Bower or Josh Kennedy??

Handy Tatts.

Forgot about them... wouldnt mind getting a close up view of them just to have a good look.

But then again... tatts are becoming so common place these days it's almost expected of celebrities that they will have some form of tattoo.

I started off with a bad feeling about Bower but I am pleased to say he is well on the way to proving me wrong. He has shown a lot the last few weeks and last week sealed it for me. Bower is going to be BIG!

Bower is the more valuable player right now, no doubt about it. And as ODN noted above, we had a bigger need for a solid defender at the time than we did for a developing CHF.

BUT it is too early to tell how JK will end up, so time will tell.

At the moment we're well in front.

Not surprised at all with Bower's development. Has all the physical and athletic attributes for a modern footballer - just a couple of extra kg's on the frame needed. Will hopefully play the 'Christou' role in our defence - play small or tall with plenty of instinctive rebound. Just needs to continue to improve those kicking and decision-making skills.

One thing is for certain though, Bower was always going to come on earlier than Josh so it really is still too early to make that call. :thumbsu:

Can I ask whats your obsession with Josh Kennedy. He played like 20 games for you. We traded Mitch Morton away and its not like we have 100 threads a week on him. Let him go and get on with supporting your own team

My gf laughs at me now cause everytime he grabs the footy and takes off i yell out emu. You can't help wincing with his disposal though, there's no telling what could happen.

Can I ask whats your obsession with Josh Kennedy. He played like 20 games for you. We traded Mitch Morton away and its not like we have 100 threads a week on him. Let him go and get on with supporting your own team

Perhaps we actually care for all the boys who walk in our club. In this case though the connection is obvious given Josh didn't want to to leave and we begrudgingly included him in order to secure Judd. Given the circumstances it should be fairly obvious to anyone with intelligence as to why a distinct interest remains. ;)

Thats a load of crap. Like most threads you just use it to attack and criticise him. Hes not even at ya club anymore. That should be our concern and not yours

JK has shown nothing. Gilly will confirm this. PB is impressing more and more with every game. The Startled Emu will be a cult player.

JK = dud.... how many times did he lead up the field to drop a simple mark... uncoordinated... he will play his first and last games as an eagle this week...

Thats a load of crap. Like most threads you just use it to attack and criticise him. Hes not even at ya club anymore. That should be our concern and not yours

You are clearly an imbecile! You ask a question, I give you the answer and you respond like a fool.

I didn't criticize Josh and MOST people here are actually making a LEGITIMATE comparison between the two players who were in the frame as part of the Judd deal.

If you can't understand that, if you don't like it, then run along back to your board brightspark. ;)

You are clearly an imbecile! You ask a question, I give you the answer and you respond like a fool.

I didn't criticize Josh and MOST people here are actually making a LEGITIMATE comparison between the two players who were in the frame as part of the Judd deal.

If you can't understand that, if you don't like it, then run along back to your board brightspark. ;)

Your ignoring the point. More people have labelled Kennedy a hack then anything in this thread. Open your other eye mate.

If he was going to be a cult player, he should have kept the afro :)

Then he would stand out like other notable cult players for the blues...

Bruce Doull with his headband
Tommy Alvin with the long hair
Mil Hanna... The Cranium
Sticks with his mullet...
Jezza... just for being Jezza :)

just to name a few.

Still... I was also one of those advocating handing over Bower, but I wanted to keep Josh because I thought he had shown a little something of his potential in the few games he had last year.

It will be interesting to see if the weagles do play him for the first time against us.

Tommy got on the same train as me at Malvern on the way to the game vs Richmond. It was great to see his hair is still the same :D

Your ignoring the point. More people have labelled Kennedy a hack then anything in this thread. Open your other eye mate.

Your username can't wait to jump ship. Looking forward to welcoming him next season. We might start our own Norm Smith Club. Cheers :thumbsu:.

Rating Bower ahead of JK, doesn't mean Blues supporters are labeling him as a "hack". Far from it. Many acknowledge JK has talent and a lot of potential, even though he hasn't exactly set the world on fire yet. His weaknesses from what I've seen, are lack of speed from a standing start, and relatively poor leap. These weaknesses also limit his versatility i.e. not enough leap to play ruck, and not enough mobility to play KP defender. His strengths are his pack marking capability, pack-busting attack on the ball, and fantastic endurance. His success is going to depend on how well he can improve those strengths, and work on his weaknesses. I think he'll do well. My main concern is the Weagles have a truly shocking record at developing KP forwards. :)

you guys are only getting him ready so that he can return to us as an established player, naturally we have an interest in him.

Hypocrites much ? :rolleyes:

When he was traded, the Illeagles board was full of flogs $hit canning JK, now you clowns suddenly rate him
The majority of Blues fans here were sorry to see him go, of course some weren't thats their choice.
As for your comparison to Morton, there isn't one, JK is not the bighead that your former hack is.
How about pi$$ing off back to the denial board, christ knows you have a lot to discuss
Especially the topic of we won't miss Cousins and Judd :D

Kennedy might have been a CHF for the future, but it looks like he's not going to be Jonathon Brown (but then, who is?). More likely to be a Kositzche type forward/ruck/general big.

With that in mind, if Bower's development continues, I'm glad we kept him. Premierships are won in defence, and that has been our biggest weakness in recent times - not just talent, but keeping a consistent unit in the backline. If Bower can become the consistent half-back flanker he's been in the last 2 weeks, that fills one spot for us. Along with Waite (who seems to have gone their permanently) and Thornton, with Jamison showing good signs too, Bower's emergence would be bigger for us than JK could have been.

Kennedy might be more value to the Eagles, though, given their lack of KP forwards who can impact games. Like all Carlton fans, I wish him the best of luck

Please refrain from making yourself look any more foolish and read the 'Kennedy in for eagles' thread. Such is the level of good will towards Josh even a Pies supporter congratulates posters for their class. ;)

Whats worse is, while throwing sh!t at those members of this board who are suggesting we didn't lose much in letting Josh go, you're hypocrisy is noted by those of us who witnessed the UNREMITTING BAGGING all and sundry on your board gave him in the lead-up to the Judd deal. Stop wasting my time with your idiotic statements. :rolleyes:

A lot of people at Carlton are still very interested in Josh and care about his progress for the reasons stated earlier - if you cant see that/don't agree with it well that's YOUR ISSUE!

More than happy we decided to keep Bower. Has come on in leaps and bounds this season and has looked really impressive. Sure he makes the occassional brain fade but he's looking a whole lot better down back and is no doubt benefiting from the extra midfield pressure.

JK is struggling thus far, but it's too early to make a call on him.
Have you ever made a post that doesn't just repeat what everyone else has already said?