Bruce Springsteen

• Thread starter Thread starter Cruyff14

Awesome night. The energy, the sound, the intensity. Held the crowd in the palm of his hand. There is no better performer in the world. Still on a high and only just got home.

heart stopping, pants dropping, hard rocking, earth-quaking, Viagra taking, love making legendary E street band - I'm 95% sure that's right.

I'd like to have a big sign in the pit and Australianise it a bit, and add something like beer sculling, pie munching before the Viagra bit.

I don't know where to start.

First there is this, never heard the song before, but I like it. Bruce's voice sounds good too.

Then there is this

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/en...y-e6frexl9-1226597451534#.UUGOyzFFGNo.twitter

and this

http://www.couriermail.com.au/news/...ncert-on-twitter/story-e6freoof-1226596910566

-----

DrVanNostrand great review. Thorough. In depth, love it. Happy for you that you got Murder Inc, would have been epic. Thunder Road would have been amazing, I can't wait to sing in unison with the crowd. Will be one of those surreal moments in life nobody will understand unless they are there.

RussellEbertHandball, nice words mate. I can tell you loved it. Can't wait to see your footage, very eager to see it.

-----

My mate who was also there said this

* I didn't feel that Stevie's absence was a factor at all: the show didn't suffer from it. Morello is outstanding, and brings a whole new potential to the music. His solo during Murder Inc. was devastating. If it's on YouTube already, watch it. (He did a guitar lead solo as part of it.) There were moments tonight which would never have happened without him. Seeing both him and Nils playing against each other was a lesson in humility. My God.
* Nils is a possessed whirling dervish. His solo on Because The Night was the best thing I've seen, ever.
* The horn section and backing vocalists=incredible. Apollo Medley was case in point.
* I've seen Thunder Road live. I can now die a happy man.
* New stuff sounded amazing.
* Photos from better camera to come today sometime. I took over 200, and I'll choose the best ones.
* I can't sleep.

-----

Reading everything has made me even more exited. Only 9 days to go, and it can't come quick enough!

How freakin' awesome.

This is a cover of The Saints song circa 67-87.

Think it was off All Fools Day

Goosebumps!

I gotta work today (from home). So can't post my full review yet, but I've started uploading some clips. Not the best quality (phone), but I will share anyway.

Here's Bruce getting a young fan on stage for Waiting on a Sunny Day to get things started.

JuddyBuddy I was petty close to you. See the guy near the end with a bald head and a little sign? I was a couple of people behind him.

Goosebumps!

I gotta work today (from home). So can't post my full review yet, but I've started uploading some clips. Not the best quality (phone), but I will share anyway.

Here's Bruce getting a young fan on stage for Waiting on a Sunny Day to get things started.

It brings tears to my eyes how much joy he can evoke for people.

How freakin' awesome.

This is a cover of The Saints song circa 1986-87.

Think it was off All Fools Day

Edited the bold bit. Picked it up straight away and was a little shocked, but great version. Around 1:40 when the guitars have a "gear change' and the horn section kicks in it really rocked.

Brisbane boy Chris Bailey - would of been proud that the Boss picked his song in his home town. Maybe I'm Stranded gets a go on Saturday night.

I'm tipping at least 1 Vanda and Young song in Sydney - maybe Friday on my Mind.

Looks like its not on until the news. So you don't have to sit through this morning show rubbish if you're waiting for it.
Hit me up the thread when it's coming on. That show is so painful.

Nah mate. Some time after 11 qld time in the news.

Here's Bruce crowdsurfing last night...

I wanna go back!! So happy I got tix to two shows, I need another fix!

Cruyff, you are so lucky going to 5.

I'm not saying I deserve it more than anyone else, but I do deserve to be going to five shows. I have waited 10 years for this and now it's only a matter of days away. I know it is going to be the greatest time of my life and nothing is ever going to compare (except maybe wedding and birth of children).

I just know I am going to cry out of pure ecstasy and joy from being overwhelmed. It is going to be amazing.

I had a religious experience last night. Justice is just not done to some of these songs unless you see them live. I saw it described as a wall of sound and every song was just that. The E Street band are phenomenal. No Stevie, No Patti, obviously no Danny or Clarence (must be said that Jake does his uncle proud, so integral to the show), but they were lacking nothing. Bruce bounced off Nils and Tom just as effectively. Tom was the bonus. If you have someone with those skills, then you have to use him. Mind officially blown!

We took a walk through rock, irish folk, gospel, so much soul. Songs I barely remembered were wheeled out to remind me.

My favourite songs on the night.

My City of Ruins - My wife knows the BITUSA and Tunnel of Love albums and Born To Run (just the song) and stuff like Secret Garden, Streets of Philadephia. That's about it. She's not really what you would call a fan. She was moved during this song. It was song 7 and she declared that nobody could hold an audience like Bruce was doing here. I swear I had a tear in my eye during this song. He got the 12k crowd to simmer down, until it was just his voice. Some squealing female fan would break the silence here and there or some drunk bloke would yell something not realising the gravity of this moment. I found myself transfixed, and quietly saying ssshhh, knowing they couldn't hear me. I was just seeing how long Bruce could hold the crowd in place like this. When I was doing my silent shushing, Bruce did the same outwardly. Bruce Springsteen, the crowd whisperer. That did it for me. I half wanted to run out and tell someone what I had just seen, but it was only song 7 and the night was young. Trust me when I say that You Tube or even official quality live DVDs, do not do justice to the way it comes across live. I am instantly jealous of those of you who are attending multiple concerts on this tour, whilst being thrilled that I was part of the first.

Spirit in the Night - Following right on from City of Ruins, it was part of an inspirational match made in heaven. When I saw the Boss in 1985, we pretty much rocked out the whole time. Bruce told the crowd about how the E Street Band are a show band (prior to the Apollo medley), and where their influences came from. This song really epitomised this. I know they recite the same words at every show and the live production is super slick. But they just make it feel so goddamn personal and raw and improvised. I'll be damned if I didn't want to scream out halle-****ing-lulah. I was feeling every note.

Born To Run - A lot of people waited a long time to hear this rock them and with house lights up it was a sight to behold. The whole crowd came to life. I love it when everyone is visibly invested.

Thunder Road - Nothing to say here. Perfect. Can die happy.

Badlands - Thunder Road. So thrilled to see this live.

Shackled and Drawn - Haven't had a lot of exposure to this song. Now I want to listen to it all the time. If you can be converted to loving a song you barely new before, through a live performance, then something has gone right. I love discovering new things.

You know, I'm looking back through the setlist and could name every song as providing something fantastic. I'm a BITUSA devotee as that is when I first discovered the Boss. We got the two songs off the album during the encore and that sated my appetite. The folk tones of Death to my Hometown just highlight the diversity of sound, the unmistakable opening bars of Murder Incorporated sent me into raptures, the way The Rising soars and lifted me, the Ghost of Tom Joad and the way they shared the mic and the incredible guitar playing lesson we received. Just Like Fire Would was an inspired local choice.

For those that have been sated by You Tube and CDs until now, who are going in the coming days, I fully expect you to have an even greater devotion (if possible) after this. Nothing but live comes close to explaining these emotions.

In the line up outside Pit gate 11, next to me was a couple in their mid 40's who had come over from Perth who brought along their daughter who was about 20 and son who was about 15. They are going to both Brisbane shows and mum and dad came over 10 years ago just for the 1 show. I couldn't help but think of UpForGrabs and all those passionate fans who were so far away and couldn't afford to get to one of the shows. Had a good long chat to another couple from Perth who have traveled to US to see him. They went to Docklands disaster from show 1 10 years ago - not the Boss but the dead corporates that got all the up front seats.

I just know I am going to cry out of pure ecstasy and joy from being overwhelmed. It is going to be amazing.

I had the biggest goosebumps during My City of Ruins and was very close to tearing up. They way he managed to command silence from the crowd as he payed tribute to Clarence and co. was incredible. You could hear a pin drop at one point.

If ever I could bet on something happening, it would be this.

Not going to be able to shut you up for years after this. We thought you were invested before ... holy shit. :D

I had the biggest goosebumps during My City of Ruins and was very close to tearing up. They way he managed to command silence from the crowd as he payed tribute to Clarence and co. was incredible. You could hear a pin drop at one point.
Yes yes yes. I did tear up. I could not believe the spectacle I was witnessing. Overwhelmed by the raw emotion, overwhelmed because I was telling myself I was actually there and it was actually happening and overwhelmed out of pure unbridled love for the great man.

Well that was worth waiting for. :rolleyes:

Yeah what was it 20 seconds of wrecking ball.

Have down loaded my videos. All most out of credit on my wirelss broadband, so will get a recharge card and try and up load videos to You Tube this arvo on my exciting train ride between Brizvegas and the Gold coast.

People on fb having a sook that there wasn't enough classics played last night. **** me.

"I can't believe he didn't play born in the USA. Whinge, whinge etc."

STFU, the man is an artist not a ****ing jukebox. No wonder everyone thinks our crowds suck.

People on fb having a sook that there wasn't enough classics played last night. **** me.

"I can't believe he didn't play born in the USA. Whinge, whinge etc."

STFU, the man is an artist not a ******* jukebox. No wonder everyone thinks our crowds suck.
My wife casually said that on the way out, despite loving what she did see. I told her there was only a slim chance it would get played before going in. Also told her Hungry Heart was 50/50 but she got to hear that so you get that trade off. Anyway someone else heard her comment and agreed with her loudly, going on with it. I was just cringing. How you could hear what you heard and see what you saw and felt what you felt for 3 ****ing hours and find room for complaint.

People have to realise he is on a tour promoting an album and so newer songs are going to be played. I felt he gave a decent mix of the different genres, classics and new stuff. I wanted Bobby Jean, The River, Atlantic City ... and in the end, it didn't matter.

Also hate the narrow minded comments on some of those review articles posted earlier. Bruce can't play the guitar, sings all about cars and remarks about his voice and style. ****ing ignoramuses haven't been to one of his concerts in their lives.