Bruce Springsteen

• Thread starter Thread starter Cruyff14

Nah don't worry. I only picked up my Adelaide show tickets yesterday and went to AEC to check it out but they wouldn't let me inside so I checked out parking, line up area and looked thru windows to see where door 4 was to get in the pit.

The door number won't matter, you're gonna get let in early anyway if you don't line up.

Was walking down North Terrace in Adelaide this arvo listening to Incident on 57th St from Hang Rock 2 that TheAussieMusicMan shot and I downloaded off youtube, and it struck me in 3 weeks time I would have watched his Tuesday show and would be lining up for his Wednesday show in Adelaide and I might be hearing this again. Shit its close!!

I'm in the Pit for both Adelaide shows - who else in there for at least one show - pjcrows ? DrVanNostrand ? ManWithNoName ? paddy18 ? DonDraper ?

I'm only in the pit for both Auckland shows at the moment. I thought long and hard about Adelaide, actually, as I've never been, but this tour is really stuffing around my travel plans enough as it is. Still chasing any ticket for Brisbane, but very confident of getting one. Will probably pick up rear standing for both Melbourne shows but logistics are proving a nightmare.

Can't wait though, pumped to do it all again! I'm loving High Hopes as well; title track, Harry's Place, Hunter of Invisible Game, Heaven's Wall, Down in the Hole, this is some fantastic stuff.

GoTJ on the new album still gives me goose bumps as it did at the concert last March.

I never really got the original when it was released in the mid 90's, but this new version brings home the cyclical despair of the US economy in brutal light...that guitar solo is still awesome.

We had to read 'The Grapes of Wrath' in Year 12...my problem was that I had seen the movie the year or so before so the two didnt gel...IIRC the movie and book have totally different endings due to film censorship.

Liking 'Frankie'...'Hole' and 'Dream Baby Dream' which I can see the crowd singing up Batman Ave afterwards.

I dont mind High Hopes as a single...I think it sounds better on headphones than that release that was on here a few weeks back.

Fortunately my Dr has me on a health kick atm so I am listening via iPod every morning to the whole album whilst I walk....come Feb 16th I reckon I will know every song back the front.

Was walking down North Terrace in Adelaide this arvo listening to Incident on 57th St from Hang Rock 2 that TheAussieMusicMan shot and I downloaded off youtube, and it struck me in 3 weeks time I would have watched his Tuesday show and would be lining up for his Wednesday show in Adelaide and I might be hearing this again. Shit its close!!

I'm in the Pit for both Adelaide shows - who else in there for at least one show - pjcrows ? DrVanNostrand ? ManWithNoName ? paddy18 ? DonDraper ?
There for both.

Put this back on page 124 of this thread. From www.backstreets.com BTX - click on image to make it bigger.

So where does High Hopes slot into this maze??

ciQ4Sxc.jpg

There for both.

Are you doing the line up? If so we will have to meet up. Can go across Port Road to The Governor (or just plain The Gov) Hotel to kill time between roll calls. Its a great music pub. No pokies. They have had some decent acts play there.

I'll be in GA for both Adelaide shows. Don't imagine I'll be lining up much though - the front GA setup is tiny. The whole arena is pretty small. Nowhere near the height/length of Bris Ent or Allphones. Bruce will love it.

The Gov is the place to be for a drink and/or feed. Fantastic venue.

Old Aussie band, The Saints will be pretty pleased with the new album. Bruce covering 'Just Like Fire Would' will be very handy for bank accounts.

For songwriter Chris Bailey's bank account it will be.

Put this back on page 124 of this thread. From www.backstreets.com BTX - click on image to make it bigger.

ciQ4Sxc.jpg

I guess High Hopes is almost an extension of The Rising, but I wouldn't classify it in that end grouping of Magic/Wrecking Ball. It's huge sound is similar to Magic, but the themes and musical elements are completely different. It's The Rising's themes, Magic's loudness, and Wrecking Ball's experimentation with new sounds and styles. I think High Hopes sums up post-Reunion Tour Bruce very well.

'Dream Baby Dream' is almost hymn like isn't it...it really builds up from nothing to a crescendo that probably needed a guitar at the end to complete it...regardless this is going to be sensational when in concert with full backing singers.

Anyone who has had hard times with a partner will know what the desperation of trying to lift that partner up feels like...and again BS captures it so simply yet with so much musicaly depth.

ciQ4Sxc.jpg

Mine went-

1. 1984- B in USA
2. better get B to Run
3. better get The River
4. better get Nebraska
5. 1987- Tunnel of love

and then pretty much kept up with every new release.

Interesting to me I suppose.

Been a while since I've been here... so I thought that I might say a couple of things about High Hopes.
  • I hated the album before I even heard it. I hated the idea behind it, and the idea of the slapdash approach to re-recorded songs, covers, new songs and outtakes. Other artists do that, not Bruce.
  • More 'American Skin'? Give it a freaking rest Bruce. It was simply a good song in 2000 when you first performed it in Atlanta, and it hasn't grown in stature.
  • 'High Hopes' isn't a good song. It wasn't good when he recorded it in the Greatest Hits sessions, and time wouldn't have changed my opinion.
Having said all that... I've now listened to the album.
  • This is mid-tier Bruce. That's not a bad thing, but it's no classic at all. Shits all over Magic and Working on a Dream though. Although to be fair, that ain't hard. Third best album of the decade for him (Seeger Sessions is #1, Rising #2).
  • 'High Hopes' still isn't a good song. Well, let me rephrase that. It might be a good song, but it's not when in the hands of Bruce. If this is played in Perth it'll be good time to duck out for a piss.
  • Having listened to the recording of 'American Skin' here I can safely say that I don't think I ever will again. If I ever want to hear the song again, I'll go back to the live version on Live in New York City.
  • The re-recorded 'Ghost of Tom Joad' is great. But I'm not sure why Bruce didn't just put on one of the live versions with Morello. The studio can never capture the power that Morello brings on stage. It tried to get close, but I don't know. I like the ramshackle power of the live version.
  • 'Frankie Fell in Love' could very well be my favourite song of his since 'My City of Ruins' and 'Paradise' from The Rising. Really catchy song that's recorded very well.
  • Have to admit I was skeptical about 'Just Like Fire Would'. But it's really good. Sounds like Bruce trying to show John Cougar Mellencamp how his career should have sounded.
  • 'Harry's Place' was right to be left off The Rising. It was wrong to be included here.
  • 'The Wall' would've fitted great on Disc 4 of Tracks. I'll leave it up to you to decide if that's a compliment or an insult.
  • The grab-bag nature of the thought of the album isn't really an issue. This sounds like a proper album.
Overall it's a solid 6.5 or 7/10. Much higher than I would've thought originally.

UpForGrabs how many shows are you going to in Perth? In the pit or seats.

If you go to the first show you probably won't get that piss break as I reckon he will open with High Hopes.

Been a while since I've been here... so I thought that I might say a couple of things about High Hopes.
  • I hated the album before I even heard it. I hated the idea behind it, and the idea of the slapdash approach to re-recorded songs, covers, new songs and outtakes. Other artists do that, not Bruce.
  • More 'American Skin'? Give it a freaking rest Bruce. It was simply a good song in 2000 when you first performed it in Atlanta, and it hasn't grown in stature.
  • 'High Hopes' isn't a good song. It wasn't good when he recorded it in the Greatest Hits sessions, and time wouldn't have changed my opinion.
Having said all that... I've now listened to the album.

• This is mid-tier Bruce. That's not a bad thing, but it's no classic at all. Shits all over Magic and Working on a Dream though. Although to be fair, that ain't hard. Third best album of the decade for him (Seeger Sessions is #1, Rising #2).
  • 'High Hopes' still isn't a good song. Well, let me rephrase that. It might be a good song, but it's not when in the hands of Bruce. If this is played in Perth it'll be good time to duck out for a piss.
  • Having listened to the recording of 'American Skin' here I can safely say that I don't think I ever will again. If I ever want to hear the song again, I'll go back to the live version on Live in New York City.
  • The re-recorded 'Ghost of Tom Joad' is great. But I'm not sure why Bruce didn't just put on one of the live versions with Morello. The studio can never capture the power that Morello brings on stage. It tried to get close, but I don't know. I like the ramshackle power of the live version.
  • 'Frankie Fell in Love' could very well be my favourite song of his since 'My City of Ruins' and 'Paradise' from The Rising. Really catchy song that's recorded very well.
  • Have to admit I was skeptical about 'Just Like Fire Would'. But it's really good. Sounds like Bruce trying to show John Cougar Mellencamp how his career should have sounded.
  • 'Harry's Place' was right to be left off The Rising. It was wrong to be included here.
  • 'The Wall' would've fitted great on Disc 4 of Tracks. I'll leave it up to you to decide if that's a compliment or an insult.
  • The grab-bag nature of the thought of the album isn't really an issue. This sounds like a proper album.
Overall it's a solid 6.5 or 7/10. Much higher than I would've thought originally.

I am the same as you - didn't really like the idea behind the album (cobbled-together outtakes and re-re-re-re-recordings). In fact, on first listen I wasn't blown away purely because it didn't flow - I like a new album from an artist to be fresh with 100% new material to my ears.

But after playing it for a few weeks in my car, it hit me that as a collection of songs it works really well. The only songs that don't grab me are This Is Your Sword and Heaven's Wall.

I think High Hopes (the track) is average.

Love Harry's Place, American Skin (always have), Fire Would, Down In A Hole, Frankie, Hunter, Joad, The Wall and Dream Baby Dream.

The Wall is the best song for mine. And if I had fresh ears, Joad would be the standout.

It's better than Wrecking Ball and WOAD but not as good as Magic. I still have a loooot of time for Magic.

UpForGrabs how many shows are you going to in Perth? In the pit or seats.

If you go to the first show you probably won't get that piss break as I reckon he will open with High Hopes.

Going to the show on the 8th. Not in the Pit, but in the first lot of seats behind. I got my tickets through work (Arena sponsors) as Ticketek were sucky, but the corporates weren't allowed to get pit spots (which I understand).

Hoping that by the 8th, Bruce will be a bit looser and a wilder setlist might be in place :)

$105 flights to-and-from Melbourne around the weekend of the shows...ARRGHH too good to resist. In other news, I officially have a pit ticket for Brisbane :thumbsu:

I'm not getting the love for Dream Baby Dream. Should have been chopped off the end like We Are Alive should have been on Wrecking Ball. The Wall is a perfect closer, and so is LOHAD.

SPRINGSTEEN ADS SHOULD SAY "DON'T FORGET YOUR CONCERT TICKET!": The year has officially begun, with the first bona fide new album hitting Number One on the charts – Bruce Springsteen's High Hopes. But as with rock stars young and old in recent years, Springsteen's sales were minuscule, just 99,000. He's even low on streaming – according to Spotify, the title track streamed just 662,000 times, and "Harry's Place," "American Skin (41 Shots)," "Just Like Fire Would," "The Wall" and "Down in the Hole" scored between 200,000 and 220,000 apiece. High Hopes is just Number Three on iTunes' Top Albums list, selling 26,000 download copies, according to Billboard. Springsteen's disproportionate physical sales most likely are due to an Amazon.com CD-DVD exclusive including video of a full concert. By the way, there's no official "High Hopes" video, and the official audio has drawn just 944,000 views on YouTube so far.

Read more: http://www.rollingstone.com/music/news/on-the-charts-bruce-springsteens-hopes-debuts-high-20140122#ixzz2rDC3mlsv
Follow us: @rollingstone on Twitter | RollingStone on Facebook