Mar 29, 2005
Up a crack
Pink Sydney Swines
Clement should get Bradshaw

Presti on Brown

If we can take out these two Collingwood should be a good chance if we run the ball.

Id be tempted to bring in C1, and play him loose in the backline. Sacrifice the extra defender in our backline, and if they move some onto him, put him on brown and send 86 up to a forward flank.

FFC + BBFC = BBFFC said:
put Jason CLoke on Browndog again, cause that has worked so well in previous games . Whos gonna tag Akermanis?

Presti will get Brown.
Wakes will get Bradshaw
Clement will get a small forward who he can no only dominate but run off.
Holland will get Acker and give him a few behind play.

If Burnsy and Didak play I think we can match up well against them. Whether we actually do is another thing.

i think our backline is stronger then the lions forward line so if we keep on top there it will help.

i think it might be a idea to bring j.cloke in he seems to do ok but he hasnt really got a match up coz they only really have brown bradshaw and merritt as there talls.

yeah i think holland might get aker coz akers playing more in the centre this year i hope that didak gets off give us more in the forward line.

i was jsut thinking that i looked at the injuries and copeland is out for 6 weeks he usually gets him unless voss trys and picks him up

bucks will have a day out this week i think a full game first one and heaps of the ball

Magpies2005 said:
i was jsut thinking that i looked at the injuries and copeland is out for 6 weeks he usually gets him unless voss trys and picks him up

bucks will have a day out this week i think a full game first one and heaps of the ball
One of Brisbanes new players will get him.

thats abit of a risk isnt it?
i think bucks would be to smart for a rookie not many 10+ year player can hold him down so yeah i think he will have a day out

Clement to follow Brown everywhere, and i mean EVERYWHERE. Hell, play Jimmy in the middle. He has the pace, and perhaps the engine to run with Brown all day.
Holland on Aker.
Wakelin on Bradshaw.
Presty on Merret.
I'd give 86 a run on Voss, would be a good experience.
There really is no need to bring C1 in for this game, there is nobody to put him on!

It's all in the middle this game, as it was against Port. If Freddy can put up a contest, it's gonna be close......until quarter time at least. Then we'll get r*ped.

Dont mind Lonie on Voss as long as he is accountable. Could expose Voss and his lack of speed.

Like to see Tarrant up the ground again, Mal Michael wouldnt go up the ground and Russling can keep him busy.

goalpie said:
Dont mind Lonie on Voss as long as he is accountable. Could expose Voss and his lack of speed.

Like to see Tarrant up the ground again, Mal Michael wouldnt go up the ground and Russling can keep him busy.

i dislike collingwood supporters, they are soo one eyed.......they dont no anything bout the game, just collingwood

FFC + BBFC = BBFFC said:
i dislike collingwood supporters, they are soo one eyed.......they dont no anything bout the game, just collingwood

Coming from a Brisbane supporter, stick to bum sniffing sports.

Several teams have already proven how unravel Brisbane including last years grand final. If you can break the lines with pace, there attacking players have to become defensive which isnt Brisbanes strong point and they start to chip and head to the boundary.

Magpies2005 said:
thats abit of a risk isnt it?
i think bucks would be to smart for a rookie not many 10+ year player can hold him down so yeah i think he will have a day out

I've been a bit woried about this one. Copeland would surely have gotten the job because although he's just a toiler he is very diligent at carrying out completely negative roles and has done the job many a time on players with far more ability than he, including Judd and Buckley.

To be honest Selwood might be the only option as I greatly doubt Voss can go head to head any more. Selwood is yet to lower his colours and has had some big assignments but Buckley is a different animal. Its still probably worth a shot though just for his development and for a 10-gamer he is pretty good physically and always gets his head over the ball.

Didak is a big out for you. He's a class finisher and you'll have to get at least 4 from Tarrant now one would think. He can often be a handful for us though with his pace and I reckon you guys should leave him plenty of space to go one out with Mal and try to expose him on the lead.

The key for the Pies chances, IMO, will be how well you negotiate the Brown and Akermanis match ups. I'd play one of the kids on Aker rather than Holland and I'd put Holland on Black. All in all Holland has had some nightmare games against Brisbane and you'll need him to fire. I think he can be most effective just going completely negative on Black. Presti will probably get Brown as he has done the job quite well before but Brown is in his prime now and Presti arguably is not. Burns is a key and maybe he should run with Voss as he is physical enough and can maybe get away from Vossy going the other way.

The key for us is that the fab 5 are just about all firing now so you still have to stop Lappin and Power. Having said that, I'd argue that on Collingwood's current form they are better than several sides well ahead of them on the ladder and if Brisbane don't play their best footy, or are looking a week ahead, you guys can surely roll us.

Lions43 said:
I've been a bit woried about this one. Copeland would surely have gotten the job because although he's just a toiler he is very diligent at carrying out completely negative roles and has done the job many a time on players with far more ability than he, including Judd and Buckley.

To be honest Selwood might be the only option as I greatly doubt Voss can go head to head any more. Selwood is yet to lower his colours and has had some big assignments but Buckley is a different animal. Its still probably worth a shot though just for his development and for a 10-gamer he is pretty good physically and always gets his head over the ball.

Didak is a big out for you. He's a class finisher and you'll have to get at least 4 from Tarrant now one would think. He can often be a handful for us though with his pace and I reckon you guys should leave him plenty of space to go one out with Mal and try to expose him on the lead.

The key for the Pies chances, IMO, will be how well you negotiate the Brown and Akermanis match ups. I'd play one of the kids on Aker rather than Holland and I'd put Holland on Black. All in all Holland has had some nightmare games against Brisbane and you'll need him to fire. I think he can be most effective just going completely negative on Black. Presti will probably get Brown as he has done the job quite well before but Brown is in his prime now and Presti arguably is not. Burns is a key and maybe he should run with Voss as he is physical enough and can maybe get away from Vossy going the other way.

The key for us is that the fab 5 are just about all firing now so you still have to stop Lappin and Power. Having said that, I'd argue that on Collingwood's current form they are better than several sides well ahead of them on the ladder and if Brisbane don't play their best footy, or are looking a week ahead, you guys can surely roll us.

You make a fair point, i'd agree that selwood would get buckley. Collingwood needs to stop black power lappin and aker as all in form and even voss. I'd also but burns onto voss, maybe lica onto nigel lappin, I reckon Benny Johnson could do a good job on aker but as he is coming back from injury i doubt he would get the job. I reckon we will stop bradshaw quite easily but if brown fires then they all fire so he is the key.

quam said:
You make a fair point, i'd agree that selwood would get buckley. Collingwood needs to stop black power lappin and aker as all in form and even voss. I'd also but burns onto voss, maybe lica onto nigel lappin, I reckon Benny Johnson could do a good job on aker but as he is coming back from injury i doubt he would get the job. I reckon we will stop bradshaw quite easily but if brown fires then they all fire so he is the key.

Licuria on Lappin might be a good offensive move as Lappin is still feeling his way after injury and Licuria could run off him and do some damage. Although I rate Johnson as a player, is he likely to be risked on Aker after the 2003 GF? I can't really remember what Malhouse did in that regard in the 2 games last year. Does anyone know how likely Josh Fraser is to play?

I definitely think you should go offensive on Voss rather than negative. He's still dangerous with his disposal off left and right and by hand, but his chasing and tackling isn't what it was and you have to take the punt somewhere. He's still more than serviceable but he just isn't the same player as a couple of years ago.

FFC + BBFC = BBFFC said:
totally agree wif ya, on dis one, collingwood fans are so one-sided(or one-eyed) just like the club president, GO LIONS!!!!!

Wouldnt worry too much about matchups, I'd play our best players in their best positions and see what happens.

Jason Lepitsch is out. Thats going to make things interesting. Could move Tarrant up the feild and play Caracellar out the goal square.

Brisbane Matchups