Bring on 2020

Wasn't sure if we had a Boxing Day test this year - who's it against?
Dave Warner to make any runs?

We're playing the Kiwi's so I'd assume the BD Test will be against them. And Davey's too good a batsman to stay this "unlucky" for too much longer.

I know it's not basis of your post but...

This side by side business is a laugh. Just look at the match day thread and you'll see Collingwood have some of the most spiteful, uneducated and pathetic supporters of any club.

The 'Collingwood' stereotype rings true for many of us.
yeah... notice that the moment the team starts losing or behind in the score boards, there are a lot of "fans" who wants certain players castrated, then when the Pies start winning the same fans are quiet or cheering the same players they wanted dropped.... bipolar fans.

Honor and Integrity out the window.

And lets not mention the same fans who discounted GWS and planned a Grand Final with Tigers already.... when Giants have a winning record against the Pies the last few years and usually belt the Pies. They match up very well against the Pies as currently constructed.... but same fans were already talking Tigers.

Moral is.... the average person is already dumb. But add emotion and personal bias to the mix and you have a head ache inducing scenario.... better to ignore or log off altogether.

I think we only need 1 specific positional type and that's a key forward who can relieve in the ruck. Lynch was the perfect fit for our needs. The other more general needs we have are pace and a general improvement of footskills although we have made some ground there with some exits and some development. A quick running defender and a quick mid would be ideal but they both need to improve our footskills so it's a tough ask. We don't have a lot of trade currency with pick 36 or later when priority and compo picks are awarded and little quality depth.

We will have to look at less than ideal players to bring in I think. One I would consider is Josh Bruce who apparently wants out of St Kilda.

This side by side business is a laugh. Just look at the match day thread and you'll see Collingwood have some of the most spiteful, uneducated and pathetic supporters of any club.

I admit I hate seeing our fellow fans tear the club and each other apart during frustrating times. It achieves nothing other than allow BigFooty members from other clubs to view our board and laugh at us.

Few little milestones and we're into it again..

Grand Final - Melbourne Cup - National draft - Christmas - Sydney - Hobart yacht race - New Year - finish the Xmas cake - couple of heatwaves - pre-season... and away we go again

Did I miss anything?

Ford dominating Bathurst.

Or maybe just that small minority that venture into the gameday threads.

personally i believe that we are the powerhouse. it comes down to what the expectations here are. and given we have seen a flag in 2010 and been in i think 9 prelims " the most out of any club since 2000. should we have won at least 1 more flag in that time yes and that leaves a very biiter taste but we also need to understand that the AFL as a competition that is contrived to give you a chance to win the flag once every 18 years. the fact we have remained better then competitive for the bulk of this period for mine is a big tick.

Interesting posts so far lads.

The reason i say we need 2 strong midfielders is that Pendles and Sidey are slowing down.Sier is an ideal inside mid to help Adams but he needs to get his head screwed on right.Wills is the other but i reckon we need 2 more tough inside mids WAS HOPING BEAMS WOULD HAVE WORKED OUT BUT HASNT....This was proven by us losing the grand final last year and the prelim this year....Both times we lost BECAUSE of our midfield lacking the grunt to keep pushing......There is talk we are interested in Aiden Bonar from GWS. Has heaps of talent,Big body, but injuries thus far have stopped him showing his wares plus the fact that he can't break into the GWS side through lack of opportunity .GWS- THE TRUST FUND BABY CLUB OWNED BY THE AFL.........

Secondly we need a good strong KP forward.....The term money ball was used because,we have nothing of value to trade nor do we have picks to trade off so our recruiting has to be smart.At least for 2020 we wont have hardly any changes to the current side but by the end of 2020 we may go hard for a talented KP forward,like a Jeremy Cameron or a player similar type.....At the moment we are using an american who hasn't played much footy in Cox and Mihochek who is really a third tall..we need to fix this area for us to win a flag or three.Everyone laughed at Cloke but he was a true kp Forward at times brilliant at other times he was of space but stll he split the packs.

Our third area of finding a blistering small forward crumber is crucial .we may lose Elliot who else do we have daicos,hoskin-elliot, josh thomas,.no we need a leon davis, krakouer type small forward...who is available an Eddie betts type otherwise we have a hole in that area.

if we can fix these areas we will be a powerhouse again because we have the makings of a great side just need a few tweeks in personnel

The injuries have been key these last 2 seasons - those of you who are blaming the fitness staff are kidding yourselves.

Despite the whitewash by the club it IS the training surface, check Swannies statement - this from a guy on the INSIDE.

Ed needs to shut up and the club needs to own their culpability toward the membership.

That training surface is just TOO FKIN HARD.

The other key is team discipline on an off the field, first DeGoo and then Stevo, both instances derailed seasons and cost us momentum.

IT HAS TO STOP . . . NOW!

The final piece of the puzzle is the football department tax issue.

Ever since the introduction of the tax the club have been cutting corners in attempting to minimize our exposure to it.

No full time ruck coach???

No full time goal kicking coach???

That is amateur hour stuff.

Wake up Ed, the principle you are fighting for is dead and it is costing us flags.

The above are ALL controllable by us and are all linked by sub-standard administration.

I love Ed and wouldn't see him kicked out but this has SERIOUSLY gone on long enough.

Put stupidly standing on principle aside and put everything in place to allow the players and coaching staff to be the best they can be.

Out (certainties): Goldy, Wells, Murray, Dunn.

I suspect others will join: Varcoe, Reid, Broomhead (though I'd keep him), Crocker.

That's as much turnover as you get.

As far as trades go, it has to be player who are worth something. Cox stays because we have no other key forwards.

Scharenberg is the obvious one. Huge upside and we've got at least 3 of his type (Howe and Langdon and Murphy). What would we get? Maybe late 20s early 30s?

Someone in our one-paced midfield? I would have suggested Beams, but that won't happen.

But man do we need another key forward. Seriously. That's our biggest hole. I'm secretly hoping we might have a chance with Pattenson.

Agree, the place isnt broken.

Four or five retirements (Goldy Wells Dunn Varcoe Reid )
Two or Three delistings (Murray Crocker Broomhead Lynch)
One or two trades (Scharenberg)

Best kpp available (not neccessarily a forward if the clubs plans involve Moore playing forward)

Hit the draft to 1. save money and 2. build up a baseline of 18 year olds, because our youth development has been lacking

I've posted this elsewhere but it applies equally here.

The last 2 years have been winnable but we have limped into the finals series with a sh1tload of injuries.

Yes there are some injury prone players and yes there has been some unbelievably bad luck.

BUUUUT . . .

Swannie has spilled the beans publicly

Our training surface is SHIT

The club will not admit it but it's fact.

If the club doesn't own up to it we will continue to flounder through seasons with far too many injuries.

Bring on 2020