Bring back CC!

Re: Outcoached

Conolly crippled the side with his trading, drafting and miss management of injured players. His coaching was never in question, perhaps just his discipline.

Firstly I do not think anyone could have coached that mob to a victory today. The curse of the week after derby struck hard. We showed nothing, the moon was against us, the umpires helped them to a handy buffer, and the players had lead boots making it impossible to run at even 3/4 pace.

CC had to go after last year. There was no option. His game plan was not working. Recruiting had not been great. Most of us are very happy with what CC had achieved but he had had a fair run.

I support Harvey to get this club moving forward through the youngsters coming through and good recruitment policy. I no longer have any expectations for the season.

I know we're all a little upset right now, but its way way to early to compare Harvey with anybody right now (BTW, for the record I wasn't keen to see CC go so I'm not defending Harvs). Lets have this discussion with a season or so under his belt.

Nevertheless, putting aside the players who just didn't look switched today, no doubt he was out coached today, but it's was by one of the most experienced coaches going 'round so I'll cut him some slack there.

BUT, what I do want to know is what is our midfield coaching brigade doing. BLOODY HELL .... DEFENSIVE PRESSURE PLEASE!!!!!:mad::mad:. Learn to do it. The first half especially was shocking. I thought I was watching Carlton (today vs Pies aside). I don't know if its an organization thing or the players or what, but we were killed in the middle not by superior skill, but an inability to put real pressure on their mids which made their fwd players look way better than they were.

I haven't had a good look at the replay yet, but letting Richo get away with what he did was ridiculous. If we did the same with Pav there is no way he wouldn't be picked up by somebody.

CC's tactics were fine, it was just his actual coaching - as in the overall scheme, trading, discipline, commitment, selection - that was flawed.

It always takes time for new coaches to implement their game plans so we were always going to start slowly this year. Unfortunately for Harves, apart from a 15 minute patch against the slime, we haven't looked like breaking into form.

On today's effort though, no coach would have changed the result - apart from a handful of guys, the players just didn't want to have to WORK for the win. There was no commitment, no accountability, no defensive run and hardly any offensive run. We were never in the game against a bottome four side.

CC put us in this position by continually playing guys who either perform sporadically or simply aren't going to lift their games to another level.

Harves future will hinge on his reaction - he needs to take a dramatic stand against what was quite simply the most shocking display this club has dished up for many years.

Players must pay the price for their lack of effort and be made to dwell in the wafl until they show that they WANT to WORK hard for their team mates.

What's he supposed to do when the game has started and they show such disinterest though Gav?

Look at them in the eye at half time and say you better pull your socks up or you'll be spending a month in the WAFL. DO SOMETHING!!! I don't know whether he did something like this or not, but he should have.

I know we're all a little upset right now, but its way way to early to compare Harvey with anybody right now (BTW, for the record I wasn't keen to see CC go so I'm not defending Harvs). Lets have this discussion with a season or so under his belt.

I'll probably be accused of supporting all the failures of the FFC for this, but why has this become a CC v Harvs issue? Connolly is gone. What's done is done.

Harvey is now in charge and he has to work with what he's got. If you're a Freo supporter, get behind the coach, give him a chance to get the team playing the way he wants them to. White anting a guy who's only been here for five minutes is not going to win us anything. :thumbsd:

I think ur drafting deserves more scrutiny. Wayy too many similar players on your list. You have 5 tall forwards but 0 full backs. You have 5 small midfielders who all play very similar games but 0 taggers. Alot of talent but the list balance is off.

Draft best player available is always a better philosphy than looking at team balance.

Our problem is that we are not drafting the best avaiable it seems, and trading wise we have consistently overpaid.

Look at them in the eye at half time and say you better pull your socks up or you'll be spending a month in the WAFL. DO SOMETHING!!! I don't know whether he did something like this or not, but he should have.

I would be very surprised if he didn't bfff.

I'll probably be accused of supporting all the failures of the FFC for this, but why has this become a CC v Harvs issue? Connolly is gone. What's done is done.

Harvey is now in charge and he has to work with what he's got. If you're a Freo supporter, get behind the coach, give him a chance to get the team playing the way he wants them to. White anting a guy who's only been here for five minutes is not going to win us anything. :thumbsd:

Well said. Whats done is done.
Supporters take note and get behind them all for once and never pencil in a win - they are too hard to come by in this comp.

We cannot afford to make the same mistake turning on the coach again - it only sets us back as new coaching staff have to learn the caper all over again.

The inevitable "take two steps back to go forwards" bullshit

Lets hope the current crew are fast learners.

Draft best player available is always a better philosphy than looking at team balance.

Our problem is that we are not drafting the best avaiable it seems, and trading wise we have consistently overpaid.

You can do both. Tradinf is supoosed to be to improve team and list balance which makes your trading record even more bizzare. Still, its been 10 years and I dont think you have ever had a tagger on your list...

So what have Josh and Matt Carr been doing in the derby's for the last 4 years Embers?

Our midfield sucks, wow, that's breaking news, bit like Freo can't trade :rolleyes:

I'd have thought you'd have enough of your own issues to worry about right now? We are still above your sorry lot on the ladder.

My point exactly chook, and talk of trade policy and such is going to do nothing about the next few weeks. Having said that, as well as mid-field pressure (see earlier post) I do want to see some ability to control the tempo. That seems to be one thing that has gone since CC left.

We just couldn't get our hand's on the ball and we were still trying to play the game in at 100 million miles an hour with no accountability. I know its easier said than done but that's what these guys are paid big bucks to do.

So what have Josh and Matt Carr been doing in the derby's for the last 4 years Embers?

Our midfield sucks, wow, that's breaking news, bit like Freo can't trade :rolleyes:

I'd have thought you'd have enough of your own issues to worry about right now? We are still above your sorry lot on the ladder.

Kerr got 33 possessions and Priddis had about 30 himself last week. Unfortunately for us most of those possessions were turnovers and worthless. Today Nathan Foley played one of the most damaging games ive seen a midfielder play for a loooong time.

I dont consider Josh Carr as a tagger. He can be tough and tackle but he cant do the other things like spoil shepherd and the gut busting running that most taggers need to be able to do.

Matt Carr is played as a tagger but i consider that to be out of necessity rather then him being a gun at that position. Im sure if you asked Matt Carr he wouldnt consider himself to be a out and out tagger.

Your midfield isnt so much crap as the 5 players in their are exactly the same. If you had 5 Judds then thatd be okay but id say Fremantle have 5 Shane Tucks when all you really need are 1 or 2.

Would love to hear a few comments from people who think that Connolly was all that was standing in the way of our fabulous list and a Premiership make some comments on how they think Harvey went against a coach who has his neck on the chopping block. From what I saw, Harvey was absolutely pantsed today.

Okay, I'll have a crack.

The fact that our players stopped trying for a couple of years because everyone hated Connolly has affected the culture of our club. You just can't switch it off and on. The Connolly/Schwab relationship which should have ended in 2005 may have long term repercussions on our football club.

The people who stood by Connolly/Schwab thinking they were doing the right thing have infact hurt the Fremantle Football Club.

Okay, I'll have a crack.

The fact that our players stopped trying for a couple of years because everyone hated Connolly has affected the culture of our club. You just can't switch it off and on. The Connolly/Schwab relationship which should have ended in 2005 may have long term repercussions on our football club.

The people who stood by Connolly/Schwab thinking they were doing the right thing have infact hurt the Fremantle Football Club.

Lol. You were wrong Dom, just like the Geelong supporters were calling for Bomber Thompson's head at the start of 2007 were.

Were You were one of the ones jeering Tarrant today?

I've been saying that for years, players make the coach not the other way round , didn't stop the supporters turning on their own even today, losing CC has set us back as I feared it would .

A lot of people owe him an apology.

Whats done is done so lets get behind the present staff and hope they come up to speed quickly.

That's a load of shit Ripper and you know it. Connolly built a list of talented players who are AFL quality but aren't quick and don't win their own footy. How the **** is that Harvey's fault????

If Connolly and his ________ mate had f***ed off when everyone knew that they should have we wouldn't have wasted so much time. Now we have to rebuild because those two Billy Hunts have damaged the culture of the club. :mad:

My mate was saying on the way home he was going to start this thread, he's going to be pissed :)

Can't blame the coach today - the guys were slow, awkward and lacked pretty much everything we value at Freo.

It's hard to blame the forwards, they weren't getting the ball, and the backs were dealing with too many bad decisions in the midfield. The 3 extra players in red helped the Tigers, but even then, you can't blame them for our completely lack lustre performance.

Mundy, Peake have got to go, as soon as a Tiger got more than one step away from Mundy, he gave up. Peake, I'm not sure he can see straight, he certainly can't kick, or handball straight.

Sandi as much as he tried looked awkward around the field. He's better suited to the MCG where he can get his full turning circle in, because he can't turn at Subi.

Solly - geez he's got the big Kahuna's - I thought we wouldn't see him again, and yeah he didn't perform the best after the knock, but at least he's got that for an excuse.

McPharlin - he is my buddy - so expect bias. Good game, he played well, and although not best on field - played well enough pretty much with the ball he bad.

Tarrant - probably did enough to secure next week, seeing him pumped after his goal was probably the only moment Freo looked pumped. Still made some errors.

Farmer - hard to rate him today - played well, had to play back, and that hurt.

Pav - good game - again missed a couple, but was around a lot.

Schammer - Don't know where he gets his legs, but yeah good speed.

Streaker, could jump over the fence, but slowed late in his run, of course didn't need to bounce or find the next person to kick to.

#3 Waterboy for the Tigers - Good show not giving a drink to one of their players!!!

Lol. You were wrong Dom, just like the Geelong supporters were calling for Bomber Thompson's head at the start of 2007 were.

Were You were one of the ones jeering Tarrant today?

Bollocks. Everyone knew years ago that Connolly was shit. If it wasn't for you, Schwab the Knob, and the d1ckheadland crew we would have got rid of him at the end of 2005 when there was a positive vibe around the footy club and things were on the up. Instead the culture of the club has been affected and we have to start again.

Hang your head in shame Ripper.

Bollocks. Everyone knew years ago that Connolly was shit. If it wasn't for you, Schwab the Knob, and the d1ckheadland crew we would have got rid of him at the end of 2005 when there was a positive vibe around the footy club and things were on the up. Instead the culture of the club has been affected and we have to start again.

Hang your head in shame Ripper.

You on the piss again dom?

Bit harsh on Ripper, there me old bucket :D