Player Watch Brayden Maynard

Fair enough if he takes it and fair enough if we don't match.

Perfect player for Nth to come in and lead that club.

Knowing us and our luck with picks we lose in the granny and get pick 17.

When it persists and different outlets report on it… Sounds to me like a solid chance Maynard will leave for money

And I give him my blessing. Premiership hero. Puts his heart and soul into the team… but has the smarts to know what line not to cross and get suspended

No wonder he is attracting outside interest

Football is a fickle and fleeting career… and if NM are offering 6mill then he’d be mad not to take it

Pies get a high 1st round compensation pick

And whilst his character and endeavour is hard to find… his on field position is replaceable… quality running backs are not as hard to find as quality rucks, full forwards, full backs..

With Parker, Di Mattia, Ryan

… we might already have one in waiting

Let’s play out the year
But it’s a no brainer he leaves if he gets a good contract like 6 over 6

He has probably been underpaid to date as a B+ player

You’re no less loyal taking offers of a lifetime

We also need to regenerate so it might be win win

6 years $6m for a player who will be 29 at the end of this season (and has some serious mileage) is a crazy offer! Would understand taking that offer, and I don’t think we can/should match it.

Think his management is trying to squeeze us into offering some more.

6 years $6m for a player who will be 29 at the end of this season (and has some serious mileage) is a crazy offer! Would understand taking that offer, and I don’t think we can/should match it.

Think his management is trying to squeeze us into offering some more.

That’s it. There is no need to match whatever is purportedly being offered - just sweeten our offer. It’s just negotiation.

I do recall being in a work situation where a peer informed our boss he had received an offer of X from Y&Co.

“That’s a good offer. X is well above market for your skills. You should take it”

That’s a different way to go.

Fair enough if he takes it and fair enough if we don't match.

Perfect player for Nth to come in and lead that club.

Knowing us and our luck with picks we lose in the granny and get pick 17.

You were a wonderful reporter on the De Goey potential move to north. You going to keep us informed again?

I wouldn't expect Pies to match it. He's not worth 1.5 to us, as much as I love Bruz.

There are plenty of players who have knocked back ridiculous offers lately to re-sign on for much less to stay with their current club.

That will be Bruz's choice if he gets a ridiculously huge offer.

Got Offered 6 Years for about $6 Million by North

We won't match that Stupid Offer

I wouldn't expect us to match it.

Look what Callaghan was offered. $17 million ! He chose to stay at Giants for less.

True but Finn is Younger so still has chance of Huge Contract with Maynard this be last chance of a Big Contract

Maynard going nowhere mate. Staying with his mates.
Not all are money driven like GAJ

He'll be offered an extension by the Pies. It won't be $1m a year.

It will be his choice if he wants to remain a one club player with a chance to play in finals on very good money.

Something he won't get at Norf.

6 million and 6 years at North

Thanks for you're services bruzzy

Can't say no to that
I reckon he will. Just wants a bit more love before he re-signs.

Can't say no to that
You can- but it takes a rare individual. I'm assuming Bruz is on maybe 600-700k a year and has been making good money for ten years. He'd be set for life already. If you are all about money, then you don't hesitate. If mates, big games and big crowds as well as a legacy as a club legend and one team player matters more you say no.

I cop crap every time I say this, but money isn't everything. Once you are set up and comfortable, how much do you need? Enough is as good as a feast as the proverb says. That's my personal mantra. Others think differently. So be it.

You can- but it takes a rare individual. I'm assuming Bruz is on maybe 600-700k a year and has been making good money for ten years. He'd be set for life already. If you are all about money, then you don't hesitate. If mates, big games and big crowds as well as a legacy as a club legend and one team player matters more you say no.

I cop crap every time I say this, but money isn't everything. Once you are set up and comfortable, how much do you need? Enough is as good as a feast as the proverb says. That's my personal mantra. Others think differently. So be it.

People have different priorities Domey. What if the extra dough earned now enables someone to work less later and spend more time with future family? Or enable Bruz to work in a low paying job - as he has volunteered as a carer - and still provide?

Your world view is only one view.

And what if you feel like your current employer isn’t paying enough? Doesn’t value you?

People have different priorities Domey. What if the extra dough earned now enables someone to work less later and spend more time with future family? Or enable Bruz to work in a low paying job - as he has volunteered as a carer - and still provide?

Your world view is only one view.

And what if you feel like your current employer isn’t paying enough? Doesn’t value you?

He's already earned enough money to do whatever he wants to do. A decade on at least (and probably more) 500k a year will set up anyone with a decent financial manager. If he goes it's because money is more important than mates, one club legacy and playing in front of huge adoring crowds-not because he fears for his future family's well-being which so many say in situations like this! I'm sure they'll be just fine. :)

My dad knocked back an offer of much more money to take on a job in Sydney when we were kids and he asked us kids how we felt. We pleaded with him not to go and told him how much we would miss our friends (and Collingwood) and all we loved about Melbourne and dad said no. To this day I honour that beautiful man for placing our emotional connection to people and a footy club ahead of more money.

It will be interesting to see what he does as he seems to place a real value on loyalty and mateship. But you are right, sideswipe, people do have different priorities.

Can't say no to that
Guys, it’s bloody Norf.
It’s a football irrelevancy and wasteland.

I wouldn’t take $6M to support them for 6 years.