Brett Ebert

outback jack said:
well i've had a careful look and the initial point was regarding eberts exclusion from the midfield and dyertribes bandwagonish thoughts that players like primus, francou etc were given gold cards ahead of him, when really the opposite happened. In marks own words nothing was expected at the start of the season from them anyway, but that sort of changed when mark got put under pressure. So you've taken that quote out of context as its not talking about 04 specifically, but if you dont think mark is an average match day coach atleast, then its poor judgment as most of your own supporters would admit its not one of his strengths. Whenever we go into a showdown i know who i'd want coaching my team.

With regards to the Brisbane lions i saw an article a while back from m. voss that wasn’t exactly complementary to your performance and as perthcrow has pointed out with brown injured and lynch gone it wasn’t exactly a masterstroke performance from mark either. Without a doubt though history will remember the occasion when instead of accepting victory gracefully and with honor as paul roos did in 05, mark instead couldn’t contain his bitterness and decided to bag the major sponsor for all to see. (Only to crawl back some weeks later with scott on his death bed asking for forgiveness) -one of my all time favourite port power moments. If i find the time i’ll look into my personal collection to see if i can find the picture of the occasion.:D

Apologies if this takes the debate in another direction from the thrust of the post, but have to respond to some of your baseless arguments:

With regards to Mark being an avarage match-day coach I think the statistics are correct that he has won the most number of matches in the last 5 years (FIVE YEARS - consistency mate!!) of all coaches in that period. That takes more than an avarage coach to do. And if that is avarage coaching, one wonders what we would call the rest of the other coaches.

As for the showdown reference, I think Port still holds the advantage side of the ledger in terms of total wins against you guys. And before you jump and point to Craig's 3-1 head-to-head record against Mark so far, let me remind you that Neil has been in the job for just over one season (only 4 showdowns). That is too short to draw a consistent pattern. Let's revisit this statistic at the end of his 3-year contract.

You would have to be very naive to fail to appreciate that those comments make Vossy a sore/bitter loser (more like Baghdatis ranting on about his dream playing in a grandsalm final and FAILING to complement his opponent for a great match and gets away with it). I don't think Voss would still be proud of that, regardless of his being angry with the AFL

I don't think in the annals of history anyone would worry about what who said to whom and with what effect. More likely people will remember who won the premiership in 2004 and the combatants on the day. If you were to be honest with yourself, do you remember exactly what Blighty said in 97 & 98 when the Crows won?...[rushing to get dvd to quote.... ha ha ha forget it] People remember the back to back bit. Who cares about the speeches?

PerthCrow said:
Tactics like sending people out to deliberatley punch injured body parts( not condoning playing injured people either)

Port wanted it more...all Mark had to do was make sure Brown got a knock to the knee ..or 4 or 5
Did you know that Jonathan Brown and Chad Cornes are friends? When the siren went Brown said "Let's go Cornesy" and Cornes tapped Brown's knee a few times and said "How's the knee going?".

Toots Hibbert said:
Did you know that Jonathan Brown and Chad Cornes are friends? When the siren went Brown said "Let's go Cornesy" and Cornes tapped Brown's knee a few times and said "How's the knee going?".

Yes, I'm sure you were standing next to them and heard what they were saying.

No. What actually happened was Brown said, 'I'm taking a risk by playing with my crook knee.' and Cornes, in true unsportsmanlike fashion, then said, 'Take this bitch.' *whack* *whack* *whack*

jmorg1 said:

No. What actually happened was Brown said, 'I'm taking a risk by playing with my crook knee.' and Cornes, in true unsportsmanlike fashion, then said, 'Take this bitch.' *whack* *whack* *whack*

Now I see, its true what they say: a lot of people find it very hard to accept that the better performed team on the day won the 2004 premiership...

spice18 said:
Now I see, its true what they say: a lot of people find it very hard to accept that the better performed team on the day won the 2004 premiership...

.....not to mention the better performed team over the entire season.

spice18 said:

Now I see, its true what they say: Port Power supporters lead sad bitter lives without a sense of humour.

outback jack said:
of the players you mentioned which would of taken bretts spot in the middle? Eckerman and thomson both got good goes in there and pearce got games with no problem.

Thomson played two games last year for a total of 9 touches, Eckermann played four games and showed some promise before he was wiped out by Stinger at Subi - hardly "good goes" in what was a woefully inconsistent side, although Eck's sudden stop was beyond anyone's control.

Still cant see how the wilson, primus, francou types were given 'gold cards' either, this is just popular opinion from some posters in ports BF gang. Like really what else did they expect from them after such serious injuries?

I disagreed with the negative assessment of Wilson and still do now.

As for Primus and Francou, what did they expect? Perhaps that they be eased into the side rather than be given their previous All-Australian roles from the outset.

Remember, both men had barely kicked a football in two years - yet here was Primus immediately taking over from Brogan who had come off an excellent 2004, while Francou was pushed back into the breach from the get-go, and was persisted with, when he was clearly underperforming and giving away silly momentum shifting freekicks.

Who could've replaced him while he was eased in off the bench? It's hard to say given Carr's move home and James' shattered knee, but players the calibre of Cochrane and Shattock were not the answer.

If anything primus' career was finished early because of mark and he was unfairly treated as a whole and really should and would still be playing afl football today if it wasnt for marks lack of imagination and desperate state mid last yr. Certainly wasnt loyalty on marks part.

Primus played 18 games last year before doing his knee for a third and final time - at which point he decided to call it a day.

I know you don't rate Choco whatsoever but it's a stretch to blame the end of Primus' career on him when it was once again his troublesome knee.

While it seems illogical for ebert not to spend atleast some time in the middle, these gold cards werent the reason. Clearly there were other issues like his endurance that they werent happy with. If anything rather than holding on and being loyal, mark uses his players as scapegoats to cover that he is actually a pretty average coach when it comes to matchday and on the big stage, that was no different in 05.

While I'm sure question marks on his endurance and attitude are a factor, Ebert did play 17 games for the Power up forward last season - and you would have thought that given the inconsistency of their season as a whole combined with the obvious midfield inadequacies Choco could've swung Brett in there a lot more than he did.

Portentous said:
You have to earn a midfield spot. Brett hasn't done that prior to this preseason. I'm sure he'll get opportunities-and soon-to show what he's made of.

You'd have thought that over the course of the journey Ebert has done more to stake his claim for a midfield berth than the likes of Shattock and Cochrane.

outback jack said:
well i've had a careful look and the initial point was regarding eberts exclusion from the midfield and dyertribes bandwagonish thoughts that players like primus, francou etc were given gold cards ahead of him, when really the opposite happened. In marks own words nothing was expected at the start of the season from them anyway, but that sort of changed when mark got put under pressure. So you've taken that quote out of context as its not talking about 04 specifically, but if you dont think mark is an average match day coach atleast, then its poor judgment as most of your own supporters would admit its not one of his strengths. Whenever we go into a showdown i know who i'd want coaching my team.

With regards to the Brisbane lions i saw an article a while back from m. voss that wasn’t exactly complementary to your performance and as perthcrow has pointed out with brown injured and lynch gone it wasn’t exactly a masterstroke performance from mark either. Without a doubt though history will remember the occasion when instead of accepting victory gracefully and with honor as paul roos did in 05, mark instead couldn’t contain his bitterness and decided to bag the major sponsor for all to see. (Only to crawl back some weeks later with scott on his death bed asking for forgiveness) -one of my all time favourite port power moments. If i find the time i’ll look into my personal collection to see if i can find the picture of the occasion.:D

Mark williams is also responsible for global warming, deforestation, etc.
Seriously though Scott & Williams arent great friends but Allan Scott's sister is a friend of my old lady's and she reckons it was the best and cheapest advertising his company has ever had.
And your still talking about it. Great work Chocco.

The jury is still out on ebert. And those gold passes were updated to platinum last season.

jmorg1 said:

GOLD

:D

Handyandy said:
... Allan Scott's sister is a friend of my old lady's and she reckons it was the best and cheapest advertising his company has ever had.

Wrong, wrong, wrong. This is probably beyond the comprehension of your average dummy Port Power supporter but there is a difference between free publicity and outright slander.

I'm guessing in the usual case Allan Scott would have hauled the perpetrator's arse to court for defamation but since it was coming from the coach of the club he sponsored that would not have made much sense.

jmorg1 said:
Wrong, wrong, wrong. This is probably beyond the comprehension of your average dummy Port Power supporter but there is a difference between free publicity and outright slander.

I'm guessing in the usual case Allan Scott would have hauled the perpetrator's arse to court for defamation but since it was coming from the coach of the club he sponsored that would not have made much sense.
I usually keep out of these debates, but ... defamation? :confused: :D

jmorg1 said:

"Slander"? "Defamation"? LOL! Time for your medication. :o

Handyandy said:
Mark williams is also responsible for global warming, deforestation, etc.

Unarguable - he is a despicable character. ;)

Handyandy said:
cheapest advertising his company has ever had.

Cheap shot would be more appropriate. When it's your major sponsor, cheap and stupid is even more appropriate.

Brian Cunningham is still talking about it too. He told me that they would have loved to have throttled Mark Williams. As it was it took 3 of the hierarchy 5 days of hot talking at Mount Gambier to save the sponsorship that Choco nearly lost with his giant trap.

Never applaud stupidity.

jmorg1 said:

SLANDER!
I suggest you find a dictionary and look up the meaning of the word...

PRAWN...

macca23 said:

Cheap shot would be more appropriate. When it's your major sponsor, cheap and stupid is even more appropriate.

Brian Cunningham is still talking about it too. He told me that they would have loved to have throttled Mark Williams. As it was it took 3 of the hierarchy 5 days of hot talking at Mount Gambier to save the sponsorship that Choco nearly lost with his giant trap.

Never applaud stupidity.

well summed up.

macca23 said:

Never applaud stupidity.

As the ol' saying goes:
If U can't stand the heat, get out of the kitchen...

If the ol' buzzard can't take criticism, he shouldn't dish it out.

At the time when this all surfaced, I was disappointed with the club. Alan Scott should've been told to pull his head in - and if what U say is true in that it took 3 of the hierarchy 5 days to save the sponsorship. Then it sounds like the ol' buzzard is a bigger sook than I first thought...

jmorg1 said:

OK wise one, I'm all ears. Alan Scott said that Port would never win a flag with Mark Williams as coach. When Mark Williams said "Alan Scott, you were wrong!" how was that "outright slander" and "defamation"?

It's a pretty simple question. No beating around the bush with your answer please.

DSL64 said:
As the ol' saying goes:
If U can't stand the heat, get out of the kitchen...

If the ol' buzzard can't take criticism, he shouldn't dish it out.

At the time when this all surfaced, I was disappointed with the club. Alan Scott should've been told to pull his head in - and if what U say is true in that it took 3 of the hierarchy 5 days to save the sponsorship. Then it sounds like the ol' buzzard is a bigger sook than I first thought...

ummm... we need to back up a little here, it's Allan Scott's money.
he doesn't owe it to you, and you'd be in bother without it.

Toots Hibbert said:
OK wise one, I'm all ears. Alan Scott said that Port would never win a flag with Mark Williams as coach. When Mark Williams said "Alan Scott, you were wrong!" how was that "outright slander" and "defamation"?

It's a pretty simple question. No beating around the bush with your answer please.

bears4.gif

Too easy Toots. Keep wriggling. :D

jmorg1 said:
bears4.gif

Too easy Toots. Keep wriggling. :D

Ah yes. The ol' "I was just fishing" comeback :rolleyes: . Nice try.

Now, answer the question.

Toots Hibbert said:

plz dont lower the standard of the board by posting here. Every time you are humiliated, but you still come back for more, its embarrassing. Nice catch btw jmorg1.

spice18 said:
Apologies if this takes the debate in another direction from the thrust of the post, but have to respond to some of your baseless arguments:

With regards to Mark being an avarage match-day coach I think the statistics are correct that he has won the most number of matches in the last 5 years (FIVE YEARS - consistency mate!!) of all coaches in that period. That takes more than an avarage coach to do. And if that is avarage coaching, one wonders what we would call the rest of the other coaches.

As for the showdown reference, I think Port still holds the advantage side of the ledger in terms of total wins against you guys. And before you jump and point to Craig's 3-1 head-to-head record against Mark so far, let me remind you that Neil has been in the job for just over one season (only 4 showdowns). That is too short to draw a consistent pattern. Let's revisit this statistic at the end of his 3-year contract.

You would have to be very naive to fail to appreciate that those comments make Vossy a sore/bitter loser (more like Baghdatis ranting on about his dream playing in a grandsalm final and FAILING to complement his opponent for a great match and gets away with it). I don't think Voss would still be proud of that, regardless of his being angry with the AFL

I don't think in the annals of history anyone would worry about what who said to whom and with what effect. More likely people will remember who won the premiership in 2004 and the combatants on the day. If you were to be honest with yourself, do you remember exactly what Blighty said in 97 & 98 when the Crows won?...[rushing to get dvd to quote.... ha ha ha forget it] People remember the back to back bit. Who cares about the speeches?

Sorry for my late reply. With regards to mark being a average matchday coach if you cant see it then what can i do? On numerous occasions in crunch games (finals chokes) he has been out coached. In those games in particular he doesnt seem to have a plan B. Some thing happened in 05, what moves did he have, move tredrea to the wing? Terrible coaching. With regards to the last 5 yrs he has had a top2 squad for three of those yrs, so you would expect alot of wins.

With the showdowns success outcoaching gary ayres by loading up our forward 50, is not any great accomplishment. Since NC has taken over its been L, W, W, W, a impressive record that cant just be dismissed. No real need to wait to the end of NC’s contract to see the trend.

Regards to m voss' comments i was simply pointing out that he didnt see it as you said the brisbane lions did.

And of with the GF's blights words arent remembered because he didnt bag the sponsor. You were pointing out what would be remembered and i think history will remember that bitter outburst over anything else that happened that day, because it was extraordinary. Oh maybe the wakelin/lynch punch up would be remembered too. Football wise with brisbane decimated through injury it was a poor game.