Brisbane needs help

• Thread starter Thread starter Hawkers

What an absolute load of shit;

Chris Johnson came to the club through the AFL agreed merger, yes, your club agreed to this.

Mal Michael was secured in a 100% legitimate trade with Collingwood in exchange for Jarrod Molloy, whom they obviously rated higher as we were considered the losers in this trade.

Tim Notting was taken with our pick 26 in the 1998 AFL draft, nothing dodgy there.

Jonathan Brown was secured under the father/son rule, which through the merger, again agreed to by all clubs including yours, gave the new club the Brisbane Lions all rights to future Fitzroy father/sons.

Michael Voss, Jason Akermanis and Marcus Ashcroft were all drafted by the Bears prior to the merger which again by agreement between the AFL and all other clubs would go on to play for the new entity th Brisbane Lions.

Not a single one of these players were 'gifted' as you say, good recruitment and development however was key, don't cry because your club was and is not capable of doing the same. Ridiculous.

The clubs didn't agree to it, it was a back door deal done between the AFL/VFL, the administrators and the owners of the club. Dyson Hore-Lacey was still negotiating with North when it was done.

You don't even know how you received pick 26 in that draft.

The whole point is that it was a series of advantages not available to the other clubs, you accuse me of crying over it but all I see now is Brisbane fans crying and sooking because the drip-feed has almost been completely turned off.

It's time Brisbane stood on its own

I agree with this, but a huge part of the problem is that the AFL haven't turned off the drip feed - they've introduced Gold Coast and given it to them instead.

Queensland just can't sustain two clubs without "equalisation" measures in place.

I agree with this, but a huge part of the problem is that the AFL haven't turned off the drip feed - they've introduced Gold Coast and given it to them instead.

Queensland just can't sustain two clubs without "equalisation" measures in place.

Well, I agree with you there, I'm happy for financial equalization but not onfield.

The clubs didn't agree to it, it was a back door deal done between the AFL/VFL, the administrators and the owners of the club. Dyson Hore-Lacey was still negotiating with North when it was done.

You don't even know how you received pick 26 in that draft.

The whole point is that it was a series of advantages not available to the other clubs, you accuse me of crying over it but all I see now is Brisbane fans crying and sooking because the drip-feed has almost been completely turned off.

Ha, they way i look at it is suck it up sunshine, your club participated in Fitzroy's demise in the pure interest of saving it's own skin, don't come sooking when the merged entity that yours and other vic clubs pushed so hard to make happen comes back to bite you in the ass, it was complete retribution for us Roys to finally see some success in the face of that.

No sooking here, just making sure Brisbane fans don't try to re-write history. This post proves my argument, as soon as you get beaten in an argument you resort to making personal attacks.

The Roys don't exist anymore, I know it's hard for you guys to accept that but that's the reality. The AFL/VFL dismantled your club and gave the best bits to the Bears to try to artificially prop them up. As for suggesting that the other clubs agreed to it, what a joke, as if they had any say in it at all.

NSW/Qld academies are a brilliant idea, but I'm not sold on giving the NSW/Qld clubs free reign over them.

The most important thing in player development in the Northern states is developing AFL-standard footballers and getting them into the competition - not getting them into 4 clubs.

Sure just have us run them and develop all the players for no reward.

WE run our academies not the AFL, have Collingwood players, coaches and club officials all over nsw/Qld developing these kids and you might have a point.

Sure just have us run them and develop all the players for no reward.

WE run our academies not the AFL, have Collingwood players, coaches and club officials all over nsw/Qld developing these kids and you might have a point.

Who funds it?

FWIW "we" fund footy in WA. Should we have access to any WA players we want?

No sooking here, just making sure Brisbane fans don't try to re-write history. This post proves my argument, as soon as you get beaten in an argument you resort to making personal attacks.

The Roys don't exist anymore, I know it's hard for you guys to accept that but that's the reality. The AFL/VFL dismantled your club and gave the best bits to the Bears to try to artificially prop them up. As for suggesting that the other clubs agreed to it, what a joke, as if they had any say in it at all.

Mate, if it weren't Brisbane it would have been North or Collingwood or even, dare i say, Melbourne, and none of them were to be anything but a complete takeover, at least through Brisbane we got to retain our identity.

Either way all other victorian clubs were unanimous in agreement that Fitzroy had to go and a merger was the way to achieve it. Mergers with with other vic clubs were derided time and again for the fear of that club becoming too powerful, yes, even though the Brisbane merger happened out of nowhere it was by and large later accepted as the most amicable due to the Bears status as a weaker club of the comp, when that club got up to be successful it was only then that the outcry started.

The merger happened, deal with it and be happy it wasn't your club that was put through the wringer, who knows, it may yet still.

NSW/Qld academies are a brilliant idea, but I'm not sold on giving the NSW/Qld clubs free reign over them.

The most important thing in player development in the Northern states is developing AFL-standard footballers and getting them into the competition - not getting them into 4 clubs.

I agree with this but only when the recruitment of players from these states increases to a level where there is a definite advantage. As we speak, players recruited from NSW or QLD origins are not enough to cover any advantage pro AFL states have.
It is an advantage to retain a player at your club if he resides in the state for which his club plays.
When we reach a level where 60 to 70% of our playing list comes from NSW For example, then you have a valid argument. As we speak, we probably are lucky to have a 10% representation.

We are putting great work & funds into these academies. Should there one day be 6 possible draftees come from the Swans academy in one draft, then we would be unable to take them all anyway. So other clubs can still benefit from our academies when the numbers of quality players from them increase.
It's just jumping at shadows.
People need to stop trying to shut down any bit of hard work the NSW & QLD clubs are doing to increase the level of AFL being played in these pro NRL states. I don't get it. The 'national' competition needs more self sustainable clubs in the long term then it does an unbalanced competition where 4 to 6 non viable Victorian clubs are kept alive artificially by annually pumping in funds when we already know, will just end up in a dead end.

Who funds it?

FWIW "we" fund footy in WA. Should we have access to any WA players we want?

Does your club directly oversee the administration of youth development in WA?

Throwing money around has **** all to do with it. It's the time and resources we put in and if you look into it you will see that it's funding is joint effort by the clubs invovled and the Afl.

We would make more money without it and have more resources pooled directly towards our club rather then split all over the place.

Want it even fine we'll step back every club can have equal envolvement in running the academies. Until your clubs puts in actual effort you can all **** off.

And what about supporters of Victorian clubs who (mostly) agree with him?[/QUOTE]

Just rechecked this thread, obviously we are on different ones or you should stop counting your many, many posts as being from separate posters.

It will end up as CoLA Mk II.

'Oh we need it because we can't retain players to stay competitive'. Two flags, Kurt Tippett and Buddy Franklin later and it finally starts to be challenged.

Why have a system which could *potentially* see a handful of AA quality players be available to one club only when you could just have one which is purely about player development?

Throwing money around has **** all to do with it. It's the time and resources we put in and if you look into it you will see that it's funding is joint effort by the clubs invovled and the Afl.

We would make more money without it and have more resources pooled directly towards our club rather then split all over the place.

Want it even fine we'll step back every club can have equal envolvement in running the academies. Until your clubs puts in actual effort you can all **** off.

LOL.

"You" are just an extension of the AFL.

"You" can devote as many of "your" resources as you want to "your" academy - the AFL will foot the bill.

We'll run it then if it means we get first crack at all the players.

Brisbane crap
Retention money given
Nek Minnit - 4 GF's for 3 consecutive flags
Retention money gone
Brisbane crap

Yep, indisputable fact :rolleyes:

Well let's see how the Kangaroos go should they not capitalise on the last five years of lump sum AFL hand outs only a few years after being the most dominant side for nearly a decade. Your club is this year spending way beyond their means for a club that was assisted so much, banking heavily on winning a p'ship in the next few years.

How many times will a Victorian club lose 7 players in one off season due to home sickness?
It's happened once to Collingwood in 100 years when Nick Davis wanted to come to the Swans & we have had an Eddie led vendetta against us ever since. How must Brisbane feel right now?

all I see now is Brisbane fans crying and sooking because the drip-feed has almost been completely turned off.

Furthermore i find this absolutely ludicrous coming from the mouth of a Demons fan whom have just recently been the biggest benefactors of this so called AFL drip feed.

For the record, i consider Melbourne an untouchable on account of the club being the oldest in the land, but don't forget that we also were one of those there from the beginnings and it was absolutely criminal the way we were treated and what was done to us in the end.

It will end up as CoLA Mk II.

'Oh we need it because we can't retain players to stay competitive'. Two flags, Kurt Tippett and Buddy Franklin later and it finally starts to be challenged.

Why have a system which could *potentially* see a handful of AA quality players be available to one club only when you could just have one which is purely about player development?

What a load of shit for start almost nothing has changed with the cola the payments dropped from around 20K per player to 15K and players with mid range contracts and beyond don't get it after 2017 something everyone agree's with, no amount of delusion will change that.

The swans academy is far, far wide reaching and all about player development. It starts with kids who are 11 years old and around 5000 are involved at the moment.

The whole point of the program is to help develop these kids so they can compete, there's no equivalent of the resources that comps such as the tac cup have in NSW, the Swans step in here and in assist developing these players, ensuring they stay in the AFL system and develop as players get older.

It's got **** all to do with superstars. Once again an interstate paying no attention to reality and regurgitating blatant propaganda.

LOL.

"You" are just an extension of the AFL.

"You" can devote as many of "your" resources as you want to "your" academy - the AFL will foot the bill.

And a bitter halfwit is revealed, your welcome for us paving the way for your club to exist btw.

What a load of shit for start almost nothing has changed with the cola the payments dropped from around 20K per player to 15K and players with mid range contracts and beyond don't get it after 2017 something everyone agree's with, no amount of delusion will change that.

The swans academy is far, far wide reaching and all about player development. It starts with kids who are 11 years old and around 5000 are involved at the moment.

The whole point of the program is to help develop these kids so they can compete, there's no equivalent of the resources that comps such as the tac cup have in NSW, the Swans step in here and in assist developing these players, ensuring they stay in the AFL system and develop as players get older.

It's got **** all to do with superstars. Once again an interstate paying no attention to reality and regurgitating blatant propaganda.

I said challenged, not removed. It was a rort. Arguably still is. Thread is not about CoLA, though.

You forgot to add an extra sentence to your spiel. When you said 'AFL system' you meant 'Sydney Swans'. The academy is about developing players and getting them to the Sydney Swans.

I don't see many arguing that investment into junior development in NSW is a bad idea. If we didn't do it then propping up NSW clubs in the AFL would be an expensive, pointless exercise. The problem is giving one club free reign over it. It's all well and good to say 'well we only have 1 or 2 players from NSW drafted each year at best so it's no advantage' but why wait until it becomes an advantage?

At the end of the day if the AFL truly want a national comp, which they do, it is absolutely imperative that Brisbane receives some sort of assistance, because if the Lions fold footy in QLD will be irreparably damaged, something the sport just cannot afford to happen.

I said challenged, not removed. It was a rort. Arguably still is. Thread is not about CoLA, though.

You forgot to add an extra sentence to your spiel. When you said 'AFL system' you meant 'Sydney Swans'. The academy is about developing players and getting them to the Sydney Swans.

I don't see many arguing that investment into junior development in NSW is a bad idea. If we didn't do it then propping up NSW clubs in the AFL would be an expensive, pointless exercise. The problem is giving one club free reign over it. It's all well and good to say 'well we only have 1 or 2 players from NSW drafted each year at best so it's no advantage' but why wait until it becomes an advantage?

You do realise we have to choose the player works the same as a father son pick, we can only ever take one player per draft.

If it gets to the point where there is a large amount of talent coming in all the AFL does is remove that mechanic.

Your panicking for absolutely no reason, hell WA doesn't even produce the levels of talent your worried about.

And so it should be, your club enjoys an enormous advantage with a large portion of AFL talent coming directly from your own backyard, wish we were as lucky, all we ask is that we should receive the same advantage.