Toast Brett Ratten - The Appreciation Thread

Lets not forget some of the footy we played under him. So exciting to watch. Such a shame the players just couldn't back it up week in week out.

For me, the measure of the man that is Ratts is the absolute loyalty he showed his players and his club. He has never bagged or blamed anyone for what has gone down.

And I know it was contentious and annoyed people, but I loved him down in the dugout barracking like the rest of us.

Thanks for your hard work and the great memories Ratts. You are a true Blue champion.

Good luck with your future.

Was blown away with how selfless Ratts was at the press conference - if only the players had the same pride in our club.

You are one of the great Carlton men Ratts - thank you for everything you have done for this club:thumbsu:

Ratts has every right to feel hard done by. It's a testament to the guy's character that he stood up, took it on the chin and swallowed the bitterness.

I doubt his successor will have as much grace.

Parkin was right in that video prepared by Wookie - least experienced and least talented side we have had for a long time. Ratten did a fantastic job with what he had, and when a team is carried on the shoulders of one man for so long, then what do you expect them to achieve? Well done Ratts. Genuine class.

100% class today. Really, probably more than 100% - ie. he's being way more classy than anyone could/should reasonably expect.

There's no doubt I *wanted* Ratten to succeed and be the man for Carlton. He loves the club so much he's willing to be fired and still coach the last game/put the club first. But maybe the above is indicative of the harsh reality... sometimes nice guys finish last. Sometimes winners are arrogant twats. If Carlton is 100% about winning, and not 100% about being popular, nice, or even classy... than maybe we're doing the right thing.

Last year Mark Harvey did NOTHING WRONG before finding a knife between his shoulder blades. And the Ross Lyon-led Freo are flying. It wasn't a popular move, but maybe it was the ruthless "right" move.

Maybe this is too.

**** you Carlton. **** you Sticks, **** you Swann, and **** you to all the douche-bag supporters here and elsewhere that called for Ratts head.

Amateur hour at the club once again. Thought we'd left this rubbish behind.

Kernahan has to go.

So we'll probably have a healthy list next year, perform better than 2012 and because people generally, but particularly football people, are of relatively low IQ, they'll all sit on their high-horses feeling that the decision proved to be a good one.

Mick Malthouse used to be a good coach, but he lost it last year, along with his mind....it's still clear as daylight that his head is not right.

Chances are we'll have a crackpot narcissist leading us next year! Woo!...can't wait for that...

Haven't been this disappointed in and angry at the Carlton Football Club in a long time.

I'm sick of idiots controlling my club.

EDIT: Sorry Ratts. Love you as a Carlton man. Probably overtaken Sticks for me now, actually. I think you've done a great job and people obviously fail to see that, particularly in such a reactionary industry as AFL.

Best of luck. Hope you get a senior position elsewhere and have the success that I reckon you would have brought us.

Think him coaching the boys one last time vs the Aints is quite amazing, it's certainly not common.

At the same time I'm not surprised, this is no doubt what Brett actually wants. The least the boys can do is give him a fitting send off and I hope they come out breathing fire. Stay classy everyone.

Must admit I've been one of Ratts' harshest critics but I'd like to commend him on the dignified manner in which he has handled himself. He deserves a standing ovation on Sunday and I'm sure he'll get one. Champion of the club and one of the best in-and-under players to have pulled on the navy blue. Well done Brett.

**** you Carlton. **** you Sticks, **** you Swann, and **** you to all the douche-bag supporters here and elsewhere that called for Ratts head.

Amateur hour at the club once again. Thought we'd left this rubbish behind.

Kernahan has to go.

So we'll probably have a healthy list next year, perform better than 2012 and because people generally, but particularly football people, are of relatively low IQ, they'll all sit on their high-horses feeling that the decision proved to be a good one.

Mick Malthouse used to be a good coach, but he lost it last year, along with his mind....it's still clear as daylight that his head is not right.

Chances are we'll have a crackpot narcissist leading us next year! Woo!...can't wait for that...

Haven't been this disappointed in and angry at the Carlton Football Club in a long time.

I'm sick of idiots controlling my club.

EDIT: Sorry Ratts. Love you as a Carlton man. Probably overtaken Sticks for me now, actually. I think you've done a great job and people obviously fail to see that, particularly in such a reactionary industry as AFL.

Best of luck. Hope you get a senior position elsewhere and have the success that I reckon you would have brought us.

After reading this I am convinced that MM is not the only one out of his mind....

touche...

So let's simplify the situation. Ratts has a winning % that will be greater than any of his replacements, he has brought this club back, from a dark place, to a level where the confidence and spirit is growing. It's still not back completely - hence rubbish performances like last weekend. It's clear that the slim-pickings he was left with this year had a significant impact on the teams performance and still it was an "each-way" decision.....

Jaaaysus Kernahan!..."each-way"....and it's surprising that I've got little faith in them??

Ratts' performance was one of the most dignified, classy things I've ever witnessed in 35 years of following footy - no qualifications.

Irrespective of whether you supported him as coach or not, I'd expect every single member of the Carlton army to give this man the acknowledgement he deserves on Sunday. Well done Champ!! :thumbsu::thumbsu:

you are and will always be a champion to me Brett Ratten, thank you for dragging this club from the depths of dispair and putting us back in the picture, if we go on in the next couple of years and win our 17th flag, i will know who had done all the hard yards to set it up. :thumbsu:

Think him coaching the boys one last time vs the Aints is quite amazing, it's certainly not common.

At the same time I'm not surprised, this is no doubt what Brett actually wants. The least the boys can do is give him a fitting send off and I hope they come out breathing fire. Stay classy everyone.
I so hope this is the reason, that Ratts wants this. The cynic in me however knows this is a Carlton home game and a dead rubber. A few thousand more through the gates...

Hope im not intruding here guys, but just wanted to say how much a class Brett Ratten has and this past year has shown how much he loves the club.

Has put up with a lot more scrutiny than most have in the last few years (unlike Ablett where the upside is $)

As player and coach, tough, hard and fair.

Champion.

This is no intrusion mate, posts like this are welcome here.

Wish some of our own supporters could see Ratten for what he did and who he is as a person like you.