Opinion Bring McCartney back!

• Thread starter Thread starter supahoops

We might need Smithy out there in the midfield next season with the way we're going.
We just need to persist with some young kids they will get smashed in some games and play well in others, they need a good professional mentor to help them along and Smithy is as good as they come

There is a footy dept spending cap next year. We have publicly committed to staying under the cap. Realistically, I can't see any new full-time appointments without departures. Perhaps 1 or 2 part-time specialist roles may be possible.

McCartney could come back and set up our next backline like he did with Scarlett and Harley. JK and Hamling as well as Walker or Blicavs.

We just need to persist with some young kids they will get smashed in some games and play well in others, they need a good professional mentor to help them along and Smithy is as good as they come
They can look up to his beard, drooling and only wishing that one day they hit puberty and can grow one too (talking about you smedts).

The only ones who should be pissed off are Cook and the GFC. McCartney agreed a 3 year deal to run the Cats development program, and then decided on a whim to set up shop with Bomber as an assistant at the Bombers when the club was being pillaged. It's one thing to break a contract for a senior role, we all understand that. But to break one for an equivalent role, doesn't sit well. Costa and Cook never do business that way, and I'd suspect Macca's bridges might be burnt at Geelong.
I doubt that too many bridges would have been burnt. For one thing Cookie is too professional to hold a grudge. The other thing was that it wasn't an equivalent role. Macca wanted to be a senior coach at some point, but taking on the development program would have killed that ambition. Going to Essendon was a positive career step for him that eventually landed him the senior job at the doggies.

However his days as senior coach are now behind him, so a role like development coach probably would suit him, and us, quite well.

McCartney could come back and set up our next backline like he did with Scarlett and Harley. JK and Hamling as well as Walker or Blicavs.
I thought Sando organised the defense, Macca was midfield coach and Kenny did the forwards, correct me if I'm wrong.

Think this comment from Ling holds true for how so many in sport look short term vs long term:

Wise words from a wise man. He should have been a coach our Lingy

Ex Geelong assistants aren't having a good run. Hope you perform Kenny!
That's because Geelong assistants achieved success in an environment that was aware that things take time. . . . . Having said that we almost pulled the trigger at the start of 07

I doubt that too many bridges would have been burnt. For one thing Cookie is too professional to hold a grudge. The other thing was that it wasn't an equivalent role. Macca wanted to be a senior coach at some point, but taking on the development program would have killed that ambition. Going to Essendon was a positive career step for him that eventually landed him the senior job at the doggies.

However his days as senior coach are now behind him, so a role like development coach probably would suit him, and us, quite well.

Not necessarily - GC would be mad not to interview him. Just beacuse the Dogs are piss-weak, shouldn't mean Macca doesn't get another shot.

Wouldn't be surprised if Gazza Jr. is already on speaker phone with Macca right now...

I hope Macca gets another opportunity at Geelong. I'm disgusted by the way he was treated by us and I really wish him all the best. I reckon he could make a great contribution to your already strong team, and I'm sure your senior players aren't going to sook when he has some hard words or sticks up for the younger brigade.

Well said. I'm afraid your team has taken a backward step today.

Bring him back. We know he's one of the best and most admired assistant and development coaches out there. He's also close with a group of the Bulldogs youngsters. I'd be getting him in as an assistant and then asking him if any of those young guns would want to come down the highway to a club where standards are set and our leaders don't crack the sads when they're asked to achieve those standards.

Think this comment from Ling holds true for how so many in sport look short term vs long term:

Funny, I was having a discussion along similar lines with a Tigers mate at work. He felt that footy teams are run like businesses and if the coach does not meet the KPI's after about two years they are dead. It took about seven years for Mark Thomson to develop a young side into a premiership side.
I suspect that sacking the coach after only a short duration will only set the Dogs back further away from the top teams.