Brock McLean

• Thread starter Thread starter Tulip

Also, I reckon we should appreciate the fact that he's waited almost 3 years to bring this out in the open. If he was a shit bloke he could have really caused havoc by coming out when he left the MFC in 2009 and saying just that. Who knows what may have happened... Jim's name would have been tarnished at the very least, and surely heads (and draft picks) would have rolled.

Mate, I respect your opinion. I'm just not sure what Brock was hoping to achieve by answering the question. He put a club, already under the pump, under a whole lot more heat. Thanks Brock!

And the irony of leaving us for our tanking culture to go to Carlton??? Wowser!!!

Cj, seriously, he's just fed his old club to the wolves out of spite. He can G&GF, I used to have time for the turtle, but this is ridiculous and indefensible.

Just heard on radio that the afl is re-opening it's tanking investigation on Melbourne after Brock's comments last night.

The investigation is 'ongoing'
ermjj.png

Hope you don't mind me intruding, but I thought his comments were a bit out of line. It was unnecessary and hypocritical of him say that's why he left and that it was going on. He clearly doesn't have too many brain cells going on with some of the things he's said/done this season. Better off without him, I say.

He left a club who were "experimenting" (in his words) and speculates that this was a direction from higher powers (without substantiating this) and decides to make a move to a club with the worst history of cheating (Salary Cap, years of blatant tanking, Brown Paper bags, Criminal president after criminal president).

OK....solid integrity there Brock

If they open some investigation into the supposed tanking, I'm sure they'll have to re-investigate Carlton through the 2000's???

So tanking was the reason Brock left? I was under the impression it was horrible lack of form and the chance to make more money somewhere else in a side that might have only been a couple of years from a premiership.

Now our good friend Patrick Smith and KB are suggesting deducting picks from us in the upcoming draft. That would be ludicrous

You have to be kidding Brick. You had a horrible season, ankle surgery and were slower than Scotty Cummings when 120kgs running backwards. I'm sure the Dees offered you a contract but it wasn't what you thought you were worth. In terms of list management, the decision to allow you to walk and Cameron Bruce to Hawthorn are 2 of the Dees better moves! (god knows we haven't had many.....)

Sour grapes. You get a kick because of luck (injury to Carlton senior players) and you come out swinging.

Good luck at the Northern Bullants next season.

Disapointed in Brock - I thought he left on reasonable terms. Not sure why he needs to come out now and say this.

Better off letting sleeping dogs lie, any club in the same position would have done similarly and besides let's be honest it's hardly paid dividends.

Disappointing and confusing. His comments really are just heresay anyway - smacks of angry comments from the cheapseats. I could understand that if he said that whilst playing for Sydney, but Carlton! The man has both redefined sooking and irony.

Dont blame player or coach, blame the administration. I think this should be the end of CSwab and CC. Get them out of the club and lets move on.

Quicker we have a clean out at the top the better .. even clean out the board .. surely we have to do this .. as we are a laughing stock.

Dont blame player or coach, blame the administration. I think this should be the end of CSwab and CC. Get them out of the club and lets move on.

Quicker we have a clean out at the top the better .. even clean out the board .. surely we have to do this .. as we are a laughing stock.

Spot on. This could actually be the best thing for Melbourne in the long run. The sooner those administrators are gone the better.

Brock was asked the question and he answered reasonably honestly. He couldn't sit there and say 'no comment'. That would have implicated Melbourne further. I don't see why people are placing the blame with him - only for speaking the truth - and not laying the blame squarely at the feet of the administrators who were doing the deed.

For the record, yes I support the Carlton football team... I don't support certain decisions the administration have taken in the past.

Good on him i say, he was asked a questions and didnt hold back. Maybe us Melbourne supporters instead of bagging Brock, we should get stuck into the real culprits of this story and thats the administration for managing to totally stuff a club culture in 3 years. IMO his comments offer an insight into why we are so shit!

We tanked. But can they really nail us for it? I mean they've already interviewed Bailey. They can talk to other senior figures I suppose. If though, it came straight from the top, they can't nail us...because it both tarnishes a legacy that the AFL have vowed to preserve AND makes the AFL look inept.

Good on him i say, he was asked a questions and didnt hold back. Maybe us Melbourne supporters instead of bagging Brock, we should get stuck into the real culprits of this story and thats the administration for managing to totally stuff a club culture in 3 years. IMO his comments offer an insight into why we are so shit!

That's the thing with Brock, he is not the sharpest tool in the shed but he is honest.

If McLean hadn't picked the most morally bankrupt club in the AFL then perhaps some would be laying off him

If Brock was still playing with us, on current form he'd be running second behind Jones in the Bluey.

By the way. We tanked while the whole world was watching (apart from the AFL).

We tanked. But can they really nail us for it? I mean they've already interviewed Bailey. They can talk to other senior figures I suppose. If though, it came straight from the top, they can't nail us...because it both tarnishes a legacy that the AFL have vowed to preserve AND makes the AFL look inept.

Nothing will happen. Brock will claim it was his interpretation and never said by the club or coaches. The AFL will brush it under the rug as they always do. Why didn't they interview Fevola after he said the players talked about tanking at carlton though?

Was JUST about to say this