Toast Brayshaw

Yup, the AFL decides exactly what you intended to do cos they know all.
Honestly that vision shows sweet fu** all.
Does Berry have scratches on his face ANYWHERE??

He got up rubbing his mouth and screaming at the umpire after punching Brayshaw in the face twice, for which nothing was said.

Freo are never well represented in these tribunal hearings
GWS had Adrian Anderson as a lawyer & got Greene’s suspension halved.

Essendon had um… Dennis Denuto as a lawyer idk, Redmond got off.

We continue to roll out Lionel freaking Hutz.

He got up rubbing his mouth and screaming at the umpire after punching Brayshaw in the face twice, for which nothing was said.
There was also not one moment in that contest where Berry wasn't moving with his whole body. Squirming, shrugging, twisting. Arms, legs, head, shoulders the whole lot. How this wasn't considered as a much more plausible explanation for Andy's closed fist going near Berry's face than gouging is an indictment on their logic.

I mean, i think stuff like this should be a week. But for everyone, not just brayshaw. Selwood gets off on something where the consequences could be just awful, and has gotten off previously for something similar to brayshaw. I just don’t get it. And I just feel sad. Last week, Andy was the toast of the town, with his heroics over richmond. Now he’s just a dirty player. last week, the eight seemed possible, now, what was unlikely is now impossible. Plus we‘ll get flogged. Again. By west coast. Stephen Hill has retired (the right call, but still disheartening) and we’re one week closer to cerra leaving and having to “restump” the restump.
I’m feeling a bit flat tonight.

I mean, i think stuff like this should be a week. But for everyone, not just brayshaw. Selwood gets off on something where the consequences could be just awful, and has gotten off previously for something similar to brayshaw. I just don’t get it. And I just feel sad. Last week, Andy was the toast of the town, with his heroics over richmond. Now he’s just a dirty player. last week, the eight seemed possible, now, what was unlikely is now impossible. Plus we‘ll get flogged. Again. By west coast. Stephen Hill has retired (the right call, but still disheartening) and we’re one week closer to cerra leaving and having to “restump” the restump.
I’m feeling a bit flat tonight.
Yep, and that absolute flog DanWA will claim that it's because of complete ineptitude from all departments of our club, rather than the real issue - half our team currently being injured. Life isn't fair at times. Oh well, conversely, I truly believe that life has a way of ensuring the right outcome, and goodness prevailing. Let's be patient.

Now he’s just a dirty player.
What are you on about? If you look carefully at the footage Brayshaw's "offending" hand only goes near Berry's face when Berry pushes to stand up. Of course that is going to result in some shifting of limbs in an entanglement of two players. On the flipside it would make it really hard to take deliberate aim with your hand at any specific body part with any sort of accuracy.

Actually lost for words. Can someone tell me how Selwood got off and Brayshaw didn't? Selwood was clearly intentional, repeatedly punching Dale in the head. Brayshaw incident didn't seem nearly as bad, and it was not obviously intentional from the vision. Actually corrupt....

Why didn't freo mention this Selwood incident in their case? WHY
If Selwood did that to me I'd get up and deck him and tell him that's how it's done. What a prick.

‘May contest’ - don’t believe that for a second
I'm not full of confidence either, but TBF they have done it recently. I reckon there's a totally rock solid case for the appeal. Bell should bring in a biomechanics expert and go through the footage extreme slow mo style, focusing from the point where Berry pushes up on.

Two questions:
1) Would Berry's movement plausibly explain Brayshaw's hand coming into contact with Berry's face?
2) Would that movement make it hard for Brayshaw to control the exact movement of his hand?

Actually lost for words. Can someone tell me how Selwood got off and Brayshaw didn't? Selwood was clearly intentional, repeatedly punching Dale in the head. Brayshaw incident didn't seem nearly as bad, and it was not obviously intentional from the vision. Actually corrupt....

Why didn't freo mention this Selwood incident in their case? WHY

This needs to be taken to the law courts, as it is a restraint of trade.
The precedent has been set with Selwood

What are you on about? If you look carefully at the footage Brayshaw's "offending" hand only goes near Berry's face when Berry pushes to stand up. Of course that is going to result in some shifting of limbs in an entanglement of two players. On the flipside it would make it really hard to take deliberate aim with your hand at any specific body part with any sort of accuracy.

sigh. It’s just not a good look. trying to be rational and consistent, stuff like this needs to be stamped out so I would be happy for it to be heavily penalised. Just for everyone, including Selwood 🙄

I guess what I mean, is that according to the footy world, he’s now an eye gouger, even if the charge is just ‘inappropriate contact to the face’. And I don’t banter with my mates, instead I choose not to argue, and let it slide away, and now I have to ignore lots of crap about brayshaw being dirty, on top of the general freo being useless stuff. It’s left me feeling morose.

AFL: one mistake doesn’t justify another, jury please ignore the precedent and judge this independently

They’ve done it before and will again
But the independent judging In Selwoods case , if judged fairly , would still say 3 weeks based on similar examples such as that of Dangerfields early in the year .
If prior offences were taken into account Selwood should be rubbed out for a year .

sigh. It’s just not a good look. trying to be rational and consistent, stuff like this needs to be stamped out so I would be happy for it to be heavily penalised. Just for everyone, including Selwood 🙄

I guess what I mean, is that according to the footy world, he’s now an eye gouger, even if the charge is just ‘inappropriate contact to the face’. And I don’t banter with my mates, instead I choose not to argue, and let it slide away, and now I have to ignore lots of crap about brayshaw being dirty, on top of the general freo being useless stuff. It’s left me feeling morose.
The crazy thing is Brayshaw is one of the fairest , cleanest players going around . There was definitely some roughing up going on but no more than goes on all day around the ground ( Cotchin gut punches , Lynch throat punches ...) .
Pretty hard to get an eye gouge out of that vision .
Don’t listen to em mate .
They are full of it if they are calling Andy a dirty player . He’s not !
And Freo aren’t useless , our current core of youth is the envy of the competition.
Just need to round out the team with some good young forwards and we are on baby .
Yeeewwww!!!

Looked the footage a couple of time now and can't see anything. Except perhaps a strike to Brawshaws throat actually. The rest just looks like what sometimes happens when 2 players go to ground in a tackle.

It just seems like the tribunal have taken a path where they made a decision based on a perception that something bad might have happened, but they're not actually sure what happened and all they've got on the vision is a high, rough tackle.

If they think its something akin to eye gouging then it can't just be a week, or a 2 week suspension, it has to be something more severe, but there's no report of any blurred vision to Berry, and certainly not in his immediate reaction.

The only evidence seems to be Berry pointing to his face, which might just be him trying to justify why he was punching Brayshaw when the umpire blew his whistle.

AFL: one mistake doesn’t justify another, jury please ignore the precedent and judge this independently
Did they seriously say that last night? They literally just did this to downgrade Franklin.

Nah we didn’t even try use precedent, they’ve trotted that line out before though, sans admitting they made a mistake in the past
LIONEL HUTZ, FREO'S LAWYER: [being handed a get out of jail free card] nah I'm good, imma wing it

Toast Brayshaw