or if the win is a total blow-out. I prefer close, competative play.
Professional basketball happens too fast, and is mostly based around offensive plays in the game- it gets boring watching the ball go up one end, a shot being made, then watching it go back all over again.. which is usually what happens in such a high league, offense is focused on alot more than defense- Not in ALL pro basketball, but the majority of the time. Most teams that play now, will just go back into their defensive zone, and if a shot is put up, the offense immediately runs back towards their defensive half, without attempting the offensive rebound..it gets boring
-- thats what i have noticed anyway.. in the nbl at least

If the game is played between two teams with similar plays, both defensive and offensive, and the scores are tight.. then it can be very entertaining.

GO TIGERS

Basketball is a boring, repetitive game designed for freaks of nature. It has the entertainment value of some of Dan's posts.(Not all)

------------------
Trample the Weak,
Hurdle the Dead.

hey.. i love nba !

though, in recent times... scoring levels and shooting percentages are way down... the emphasis on defense is the main culprit here... in nba, the focus is on defense over offense... defense wins games..

i fear this will eventually happen to our great code of football, where defensive tactics (eg flooding/tagging) will be increasingly used... kinda is anyway..

anyway, lighten up!! b-ball isnt shoved down your throat... there are far more boring sports on tv.. (eg. cricket! my solution is to have scores level at the 49th over, and leave it to the tailenders to bat it out!
... or in a Test match, leave it to the very last hour.. then we wouldnt have to watch the rest of the frickin boring game!)

QT... mate.. 6'ers! hehe.. 'the answer' iverson for mvp!!

I love basketball, it's fast, athletic, and an exciting sport to watch.

Mr. Ripper, rugby over basketball?? rugby league is a repetitive, utterly boring game. No wonder 10,000 is a good crowd to watch their game (considering they play in large stadiums.)

I can't say I love it or hate it, but its nowhere near the excitement level of AFL. Is there any other free flowing game where teams score every 30 seconds? If you see so much scoring so often it takes out the excitement of seeeing a goal scored. People say AFL is too high scoring, it's nothing like basketball.

Dont like to play it much either.
Footy rules! Soccer 2nd

Australian Basketball sucks, NBA is of a lot higher standard.
Footy is No.1 in my mind, Soccer has become enjoyable lately with Leeds Utd playing so well, until this year.
I don't mind Ice Hockey, the skill of the players can't be questioned, although some of them might be a little dim (bit like Rugby) they can play. It's fast and physical, much like footy, except footy has that something special that makes it No.1

I must say i dislike basketball with a passion. its so boring to see the ball go up and down the court time and time again.

At the game, basketball isn't too bad. Although its not the actual basketball, its the entertainment that makes it a good thing to go to every now and then (once or twice a year, at tops).

BTW, someone mentioned how boring rugby league is. i have to agree, what once a great (possibly the greatest) game has been taken over by american culture so you have to do the same thing over and over again, and it is one of the most boring sports on the planet now.

------------------
visit the Easts Cricket Club - <A HREF="http://www.eastscricket.com.au" TARGET=_blank>www.eastscricket.com.au
</A>
A must for anybody into statistics - http://cromulent.freehosting.net/

POPPA, you prefer a game where you wait 90 minutes for a goal that may never come?? I don't mind soccer, but I dislike watching boring draws between two defensively minded teams. However millions love the game so it can't be all bad.

One thing all of us agree is that footy is the best.
smile.gif

I went once. The guy behind me had binoculars ! I thought 'surely you can see them from here'

The only time he used them was when the teenage cheerleaders were on ! wot a Perv.

I suppose its like being at the tennis except they're a but more circumpect there

Boring Boring Boring