Bowdens Final seconds tactic

Bowden saves the day...again.

Anyone else out there with a Mother who is a Bummer supporter? Had a family get together today, and I made sure i accessorised my winter scarf with one badge.....Joel Bowden's face. She is filthy, and dirty too.

Priceless!

Brilliant tactic and I think Wallace orchestrated this maybe after what happened with the Bulldogs draw.

I was angry after the first rushed behind but after the second,my mind clicked and it was a perfect spot in front of the Essendon cheersquad.:p

Maybe the more insults he got,the more he thought"**** em":D

Yeah on radio it was all if the 3 point rule was in we would of lost , if it was in he wouldnt of done it. Bowden is a smart footballer would of made sure he was the one bringing the ball in.

The bigger issue is we struggle to bring the ball in at big moments in games , reckon we have been ordinary at bringing the ball in for a number of years.
Would like to know where Richmond rate in terms of getting the ball back over half way compared to other teams. I wouldnt think we rate highly or perhaps its just cause we have struggled in a few close games that highlights it.

I reckon a team will use that tactic against us in the future and beat us then the Herald Sun will be rubbing their willies in glee.:D

When they do it against us, and it's a do or die situation, the next time their FB goes to kick out, the FF rushes at the FB before the ump has called play on.

We cop the 50m upfield and man up instantly.
The ball is now in active play. Our only hope.

If there is no other choice and we are slowly only adding points when we need a goal, then we need to force the hand of the opposition. That's if we have nothing to lose.

Brave thing to do. Especially when the last one got them within 5 points. If they had kicked a goal, can you imagine how popular Joel would have been then lol

I thought oh no when he reduced it to under a goal, since if any team could **** it up, the tigers were specials to do it. But it looks like our fortunes are turning and the bummers have taken over from us as the ones spewing up, over Lay-a-****, the one you want to be taking a kick, if you were the opposition.
Its in the rules, and as Peter Sassegum would say,

Well done to Joel Bowden for showing leadership and a cool head, which reflects the well thought out plans and directions, put in place by TW and his coaching staff, that will have the tigers as a major force.

P.S couldnt stop laughing when reading Sheehan in the paper today with his ridiculous suggestions on how to fix this.....Mike...so your fav is award a shot for goal from 25ms out huh? Because this will test the "skills" of the player shooting? You stupid fool......how about you put an arc at 20ms and the kick in has to pass it? Job done, the end you nuf nuff Sheehan. FFS, why do ****ing imbeciles masquerade as Footy experts defies logic......I mean, we have umps swinging games by awarding the softest frees 15 ms out from goal and now this complete buffon wants to make it easier to swing games? ;)

Why has it taken sooooooooooo long for this type of thing to happen??
i saw in junior footy 1 year that because there is no time on, a team was up by 4 points, and they had the kick in, he kicked to himself and then booted the ball as far away as possible. Then the siren goes

3 of the last 4 Tigers Bombers games there have been some funny things go on. Richo got shafted by hands in the back (remember how much Essendon supporters carried on then), we ruined the Hird Sheedy tribute (so then Essendon supporteders gave it to Richo, who showed them the ball) and now this!

re Mike's piece...The thing about a rushed behing is, how do you differentiate in terms of the intent. I don't believe that a defender flying in from the top of the square to effect a perfectly timed spoil that flies through for a point deserves to be punished 3 points. That's half a goal and a huge punishment in the case of simply defending well. I don't like rushed behinds much but it's just part of the game. How would you feel if your team was 2 points up in a GF and a player runs back with the flight and gets a fist in and punches it through to the 10th row for a (3)point and costs you the GF? It would be too much of a grey area I feel.

Let's wait and see if what Bowden did becomes a regular occurrence before we start going on about the fabric of the game being torn at etc.

3 of the last 4 Tigers Bombers games there have been some funny things go on. Richo got shafted by hands in the back (remember how much Essendon supporters carried on then), we ruined the Hird Sheedy tribute (so then Essendon supporteders gave it to Richo, who showed them the ball) and now this!

JON's debut. Bowden took on Lovett in Essendon's forward line (behind post) and kicked to Andy Kellaway, the ball ended up with JON, 50m out and he kicked a point to put us in front.

Such an overreaction.

Didn't he only rush it directly from a kick in ONCE? The other time the ball had been kicked to him. Regardless he rushed the point with 10 seconds to go, kicked to McMahon with 2 seconds to go. Thats 8 seconds lost.. McMahon would have kicked it long and bam siren goes we win.

Such an overreaction.

Didn't he only rush it directly from a kick in ONCE? The other time the ball had been kicked to him. Regardless he rushed the point with 10 seconds to go, kicked to McMahon with 2 seconds to go. Thats 8 seconds lost.. McMahon would have kicked it long and bam siren goes we win.

an overeaction? naaa, no way, I mean the bummers are at 4 in a row, looking at 5 in a row and becoming the front runner for the 8th spot, in a game that had the 2 up and comers pitted against them. And you suggest its an overreaction from a totally unbiased, non bummer supporter in Sheehan? naaaa, no ****ing way its an overeaction dude. So much so, he wants a kick for goal from 25ms out awarded, LMAO...the ****ing dip stick. ;)

I reckon it was a fantastic thing Bowden did. Huge courage and backed himself.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

As some of the other posters have pointed out, would have been good if he could have done another one to make it 3 in a row!

It would have been priceless to have been at the game to hear the howls from the opposition.....

Great work Tiges!!!

an overeaction? naaa, no way, I mean the bummers are at 4 in a row, looking at 5 in a row and becoming the front runner for the 8th spot, in a game that had the 2 up and comers pitted against them. And you suggest its an overreaction from a totally unbiased, non bummer supporter in Sheehan? naaaa, no ****ing way its an overeaction dude. So much so, he wants a kick for goal from 25ms out awarded, LMAO...the ****ing dip stick. ;)

Is Sheahan whingeing again?

hahahahaha.

I reckon it was a fantastic thing Bowden did. Huge courage and backed himself.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

As some of the other posters have pointed out, would have been good if he could have done another one to make it 3 in a row!

It would have been priceless to have been at the game to hear the howls from the opposition.....

Great work Tiges!!!

Who says Hawthorn and Richmond fans cant get along nicely ??

Answer: Add the Bombers into the equation and Tigers and Hawks would live happily ever after :p

Sucked in Bombers, didnt hear you guys complain when Richo gave that free kick away for hands in the back a few years back ..... but it was a push it was in the rules of the game ;)

Essendon and their supporters can collectively dine on my rooster.

Every player in every side would have done exactly the same thing if they thought it would get them 4 premierhsip points.

it's just another flaw in the rules of our game.

Go figure.

LMAO@ The system being as stupid as Dimitriou.

He only had the balls tp do it,as u all say,because he supposedly knew how long was left.

He would have been lynched if he got that wrong.

Wondering how exactly the message of time was delivered with such punctuality.?

By my vantage point . . .

Schulz is kicking in and Bowden is around the 50 with a runner nearby, Joel then leads and marks at about 30-35 and the shenanigans start from there.

So I assume he was told there was under a minute left and do what he had to. :thumbsu:

Who says Hawthorn and Richmond fans cant get along nicely ??

Answer: Add the Bombers into the equation and Tigers and Hawks would live happily ever after :p

Sucked in Bombers, didnt hear you guys complain when Richo gave that free kick away for hands in the back a few years back ..... but it was a push it was in the rules of the game ;)

Nah mate, it didn't take the Bombers.... I'm a big fan of the Tiges too (have to be, got a son who follows them)....especially Richo, much maligned player...love his passion for the club...

Even though beating the Bombers was great (and Bowden's act sensational).....The game the week before, for the Tigers against west coast over here was the sweetest one!:thumbsu:

By my vantage point . . .

Schulz is kicking in and Bowden is around the 50 with a runner nearby, Joel then leads and marks at about 30-35 and the shenanigans start from there.

So I assume he was told there was under a minute left and do what he had to. :thumbsu:

Agree Phoenix. Joel would have had a pretty good idea of time left. Came back on with two minutes to go and the runner did the rest. HOW FREAKIN' GOOD WAS IT? I LOVED IT. And, as a number have already said, right in front of their cheersquad. If they are going to bring in a new rule, surely it would only apply to that situation, not all rushed behinds. Otherwise they'll be introducing another rule where we are encouraging blokes to be second to the ball.

Wondering how exactly the message of time was delivered with such punctuality.?[/quote]

Bowden was on the bench and came on with just under 2 minutes to go.
He knew exactly how long was left and he knew exactly what he needed to do. I don't think there is another player in our team we would rather have the ball in that situation besides Bowden.. :thumbsu:

It was just an extension to the crap footy played at the end of most quarters by nearly every team, just time wasting within the rules. Essendon started the crap, so it's good to see it come back and bite them.

I share this view.

Bowdens Final seconds tactic