Oppo Camp Brodie Grundy (Traded to Melbourne 2022)

Matrix10

Apr 15, 2016
Maybe as a link up player and stat gatherer, but he is a clearance beast.

Nic Naitanui is a sublime tap ruckman in it`s purest form, uses the 360 circle from any angle and with either hand to deft effect , gives silver platter service to his mids, for that you can pay a $ million bucks a year , other ruckman in the competition are not close to his art of poetry

Collingwood2022

Mar 25, 2021
A recent quote from Grundy.

“It just feels like a lot of the messaging was ‘your career is only successful if you win a premiership’.

“It has never made sense to me. How can you go through 15 years of your life playing at the highest level but not see it as a success?

“Being able to have that perspective and balance away from football and to love what you do in finding happiness in the journey. That’s more important than the destination.”

Hmm! Very new age. For me this puts a different perspective on my view on AFL coaches in terms of having to man manage/navigate this mindset. It's clearly a tougher gig than I first thought. The above comments are all well and good in today's PC environment however in competitive professional cut throat sport? Further, in my humble opinion, this mindset gives the players a psychological out. Bad luck well played you came up short but there's always next time.

So is this the collective mindset of today's young sportsmen? What are they teaching them at schools nowadays?

Robroy22

Oct 24, 2012
Jindabyne
Central Broken Hill (Magpies)

“It just feels like a lot of the messaging was ‘your career is only successful if you win a premiership’.

“It has never made sense to me. How can you go through 15 years of your life playing at the highest level but not see it as a success?

“Being able to have that perspective and balance away from football and to love what you do in finding happiness in the journey. That’s more important than the destination.”

Hmm! Very new age. For me this puts a different perspective on my view on AFL coaches in terms of having to man manage/navigate this mindset. It's clearly a tougher gig than I first thought. The above comments are all well and good in today's PC environment however in competitive professional cut throat sport? Further, in my humble opinion, this mindset gives the players a psychological out. Bad luck well played you came up short but there's always next time.

So is this the collective mindset of today's young sportsmen? What are they teaching them at schools nowadays?

OMG Grandpa.....lol....too many holes in this to mention

You do realise that today's athlete's live in today's world and therefore share today's values? They're just as competitive in preparation, execution and recovery but they (well lots of them) think about other things than beating up on their opponents (until its in the game)

Grundy's a fantastic competitive beast who leaves nothing in the tank every match. If you think he needs a "psychological out" because he realises there's life outside of footy, maybe you should spend some time back at one of those schools you seem to think are letting society down?

What's wrong with young people today?

Nothing!

btw....I'm 72, but too much surfing's softened my brain obviously!

jonmacTrag

May 27, 2020

You do realise that today's athlete's live in today's world and therefore share today's values? They're just as competitive in preparation, execution and recovery but they (well lots of them) think about other things than beating up on their opponents (until its in the game)

Grundy's a fantastic competitive beast who leaves nothing in the tank every match. If you think he needs a "psychological out" because he realises there's life outside of footy, maybe you should spend some time back at one of those schools you seem to think are letting society down?

Nothing!

There is a lot wrong but the blame needs to be laid on society who reward 'participation' with medals and ribbons.

It's no wonder we are a soft society with ready made excuses for failure.

Initiative and desire are being suffocated for 'equality'.

Mostfamousclub_Pies

Sep 23, 2019

Nothing!

Hang loose dude!🏄🏽
Love my surfing as well!.

Not sure what the problem is. They work and play harder than the premiership or nothing brigade that came before them. But I actually don't think there ever was a premiership or nothing brigade. Every AFL player I've met has been pretty satisfied with being an AFL player - and only one of them had played on a premiership team when I knew him.

Collingwood2022

Mar 25, 2021

Nothing!

Mate I used to surf a lot too.

Yes call me old school. Pretty much everything you say is fair and reasonable. I was just positing what it must be like for today's AFL coaches who are somewhat older than their players in terms of managing/communicating with the youngies nowadays.

Collingwood2022

Mar 25, 2021
Not sure what the problem is. They work and play harder than the premiership or nothing brigade that came before them. But I actually don't think there ever was a premiership or nothing brigade. Every AFL player I've met has been pretty satisfied with being an AFL player - and only one of them had played on a premiership team when I knew him.

Ye fair call. It may in fact be the supporters who subscribe to the premiership or nothing brigade. I know I used to when I was a fully engaged supporter.

Robroy22

Oct 24, 2012
Jindabyne
Mate I used to surf a lot too.

Yes call me old school. Pretty much everything you say is fair and reasonable. I was just positing what it must be like for today's AFL coaches who are somewhat older than their players in terms of managing/communicating with the youngies nowadays.

So coaches have to be flexible? Barrassi would be laughed at by modern players if he tried to berate them like he used to....
Times have changed and so have the people (thank goodness)
Modern coaches have to wear a multitude of hats (just like teachers I suspect).

Time to get back on the surfboard....see you in the lineup!

So coaches have to be flexible? Barrassi would be laughed at by modern players if he tried to berate them like he used to....
Times have changed and so have the people (thank goodness)
Modern coaches have to wear a multitude of hats (just like teachers I suspect).

Time to get back on the surfboard....see you in the lineup!

Clarkson's brother is in education, as a result Clarko used to target his assistants from those with an educational background - bloody smart move I reckon.

Mostfamousclub_Pies

Sep 23, 2019
Ye fair call. It may in fact be the supporters who subscribe to the premiership or nothing brigade. I know I used to when I was a fully engaged supporter.
It’s a utopian approach which is surreal.
I used to get so pumped purely when we beat Carlton, regardless of our premiership chances. There’s so much to be said for living in the moment.

It’s a utopian approach which is surreal.
I used to get so pumped purely when we beat Carlton, regardless of our premiership chances. There’s so much to be said for living in the moment.

It does my head in. I don't know why you'd follow footy if you were only ever going to satisfied for one game every 20 years. I'm with Brodie - Bucks, Robbie Flower, Bobby Skilton, Matthew Pavlich, and Nick Riewoldt had absolutely wonderful careers.

Robroy22

Oct 24, 2012
Jindabyne
There is a lot wrong but the blame needs to be laid on society who reward 'participation' with medals and ribbons.

If you say so....personally I see plenty of initiative and desire within the younger generations.

Robroy22

Oct 24, 2012
Jindabyne
It does my head in. I don't know why you'd follow footy if you were only ever going to satisfied for one game every 20 years. I'm with Brodie - Bucks, Robbie Flower, Bobby Skilton, Matthew Pavlich, and Nick Riewoldt had absolutely wonderful careers.

And Kevin Murray.....I can't remember the Bulldog ever playing a final?

If you say so....personally I see plenty of initiative and desire within the younger generations.
Definitely more initiative. It's been forced - you no longer have a life time job lined up due to your uncle being a chippy or his mate working at the airport, etc...

Trent the flight Steward

Jul 30, 2006
Cessnock
Grundy is a supercoach specialist, I liked his physicality in the ruck contests against inexperienced rucks, however he's tap work is poor, halfway through the second it looked how far Collingwood, but where was the synergy with Grundy and his mids it was terrible. Also why didn't Grundy push forward and kick a bag to win the Game, instead of playing a kick behind the play, he needs to push forward and kick more goals and needs to work on his tap work, surely as a ruckman you should be working on where and how you tap the ball to team mates. Even more concerning is Collingwood had all week knowing Brisbane had no fit ruck, surely on a fast marvel track Collingwood should have been kicking goals from centre clearances

ksardog

May 9, 2008
south australia

its a losers mentality, getting rewarded for effort means more than getting results these days.
But I’m sure you see it at your work and in private life, close enough is good enough, and repercussions for that attitude are few and far between.

seems to be an accepted part of life these days.