Brisbane Lions Reserves 2012 #2

log_cue_rack_holder_3.jpg

Help.........

I am guessing it has something to do with us about to lose a couple of games, but I am a simple man...

hmmm... interesting, why do you say that, late withdrawls last week?
also add yeo to the above list

If we go out in straight sets, the seniors and ressies will finish on the same weekend, and as an extension to that, start preseason on the same day.

Help.........

I am guessing it has something to do with us about to lose a couple of games, but I am a simple man...

Involves a rack. But enough about your avatar....

Help.........

When you put the cue in the rack it means you stopped playing.

Little in the way of reports on individual player performances from the ressies this week on the NEAFL site. Our injury toll is taking an effect on the young boys, and even the top-ups are getting hurt.

Richard Newell underwent a shoulder reconstruction last Tuesday to join Bryce Retzlaff (knee), Brad Harvey (ankle, Jared Polec (adductor) and Jared O’Brien (adductor) on the ‘season over’ list among the Reserves regulars.

Then Aaron Cornelius (Achilles), Sam Sheldon (hamstring) and Patrick Wearden (quad) were no shows against the Swans, without any guarantee they will recover in seven days.
And as if that’s not enough, regular key position top-up Jackson Starcevich, who has been in excellent late-season form with the Lions and local club Morningside, is likely to be sidelined for a minimum two-three weeks after an ankle injury against the Swans. Even nuggety back pocket specialist Daniel Frame failed to finish the game against the Swans and is under an injury cloud this week.

Ruckman Billy Longer did a tower of heavy work, while Steve Wrigley, returning to the Reserves after three games at AFL level, had a brilliant first half and was a solid contributor even in the second half after the Swans targeted him and tried to drag him out of the play.

Top-up player Daniel Duffield, from Morningside, was described by Clarke as “a beauty” for the way he went about it. “He really took on the challenge and did a terrific job,” he said.

James Hawksley and Callum Bartlett were others to go well for the home side.

Lions' NEAFL regular season review

* indicates top up player

Games played (out of 18)
  1. David Cummins* 17
  2. Justin Clarke 17
  3. Josh Dyson 17
  4. Richard Newell 17
  5. Callum Bartlett 16
  6. Jordan Lisle 16
  7. Patrick Wearden 16
  8. Stephen Wrigley 15
  9. James Hawksley 14
  10. Cheynee Stiller 14
  11. Sam Michael 14
Goalkickers (games in brackets)
  1. Aaron Cornelius 46 (10)
  2. Jordan Lisle 45 (16)
  3. Bryce Retzlaff 35 (10)
  4. Patrick Karnezis 19 (11)
  5. Josh Dyson 18 (17)
  6. James Hawksley 16 (14)
  7. Richard Newell 16 (17)
  8. Jackson Starcevich* 11 (6)
  9. Amon Buchanan 11 (10)
  10. Josh Green 10 (8)
  11. Brad Harvey 10 (8)
  12. Claye Beams 10 (11)
  13. Sam Sheldon 10 (12)
  14. Callum Bartlett 10 (16)
Votegetters (games in brackets)
  1. Cheynee Stiller 36 (14)
  2. James Hawksley 30 (14)
  3. Stephen Wrigley 29 (15)
  4. Claye Beams 22 (11)
  5. Jordan Lisle 22 (16)
  6. Richard Newell 22 (17)
  7. Josh Green 17 (9)
  8. Patrick Karnezis 17 (11)
  9. Josh Dyson 17 (17)
  10. Callum Bartlett 16 (16)

Was going to go this weekend and give TBD all sorts for doubting my tipping ability, but alas a lack of petrol will be keeping me away.

You got lucky this time...

Where and when is this weekend's game? Off to Tassie for a couple of weeks so would like to catch up with a last game for the season.

Saturday 1.30pm Giffin Park, Coorparoo

Where and when is this weekend's game? Off to Tassie for a couple of weeks so would like to catch up with a last game for the season.

1.30 at Coorparoo Tassie.
TBD that's what IQ or video recorders are for
PFK not sure how to resolve your dilemma

1.30 at Coorparoo Tassie.
TBD that's what IQ or video recorders are for
PFK not sure how to resolve your dilemma

Can you get me out of being best man at a wedding so I can attend? :p

Hmmm. Probably a bit late for a doppelgänger. If only I had more time.......hey wait a minute what's a mate doing getting married in footy season anyway? He owes you big time Jorgo. Thanks goodness for twitter then - Rip, haso, gcl there'll be someone there to keep you up to date. Oh and IQ for you too then best you can do.

Team named to take on Southport in the Qualifying Final (listed players in bold)

F: Yeo, Cornelius, Frame
HF: Smith, Karnezis, Dyson
C: Buchanan, C. Stiller, Banfield
HB: Cummins, J. Clarke, Wrigley
B: McKeever, Michael, Docherty

R: Longer, Bartlett, Conway
INT: S. Clarke, Wearden, J. Stiller, Power, Fox

Will be interesting to see Wayde Mills line up on Cornelius.

Pretty decent side. You'd assume at least one of the emergencies are in Adelaide ATM though.

Brisbane Lions Reserves 2012 #2