Bragging Rights Time Capsule

Not on Carlton but I can't resist cos I hate the b.........
Come October 2016, Fremantle will yet again lament not taking a KPF/KPD in the draft and taking even more mids instead.
Although currently injured, Skinner will show enough to make them kick themselves again.
Pavlich will retire without a premiership, having gone out in straight sets yet again.
I hate Fremantle as much as I LOVE CARLTON!!!!!!

GO BLUES!

In the rookie draft this morning, the club will select Kerbatiah and Glass-McCasker as our two picks. No one will select Holman as a rookie and he will play state league for the Bullants for 2016 and have a shot at the draft again next year.

Shot 66% on this one... only missed on Kerbatieh...

With the significant recent changes to the list neatly coinciding with the start of a 3-year rebuild, I thought it'd be fun for us to finally put our nuts (or sandwiches for some) firmly on the chopping board, to see whose the clairvoyant (sp) among us. Like a nice bottle of Remi, it won't be ready for some time, but what the hey, nothing like a bit of long term planning, guesswork, fun competition. So what I'm proposing is this : everyone post (once) the players they think will still be on the list in 3 years' time. For every name you have right you get a point. For every name you have wrong you lose a point. This should stop posters from naming every player under the sun. Be bold if you want. You can name players from other clubs if you happen to be cocky enough to think with confidence Wines or Prestia or Tomlinson or whoever will be on our list in 3 years. Maybe the Mids can sticky this so in 3 years time we can see who was closest to the pin. How about we say entries close in one week...

The challenge in the OP is too easy, btw...

You wanna put it out there, list the teams we will definitely win a premiership before...

Gold Coast

Richmond are borderline...that drought will reach a point of no return, ala Melbourne, St Kilda...just dunno when...

I think the Doggies will defy the weight of history and win one in the next five years. Ripper coach.

Brisbane are rubbish like us, but some teams just win them when they're up, and you can't ignore a three-peat.

There. That's my sandwich. Ham on rye.

Not Carlton related but The Sydney Swans will win the premiership in 2016, a refreshed and well rested Buddy will absolutely be out to make amends for his late season issues, they will get injured guns like Luke Parker back, The Milky Bar kid will emerge as the game's next Fyfe/Dangerfield type superstar and then you throw in Callum Mills.
Michael Talia should thrive up there as well

Collingwood won't make the eight again (bottom 6 finish) and it will be an ugly bust up when Buckley is sacked.

Melbourne will be the big improvers, will win about 8-10 games.

Brett Ratten will replace Loopy Leppa as Brisbane coach at the end of 2016

Swans should be right up there I reckon, for all the reasons you've mentioned.

Collingwood keep chasing midfielders when they really need forwards. They have just one decent tall forward and his output has been minimal as he has no supporting talls making him vulnerable to "team defense" structures. They have too many small forwards, while they are decent, teams that are doing well tend to have a few good medium forwards, guys like Gunston who can really run hard, mark and work at ground level which they don't have, their defence is ok but lacks good rebounding players. I think they will struggle to make the 8 though their midfield will be pretty damn strong.

I think the Lions will stick with Leppa, they appear to have a rebuilding plan much the way we do and aren't expecting heaps. I think they realistically will know they still have a lot of work to do.
Essendon is the team I see falling over biggest in 2016, just can't see a hell of a lot on their list to get too excited about and the players they have lost and the oldies they are carrying can only take them so far.

Saints will be much the same.

We are a side that may surprise people. Remember we played a lot of games without Thomas, Gibbs, Walker, Kreuzer, Jaksch, Graham, Sheehan and Byrne as well as carrying a few that weren't having a go. Not saying we won't go without again this year, it's always the way the improvements you can see happening tend not to. But when we had a close to full side in last year we still played some decent football. Add a few improved youngsters and talented first year players into the mix and we should win a few more. Because of our lack of depth and experience we could go through stages where we are really poor, likely to be some real highs and lows next year for us.

Bragging Rights Time Capsule