Bruce Springsteen

I saw it on Sunday. Didn't think much of it at all. Some deadset weirdos on there. Surely it could've been made better.

I sort of agree with you there...only 4 or 5 of the stories really resonated with me and it's kinda weird that the star of the show wasn't a Springsteen fan, just a long suffering husband. How that mother who was either pissed, stoned (or both) made the final cut is beyond me. Having said that, I did really enjoy it and it was great way to spend a Sunday arvo, but it did leave me with a feeling that it could have been better.

Seeing Blood Brothers on the big screen with Bruce visibly emotional on the "so many river's crossed" line was my absolute highlight.

I've been watching Springsteen and I clips on YT, yet to see the actual film yet.

Liked these three

-----

Also, thoughts on the latest additions guys?

These two didn't actually make the final cut, but they are certainly better than a couple that did. The second in kinda boring though, although its cute seeing him as a little kid ... he's got some cool moves.

Yeah I know they didn't.

I like the second one, guy is down to Earth and you can tell what he's saying comes from the heart.

And the recent additions? ;)

Love this man. Glad to see you're now a fully fledged fan after not knowing much.

Do you have favourites?

Thunder Road (obviously). Badlands (As I said, that was the one that hit me). Jungleland. The Rising. I could go on forever but they'll do for now.

Badlands really grew on me even more during the tour. At the first show, I was next to two 19 year old girls who were with their fathers. When Badlands came on, we were shouting WOAH OH OH at the top of our lungs, we then put our arms around each other like we knew each other and started jumping up and down. Something I will always cherish.

Have you gone back and read through this thread?

I saw Springsteen and I last night. I enjoyed it. I've gone from a admirer to a massive fan since I saw him earlier this year.

I thought the husband who didn't really like him and was dragged around by his wife was great. He reminded me of Karl Pilkington.

I thought Elvis singing on stage was great as well and the guy who had just been dumped was funny. The English guy who made the trip to NY to see him and got an upgraded ticket was just a great story.

I would have liked the couple that had never seen him live to have been given tickets to a concert and to see them at the concert.

The Hyde Park concert was brilliant as well. I don't think there would be a better feeling than having 40000 people singing a song you wrote.

I would have liked the couple that had never seen him live to have been given tickets to a concert and to see them at the concert.

I was so wanting that to happen as well....they seemed like such a great couple. Loved seeing them dancing in the kitchen.

Good to see that you have become massive fan, you'll need Bruce's music to help you get you through the hard and lean times a'comin for all Essendon supporters. ;) Cheers

ps. Did the punters in theatre that you attended all break into spontaneous applause at the end of the movie? I went in Geelong and it was quite weird to hear people clapping for a movie (although I did nearly go off at the end of Because the Night).

I was so wanting that to happen as well....they seemed like such a great couple. Loved seeing them dancing in the kitchen.

Good to see that you have become massive fan, you'll need Bruce's music to help you get you through the hard and lean times a'comin for all Essendon supporters. ;) Cheers

ps. Did the punters in theatre that you attended all break into spontaneous applause at the end of the movie? I went in Geelong and it was quite weird to hear people clapping for a movie (although I did nearly go off at the end of Because the Night).

No, but there would have only been 20 people in the cinema.

I've been watching Springsteen and I clips on YT, yet to see the actual film yet.

i'm going to watch it at the cinema tonight.

Don't know why I didn't get a tag alert but this is interesting. Saw that whilst his Rio concert is still on 21st September he has added 3 shows in Santiago, Buenos Aires and Sao Paulo in the 10 days before hand. 21st allows to get here for the AFL Grand Final show on the 28th. ;)

I read the Greasy Lake forum thread and that Liz Hayes of 60 minutes went to Ireland to interview him. Selena is in the know so iItrust what she said. So I would rank the reason for an interview, as follows

1. To promote a new album
2. To promote a DVD of Oz tour and how much fun he had
3. To promote a tour of Oz

He gave Molly an interview to promote the Promise doc and album. He didn't do any interviews with Oz TV to promote his last tour.

Mid November makes some sense, but February/March/April next year makes the most. Gudinski might be worried about what's happening to the AUD/USD exchange rate so he might push hard for November. Could be part of an Asian tour. Have October off, do Oz, NZ, and Japan in 3 weeks. Only do stadium tours maybe 3 or 4 in Oz. He did 1 show in India in 1988, but hasn't been anywhere else in Asia. Who knows Singarpore, Hong Kong and China might be calling.

Since 1999
Reunion tour November in USA, nothing in December
The Rising Tour November and December in USA
Devils and Dust tour November in USA nothing in December
Seeger Sessions tour UK and Ireland in November nothing in December
Magic tour USA and Europe in November, Europe in December
Working On a Dream tour November in USA, nothing in December
Wrecking Ball November 2012 in USA, 3 dates in December California, Arizona and Mexico City

I saw the doco tonight, loved it. Kitty the truckie and John the stadium guy were awesome. lolol at the whinging Pommy husband. No Aussies was a slight disappointment. Teresa/Dominic's mum = major MILF.

Loved the six songs from HRC last year, even if I'd seen them heaps on YouTube. Cinema reallyt cranked the volume for it as well. Was about 25 people in the cinema, I think it was the last night.

AAAAAAAAAAAND I SAWWWWW HER STAAAAAANDING THERRRRE

I saw Springsteen and I last night. I enjoyed it. I've gone from a admirer to a massive fan since I saw him earlier this year.

I thought the husband who didn't really like him and was dragged around by his wife was great. He reminded me of Karl Pilkington.

I thought Elvis singing on stage was great as well and the guy who had just been dumped was funny. The English guy who made the trip to NY to see him and got an upgraded ticket was just a great story.

The Hyde Park concert was brilliant as well. I don't think there would be a better feeling than having 40000 people singing a song you wrote.

I read somewhere they've been given a comp'd trip to Rio for the final show of the tour :thumbsu: They seemed like great people, good for them.

Elvis was absolutely brilliant. If that guy isn't a pro impersonator, he's got a future. Loved how he decided to change the song HAHA!.

I was a little skeptical how good this would be based on some of the clips I've seen promoting the project but I gotta say it was a great 80 minute doco, followed by 6 fanstastic songs or so from 2012 London Hyde Park Hard Rock Calling show and then the Epilogue where they took 3 of 'film makers' and took them to a concert and they met Bruce afterwards and Bruce had watched their videos and tey talked about the videos. It was ****en great, but do yourself a favour and go watch it at the cinemasif you still can to get the full vision and great dolby cinema sound quality.

I felt like I was back at one of his concerts when they mixed in footage of concert stuff. Watching at home on DVD or You Tube just wont cut it as compared to being in a cinema. Unfortunately I don't think there are any more screenings in Adelaide so Ford Fairlane I think you missed out but I spoke to DonDraper and he saw it at Marion tonight and I saw it at Norwood cinemas. The bloody Sunday screening was on during the Showdown. Maybe 30 of us watched at Norwood tonight in a cinema that sat 200-250.

Will put my thoughts down in another thread with video links just to keep from overloading this thread.

Don't mean to spoil it for those who haven't been but this is the extended 4 minute trailer.

The actual doco starts off with people saying in 3 words what Bruce means to them. Some people thats all they get in the doco. Then the longer stories start but it goes back to the 3 words bit all through the 80 minute doco part. I thought about this after 15 minutes in i decided to pinch the words of John Stewart in his 2009 speech at the Kennedy Honors - Empties The Tank.

From the You Tube above
Starts with the Hi Bruce I just got dumped sign from guy in Hamilton Ontario ie big regional steel making town about 60km from Toronto. This guy gets a few minutes and tells his story about getting dumped the night before a concert ticket and having 2 tickets. he said he was said but got the urge to make a sign for the concert. Shows the sign, the hug, Bruce saying he;s been there, getting dumped before the record deal and then we get I'm going down. All that was in the doco here is the video from the Hamilton concert

the girl from 0:20 mark was great telling her story how she had a sign about being his new Courtney Cox

0:33 a Polish guy explained how he didn't no much English but under Communism he understood the words Born in the USA and he equated it to freedom.

0:38 The Phillie Elvis tells his story of how he went to the concert and told everyone he was going to get on stage. He tells how he did his hammy as he stretched down, asked Bruce to do a guitar solo when there is none in All Shook Up and then as he is walking towards Max changes to Blue Suede Shoe and the band doesn't miss a beat and they change tune and play along. He was brilliant on stage and telling his story with his partner in the park.

Here is the Kings full performance in Phillie in 2009

1;02 Growin Up was played from i reckon 1974 almost full song grainy black and white video

1:12 This guy tells his story for 3 or 4 minutes then just breaks down crying as he is driving was funny weird and touching all at once.

1:18 John from Denmark. He was ****en brilliant. He must have had 5 bits spliced into the doco and I couldn't work out where he was until this bit which you could tell was a stadium. It was Parken Stadium in Copengahen where bruce played in May this year and the concert the 3 'film makers' met at afterwards. parken is a 50,000 seat soccer stadium with a retractable roof. John told Bruce he was the groundsman there and that he would sneak in and shoot segments of his video. Bruce said so that where you were I couldn't work him out. he said that 10 o'clock tomorrow he started work cleaning up the turf and stadium. Bruce apolgised for any damage he caused.

2:06 a young girl explaining how her parents played his music and they went to a concert together.

2:12 The guy that Bruce busked with when he was out in the streets of Copenhagen in 1988 tells his story of how that day came about. Video from that day.

2:40 I don't think that bit was in the doco but that was woman from Jersey was in her car an she show how all the CDs in the overhead compartment were full of Bruce except one CD ( can remember what it was) and only Bruce gets played in her car and her 3 boys have no choice but to listen and she loves how they all know the words.

2:43 a danish woman who set up her camera in the Woods and tells how she first heard bruce in 1985 went to his concert and has played his music every day of her life since. She made it as one of the 3 'film makers' in the epilogue section.

2:47 The woman who as a grade 9 school girl ended up with some school girl friends going to watch him on 26 or 29 March 1976. She gets a 2, 3 or 4 bits but it sounds like the show was a sexual awakening for her. She was invited up on stage must have danced with him. She in one clip talks about how intimate those concerts in the small venues were and none of the shows at stadium she has gone to has come close. 26 March 1976 set list
http://www.setlist.fm/setlist/bruce-springsteen/1976/fox-theater-atlanta-ga-63d016e7.html

2:54 Woman who has less than a minute

3:29 He meets 3 of the film makers. John the stadium groundsman, the Danish woman from the woods in the white top, i don't know who the woman in purple is, and the British couple where the wife ( in black bruce t-shirt) is a huge fan, but interviews the husband ( blue shirt) and he goes on how he is dragged around Europe and reckons the Boss should shorten his show etc etc. Bruce had watched the doco and was at the hotel bar the day before they met to film this bit. The British couple walked passed and spotted him thru the window. But Bruce also saw them and recognised the husband from viewing their film and made a bee line for them and invited them in for a drink.

The 6 songs after the 80 minute doco part from London Hyde Park Hard Rock calling show 14th July 2012. Full set list at
http://www.greasylake.org/setlists_show_record.php?id=36&ID=2758&s_tour=Wrecking Ball Tour&concert_date=2012-07-14&venue=Hard Rock Calling, Hyde Park&city=London&statecountry=UK&concert_id=2758&login=

Thunder Road - beautiful version just Roy on the piano and Bruce and his harmonica

Because the Night

Shackled and Drawn

We are Alive

I Saw Her Standing There - with Paul McCartney

I was a little skeptical how good this would be based on some of the clips I've seen promoting the project but I gotta say it was a great 80 minute doco, followed by 6 fanstastic songs or so from 2012 London Hyde Park Hard Rock Calling show and then the Epilogue where they took 3 of 'film makers' and took them to a concert and they met Bruce afterwards and Bruce had watched their videos and tey talked about the videos. It was ****en great, but do yourself a favour and go watch it at the cinemasif you still can to get the full vision and great dolby cinema sound quality.

I felt like I was back at one of his concerts when they mixed in footage of concert stuff. Watching at home on DVD or You Tube just wont cut it as compared to being in a cinema. Unfortunately I don't think there are any more screenings in Adelaide so Ford Fairlane I think you missed out but I spoke to DonDraper and he saw it at Marion tonight and I saw it at Norwood cinemas. The bloody Sunday screening was on during the Showdown. Maybe 30 of us watched at Norwood tonight in a cinema that sat 200-250.

Will put my thoughts down in another thread with video links just to keep from overloading this thread.

Thanks for the synopsis. C'est la vie just couldn't make it, maybe the movie can recapture a little of the glory of the concert on DVD when it comes out ;)

Great review REH.

I went last night and loved it. Really funny in parts and it's great to see the connection he has with so many of us.

LOVED the Manchester couple. That's my girlfriend haha, she just doesn't get it.

Bruce Springsteen