Brad Ottens

• Thread starter Thread starter Tigerbob

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
We need to be very careful not to destroy the fabric of the club, which can occur when trading club leaders. Need to also consider that Roo & Goody are very close & Roo is likely to lose motivation if his good mate is traded.
And I think you are spot on. Thats why if it was up to me these are the players I would likely keep

Roo, Hart, Goody, McLeod, Kenny, Edwards, Hentschel, Watts, Reilly, Schuback, Jericho and Johncock

Anyone else is up for trade for the right price. Someone like Burton would have a good trade value. I will also say that each of the players I have mentioned as keep are also tradeable for the right price apart from maybe 5 players that will never be traded (Roo, Hart, Goody, McLeod and possibly Edwards)

Originally posted by RaDaR ReiLLy
and Massie too!!! Massie has done **** all and needs another club

Dont agree Massie is a good player but is struggling at the minute,where as Burton just has no footy brain what-so-ever and just kicks it bloody anywhere, Burton is only any good close to goal for christ sakes someone get him away from the wings:rolleyes: :mad:

Here's the deal tigerbob: Otten's = Burton + 2nd round pick;)

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
And I think you are spot on. Thats why if it was up to me these are the players I would likely keep

Roo, Hart, Goody, McLeod, Kenny, Edwards, Hentschel, Watts, Reilly, Schuback, Jericho and Johncock

Anyone else is up for trade for the right price. Someone like Burton would have a good trade value. I will also say that each of the players I have mentioned as keep are also tradeable for the right price apart from maybe 5 players that will never be traded (Roo, Hart, Goody, McLeod and possibly Edwards)

Ohh so now you have changed your tune on who is untouchable;)

NO!!!!!!:mad: 1st and 2nd round draft picks are OFF limit :mad:

So why wouldnt you part with a 2nd round pick for Ottens?????

You cant just say they are off limits for no reason, if we dont offer Richmond something there is noway we are going to get Ottens

I think the trade would be more likely this.
(Assuming Hawthorn get 2 picks and the ladder stays the way it is)

Burton + Biglands + 4th pick + 20th pick for Ottens + 5th pick + Fiora

Your new Adelaide Crows 2005

F - Schuback - Watts - Stevens
HF - Jericho - Ottens - Welsh
C - Reilly - Ricciuto - Goodwin
HB - Begley - McGregor - Johncock
B - Hart - Bassett - Hentschel
Ruck : Clarke - Mcleod - Stenglein

I/C - Hudson - Massie - Bode - Torney
EMG: Fiora, Bock, Doughty

The team is still crap, but atleast we will have a top 5 pick developing in the SANFL, and our young guys will be developing.

Originally posted by maccas_no1
So why wouldnt you part with a 2nd round pick for Ottens?????

You cant just say they are off limits for no reason, if we dont offer Richmond something there is noway we are going to get Ottens
Consider where we are likely to finish on the ladder and what picks we are likely to get as a result of that. Then consider our list and what it REALLY needs.

What our list is in great need of is youngsters. We are likely to finish in the bottom 6. That will give us a pick in the top 10 in the first round and in the top 20-25 in the second round. With a pick 20-25 you can still get a gun especially considering we are after midfielder.

At the end of the day the trade that you suggested would mean Burton and a gun youngster for Ottens.

Our 1st and second round draft picks MUST be off limits especially if we are talking about a 25 year old who is underachieving.

Remember we got Kane Johnson with pick 27 in reasonably weak draft. Trading draft picks is a NO NO.

It sounds like you want us to go down th esame track that we went in the past and thats trade draft picks for established players. I will not be a very happy supporters is we trade away our first 2 picks.

Trade one of zillion OK players as part of the trade to Richmond or to other clubs so you get for them what Richmond likes.

Trading our 1st and 2nd round picks will set us back more than neccessary.

Originally posted by maccas_no1
Do the AFC have any unouchable players????Surely Roo,Bunji and Hart are untouchable????
NO.

Even Steven Trigg said a while ago that there is no such a thing as untouchable. Everyone is tradeable for the right price.

How about if Freo came to you and said we will give you Pavlich and 2 top 5 draft picks for Roo would you take it??????

From a business point of view YES but from a sentimental point of view NO.

Consider where we are likely to finish on the ladder and what picks we are likely to get as a result of that. Then consider our list and what it REALLY needs.

What our list is in great need of is youngsters. We are likely to finish in the bottom 6. That will give us a pick in the top 10 in the first round and in the top 20-25 in the second round. With a pick 20-25 you can still get a gun especially considering we are after midfielder.

At the end of the day the trade that you suggested would mean Burton and a gun youngster for Ottens.

Our 1st and second round draft picks MUST be off limits especially if we are talking about a 25 year old who is underachieving.

Remember we got Kane Johnson with pick 27 in reasonably weak draft. Trading draft picks is a NO NO.

It sounds like you want us to go down th esame track that we went in the past and thats trade draft picks for established players. I will not be a very happy supporters is we trade away our first 2 picks.

Trade one of zillion OK players as part of the trade to Richmond or to other clubs so you get for them what Richmond likes.

Trading our 1st and 2nd round picks will set us back more than neccessary.

Okay fair enough and I guess Ottens value would have dropped somewhat also so maybe we can snare him with Burton + Perrie;)

Originally posted by Carmelo Anthony
I think the trade would be more likely this.
(Assuming Hawthorn get 2 picks and the ladder stays the way it is)

Your new Adelaide Crows 2005

F - Schuback - Watts - Stevens
HF - Jericho - Ottens - Welsh
C - Reilly - Ricciuto - Goodwin
HB - Begley - McGregor - Johncock
B - Hart - Bassett - Hentschel
Ruck : Clarke - Mcleod - Stenglein

I/C - Hudson - Massie - Bode - Torney
EMG: Fiora, Bock, Doughty

The team is still crap, but atleast we will have a top 5 pick developing in the SANFL, and our young guys will be developing.
Your obbsession with Fiora is becoming a worrying sign. Clarke will retire at the end of the year ;)

And I would be very surpised if Doughty and Bode are with us next year.

Ah, you're one of these people who enjoys coming up with these complicated hypothetical deals.

Swapping the 4th & 5th picks just reeks of pointlessness; unless Richmond were specifically targetting a top four pick. Then again, we did something similar with the Scott Stevens deal.

I don't see Ottens and Fiora replacing Biglands and Burton improving our list to any great extent. Let alone that in addition to (a) losing our second round pick and (b) dropping our first round pick down a rung.

Cmon man, it was my first trade proposal for Fiora in over 7 months. He still has alot of potential.

We need to get some unproven youngsters from other teams because we are a fair bit behind when it comes to drafting. I wonder how Luke Livingston is going at Carlton, maybe we could get him for basically nothing too like we did with Massie...who was a great steal for the club.

Say we trade Biglands and Clarke is delisted, I know it might sound crazy, but what about trading a late pick of say in the 50's or 60's for Barnaby French. Carlton would listen to that offer, and French could give us decent service for 2 years with Hudson as his back up, and Kruger and whoever we draft can develop in the SANFL.

Originally posted by DaveW
Ah, you're one of these people who enjoys coming up with these complicated hypothetical deals.

Swapping the 4th & 5th picks just reeks of pointlessness; unless Richmond were specifically targetting a top four pick. Then again, we did something similar with the Scott Stevens deal.

I don't see Ottens and Fiora replacing Biglands and Burton improving our list to any great extent. Let alone that in addition to (a) losing our second round pick and (b) dropping our first round pick down a rung.

How is it Pointless. The higher the number Richmond are the better chance they got of getting the player they want. Ottens is the best player in the deal, and we can cover Burton with Doughty and Reilly. Biglands is a good player and has alot of value because hes a ruckman, but you need to give quality to get quality. Richmond would only do this deal if Ottens asked to leave. The last time we dealed with the tigers over a homesick south aussie it didnt go to well, so I wont keep my hopes up.

Cmon man, it was my first trade proposal for Fiora in over 7 months. He still has alot of potential.
Not long enough :p

We need to get some unproven youngsters from other teams because we are a fair bit behind when it comes to drafting. I wonder how Luke Livingston is going at Carlton, maybe we could get him for basically nothing too like we did with Massie...who was a great steal for the club.
I agree we need to pinch a couple of youngsters from other clubs. Someone like Cameron Faulkner and Daniel Bell would do me fine. Also someone liek Sam Butler or Beau Waters from the Eagles are worth pinching;)

Faulkner and Bell are out of contract at the end of the year so I reckon they are our best bets. Both at SA lads too ;)

Again I'll say that we should forget about Ottens unless we can get him on the cheap.

He's remains a massive underachiever and his percieved worth is too far above his real worth.

Last time we went all out for a player that we supposedly desperately required we got burnt, and badly.

NO.

Even Steven Trigg said a while ago that there is no such a thing as untouchable. Everyone is tradeable for the right price.

From a business point of view YES but from a sentimental point of view NO.

I've been a subscriber to that theory for yonks... but no you can't trade Goody... :rolleyes: