Social Science Braggers

• Thread starter Thread starter Peck

Guy at my footy club has been telling ppl that he used to play in the WAFL yet is easily one of the worst footballers I have ever seen. Not smart to make up those sorts of stories about your football ability because judging by his ability he will not get a game in the 2's

Your friend wouldn't happen to post on BigFooty under the username 'pacemaker' by any chance?

bresker, I could listen to that guy for hours.

Some epic BS's mentioned in this thread.

I have a mate who when you mention something he brings it into a story about where he was, what he did or how it is significant to him.

I always thought he did this but never really paid attention so one day I decided to put it to the test. What I would do is just bring up completely random things then let him take over.

One of the things:

I mentioned I was watching a documentary about the trebuchet and before I could even finish my sentence he pipes up with: “A couple of years ago me & my dad were going to build a trebuchet, we brought all the equipment to make it & drew up some plans the were almost exact to the specifications we found on the internet, but we’ve put the plans on hold for now. He then starts describing how it would work & plans for testing it & other functions it might serve.

Made me laugh hard.

I brag alot, but I never lie. I'm just full of awesome, I don't see what the problem is, people should know

Seems like a lot of the issues people have in this thread with bragging lie with those that lie. I personally don't really have a problem with it so long as it is backed by the truth. In fact, in a lot of cases, I enjoy hearing it.

Just to throw it out there and get us thinking a bit more - how much of an issue would there be with hearing about truthful bragging if the person doing the listening was very secure with themself? I ask because I theorise that someone who has absolute confidence in themselves would not be offended if a bragger was to talk to them in a condescending manner.

I would say most people's problem isn't so much with what exactly is said, but bragging tends to be a byproduct of personality flaws that are not particularly likable. People who brag tend to be very insecure. They're also often self-focused and not particularly interested in or considerate of others. When you are with them you can see that they're not thinking about what other people in the group are saying - they are thinking about what they're going to say next about themselves. The whole attitude surrounding bragging says "I'm not really interested in anything besides proving to both of us that I'm better than you", which is not a particularly attractive message (even if it's true).

I like hearing a good yarn as much as anyone but I also like to be around people who have respect for the people they're with. There is a difference between talking about yourself and bragging.

^Good points. I find that people who brag about themselves via blatant lying, yet don't do it to you in a directly condescending manner, to be very irritating. These people do not have the mantra of trying to prove that they are better than you, but at the same time I find them very frustrating. I struggle to come up reasoning for why they shit me. I suppose it comes down to them wanting to attain a status they simply don't have and so they resort to lying (ie laziness) in order to fulfil a fantasy. Do the hard work damn it.

Knew an epic BS bragger and story topper once.

Amongst other things, he claimed:

* to have done multiple high level drug deals in supermarket freezer sections, assisted by 2 body guards both carrying Uzi's.

* he was in witness protection.

* invented the concept of the game Tetris.

* 12 of his best mates had commited suicide.

We once set him up, leaving a note for him that a journo from The Age wanted to do a story on him about his background in video games. We let it settle for a few days. We were about to tell him that it was BS and that no journo had called for him, but just before we were about to tell him he told us that he had spoken with the journo that day but that the article wouldnt run because it would put his life in jeopardy.

A very disturbed man.

Mate of mine had a gf that was a compulsive liar.... She told him she was a spy working for ASIO undercover at k-mart

Knew an epic BS bragger and story topper once.

Amongst other things, he claimed:

* to have done multiple high level drug deals in supermarket freezer sections, assisted by 2 body guards both carrying Uzi's.

* he was in witness protection.

* invented the concept of the game Tetris.

* 12 of his best mates had commited suicide.

We once set him up, leaving a note for him that a journo from The Age wanted to do a story on him about his background in video games. We let it settle for a few days. We were about to tell him that it was BS and that no journo had called for him, but just before we were about to tell him he told us that he had spoken with the journo that day but that the article wouldnt run because it would put his life in jeopardy.

A very disturbed man.

haha funny shit

If you've got it, flaunt it.

If you've got nothing, sook about braggers, story toppers and other powerful people.

The world needs workers, public servants and unemployed people.

That's not true. Braggers are boring and self-obsessed. Those are unattractive traits in a companion, regardless of how you feel about yourself.
Have to agree with ASMS and PK on this one. I've noticed that people who get razzled up by braggers suffer inferiority complexes.

Since when would you get fired up over a person because they're "boring" ? Its a bullshit transparent excuse!

Have to agree with ASMS and PK on this one. I've noticed that people who get razzled up by braggers suffer inferiority complexes.

Since when would you get fired up over a person because they're "boring" ? Its a bullshit transparent excuse!
:confused: I don't see what's so 'bullshit' about not enjoying the company of people who are only interested in self-aggrandizement. In addition to being boring it's fairly poor etiquette and displays a lack of respect towards your companions.

We all brag now and again but it's hardly a particularly attractive trait. I'm sure even you (as a hugely secure and well adjusted person) would rather go on a date with a boy who displays a genuine interest in you and talks about himself in matter of fact terms, rather than one who spends the whole evening lecturing you on how great he is.

Who I consider datable isn't my baseline for what I deem enjoyable company. They are separate things. All I'm saying is knobs (braggers) can be good value and more enjoyable company than those who get uptight about such insignificant things.

I used to work with a guy in recruitment who when he started stating the following, keep in mind he was 25.

- He had a degree in engineering and computer animation

- He was a qualified tattooist

- He was a qualified chef and offered to cook meals for anyone who would come to his house, no one took up this offer

- He was a qualified hairdresser and always offered to bring his "equipment" for anyone that wanted their hair cut, oe person took him up on the offer and he just kept forgetting all his "equipment" until that person never brought it up again, I brought it up nearly every day until I just started to get the evil eye

- He was a qualified massuese. He did this for a few people, I threatened him with legal action if he ever touched me

- He had travelled the entire world and couldn't pick a favourite place or give any tips on where to stay.

- He could get anything cheaper than you could get it, I put this to the test one day and said I had purchased a LG Plasma for $100 new, he proceeded to tell me he got this bargain but knew a guy at the store so got the "extra" discount on it.

The thing that would annoy me the most though was that he would interject in anyones conversation stating he had an interest in the subject, for example talkign to another co-worker regarding the footy on the weekend in he came into the convo "You guys know I was actually front row of the cheer squad when the Pies won in 1991" I let it go and asked questions about the game and many other Collingwood facts, he waffled on and on about he had seen them win a few flags and how great it was (this was 2008).

By the end I actually found him funny and would just constantly take the urine out of him. When he annoyed me I'd pull him up on previous lies he had told.