Toast Brent Stanton

Seriously considering Stants again for Supercoach next year :)

2011 has been the only year I haven't had him.

How am I going to fit in all of Zaharakis, Heppell, Hurley and Stants next year?
And Watson. Here's what I'm doing (for Ess):

Back: Heppell, Dempsey
Middle: Stanton, Watson
Forward: Hurley, Zaharakis

Through gritted teeth :thumbsu:

No teeth gritting...just surprised.

I was reading a piece in the GF Record on the weekend about the Lions 2001 season and something Lethal said made me see Stanton in a different light.

When he took over the team as coach, he made it very clear to the players that they will have a specific match day role to play with-in the side.

Johnson will run off half-back/Ashcroft will stick to his man and stay in backline etc..Another players in the MF would be outside players (Notting) and others would be inside the packs.

Nothing new but it made me think about how the EFC coaches obviously must have had a role for Stanton and one of the isn't getting in the packs and putting his head over the ball. He must have done the job he was asked of and the coaches were happy with his performances..so he comes 2nd in the B&F.

Good (slight grit) job:thumbsu:

I was reading a piece in the GF Record on the weekend about the Lions 2001 season and something Lethal said made me see Stanton in a different light.

When he took over the team as coach, he made it very clear to the players that they will have a specific match day role to play with-in the side.

Johnson will run off half-back/Ashcroft will stick to his man and stay in backline etc..Another players in the MF would be outside players (Notting) and others would be inside the packs.

Nothing new but it made me think about how the EFC coaches obviously must have had a role for Stanton and one of the isn't getting in the packs and putting his head over the ball. He must have done the job he was asked of and the coaches were happy with his performances..so he comes 2nd in the B&F.

Subtle dig at Stanton eh? I thought he was one of our more effective clearances players this year, particularly towards the latter part of the season.

That`s the spirit ! Damn him with faint praise.

Subtle dig at Stanton eh? I thought he was one of our more effective clearances players this year, particularly towards the latter part of the season.

Stanton can win a clearance like Lonergan - But they aren't damaging clearances.

No, it's not a dig. His 'clearences' are more about quick hack kicks out of centre bounces..which are effective because the ball goes towards our goals..but lets be honest, he's no Joel Selwood.

But that's my point- we don't need him to be like Selwood or Jobe. He has his role to play on the field and the coaches have given him certain jobs to do based on his strengths.

His strengths are running to space and taking marks and creating a loose man who can run, take a bounce and deliver the ball to a forward effectively or have a shot himself. He might be next to useless in over-head marking situations and when man on man contests happen ..but he's does lay alot of tackles around the packs and puts pressure on the opposition most of the time.

And based on a 2nd place in the B&F, it seems he has done his job all season and made the coaches happy. So I'm happy with that.

You finally accepted what everyone else has been saying for 4 or 5 years?
Well done you.

Yer I accept the role he plays in the team now.

I just wish he could be a harder player though. Just a bit more. Bartel hardness. It's not too much to ask..is it?

But we all know it's not going to happen. Players don't just find hardness at 25/26 years old. You either have it or you don't.

He will be on my 'maybes' DT list for next year though...

You want Stants to be as hard as one of the hardest players in the league? Jimmy's frame is naturally built for it, Brent's isn't. Yes, you're asking too much.

Stanton is hard enough for the roll he plays, if he knocked his body around as an inside mid he wouldn't have the legs to run out games the way he does, which is his greatest asset to the team.

You want Stants to be as hard as one of the hardest players in the league? Jimmy's frame is naturally built for it, Brent's isn't. Yes, you're asking too much.

Stanton is hard enough for the roll he plays, if he knocked his body around as an inside mid he wouldn't have the legs to run out games the way he does, which is his greatest asset to the team.

Bartel wasn't always built the way he is now and still played the same way with his attack on the ball.

It's a mental thing. Stanton's footy brain isn't wired to do the things Bartel does. But thats ok as long as he keeps doing the other things he's being doing...if u know what I mean.

Odd statement. Why is it that Stanton's frame isn't 'built for a tough player'.

Plenty of smaller, skinnier players than Stanton that are tough.

Have a look at the thread on the main board. (Yes its mine). Its hard to comprehend the number of idiots that post on this site.
1. Stanton isn't in Fremantle's best 22
2. Issac Smith is a better player than Stanton
3. Stanton has been a plodder his entire career until this season
4. Stanton is inconsistent and has only had one decent season to date.
5. Stanton wouldn't be in Brisbane's top 7.
6. He is crap because he got booed by his supporters.
7. Vickery is a better player than him at this very moment.
8. Carrazzo is a better player.
9. Stokes is ahead of Stanton.

Have a look at the thread on the main board. (Yes its mine). Its hard to comprehend the number of idiots that post on this site.

Mate I smashed a dozen morons on that thread in support of Stants already..... I'm still confused as to why you would expect support on the main board though.

\\

To be honest have no idea why you started the thread - It serves no purpose.

Yeah mate, I've learnt to just not bother with Essendon topics on the Main and Polls boards; they only make you angry.

The tipping point for me was earlier in the year when all and sundry were telling me that Stanton couldn't get a spot in Richmond's side ahead of Foley, Houli, Jackson, Grigg and Conca.

FFS, GRIGG?! HOULI?!

They're ****ing idiots that evidently don't understand football, so don't bother.

Yeah mate, I've learnt to just not bother with Essendon topics on the Main and Polls boards; they only make you angry.

The tipping point for me was earlier in the year when all and sundry were telling me that Stanton couldn't get a spot in Richmond's side ahead of Foley, Houli, Jackson, Grigg and Conca.

FFS, GRIGG?! HOULI?!

They're ****ing idiots that evidently don't understand football, so don't bother.
Apparently Nick Smith and Zac Smith are better players than him too.

FML.

The main board is really just the Bay in a dress and hastily-applied lipstick.

They already kick the shit out of Essendon as a passtime - a good approach would be to not open further avenues for the flog patrol.

Halfway through the year even Bombers fans didn't rate Stanton, interesting that the perception of Stanton by Bombers fans has changed since Hird had a crack at them for booing Stanton mid year! Simpson has never been boo'd by Carton supporters, as brave as they come, the heart and soul of the team.
This is the kind of shit that irritates me.

Uneducated ****.

Yeah I stopped after the first page.

Behind Scotland (as a midfielder), Robinson, Carazzo, Simpson, Curnow, Lucas, Armfield.
Behind Wells, Swallow (those two are fair enough, but debatable imo), Harvey, Ziebell, Anthony, Harper, Bastinac, Atley.
Behind Richmond's plodders.

The entire thread deserves one big "okey mete".