Bruce Springsteen

From The West

http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/a/21290070/the-boss-rocks-the-arena-to-its-core/
Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band came in like a wrecking ball at his first ever Perth concert - but not the Miley Cyrus kind.

The Boss rocked Perth Arena to its year-old foundations last night at the first of three epic gigs in what was incredibly his WA debut after a half-century as a professional musician.

"Hello Perth, it's great to be in the most remotest place on Earth," Springsteen, 64, said before the 17-piece E Street Band tore into the rowdy Frankie Fell In Love off chart-topping latest album High Hopes.
http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/a/21290070/the-boss-rocks-the-arena-to-its-core/

Great read....you're gonna be one tired boy in a few weeks.
4 nights in The Westin in Sydney will hopefully recharge me somewhat. And I'm flying Emirates to and from NZ so I'm hoping that even in Economy it'll be rather comfortable.

Sean Sennett is doing the write ups for his Oz shows again. I'd like to see some video of the following

http://brucespringsteen.net/news/2014/notes-from-the-road-perth

The night’s ethereal showstopper was a stark “For You” that featured Bruce alone at the piano. After a fierce reading of “The Ghost Of Tom Joad” the band closed the main set with “The Rising“.

Bruce called out to see some signs and a group of girls dubbed ‘Stevie’s Angels’ kept the party going as they danced on stage to “Ramrod“. The final furlong saw the house lights up for “Born To Run“, “Dancing In The Dark” and “Tenth Avenue Freeze Out“. The Isley’s Brothers’ “Shout” was the perfect finale as Bruce bellowed his classic one-liner ‘I’m just a prisoner of … rock and roll!’

Returning to the stage, alone, with an acoustic guitar, Springsteen performed a beautiful “Thunder Road“. As he promised hours earlier… magic happened.

I'm seriously considering investing in a foot spa. If I can find one that doesn't break the bank. And if I need to I'll post it to every damn hotel I go to.

I did a run of 9 shows on Pearl Jam's 2006 tour... went very hard, very early, and missed a show in the middle of the run because I was as sick as a dog. I'm sure you have it under wraps, just some advice ;)

Loving the updates.

FWIW - a mate of mine rocked up to Perth Arena at 6pm, had a beer, walked in to the pit at 6.30, and was about 6 people deep.

I did a run of 9 shows on Pearl Jam's 2006 tour... went very hard, very early, and missed a show in the middle of the run because I was as sick as a dog. I'm sure you have it under wraps, just some advice ;)

Loving the updates.

FWIW - a mate of mine rocked up to Perth Arena at 6pm, had a beer, walked in to the pit at 6.30, and was about 6 people deep.
Well I've been to every city I'm going to before (bar Auckland) so I've no real need to explore. And I'm flying into each city at least one day before the gig, so hopefully it'll work out.

Yeah, the pit is tiny. Like even when I came back in after walking out halfway through, I was on the back barrier so as far away as possible. And I was still really close. Being right up close is great, but if it means walking to/from the arena 4 times a day every day and standing waiting for 4 hours BEFORE the show even starts, not worth it every night.

Great advice...you've sorted out my plan for the 2 Adelaide shows for me (where the pit seems even smaller). As mentioned, you still get to back slap and high 5 him as he comes around anyway.

Cheers and thanks for the heads up.

Great advice...you've sorted out my plan for the 2 Adelaide shows for me (where the pit seems even smaller). As mentioned, you still get to back slap and high 5 him as he comes around anyway.

Cheers and thanks for the heads up.

Yep - cheers for that ManWithNoName.

I will be having a beer and a stroll in at about 6.45 for Adelaide I reckon. Pit is smalllll.

Man, I am loving reading this thread at the moment. Cheers all - the enthusiasm is infectious. I went to his last tour as a casual fan; left being a convert.

Just curious to know how well Steve and Tom Morello are working together?
Brilliantly. Actually, no. It's not Stevie and Tom. It's Bruce & Steve, and Nils & Tom. Stevie is still Bruce's main man. Nils and Tom are just shredding stuff. They all had their own moment (Stevie had several). It was just amazing. In any other band they'd be the shit hot guitarist, but in this band Tom Morello is 4th banana. Amazing.

I'd pay to see a show of just Gary W Tallent and Max Weinberg. Those two are awesome.

Songs I've heard at every Boss gig I've been too so far (three):

Born To Run
Badlands
Dancing in the Dark
Waitin' On a Sunny Day
The Ghost of Tom Joad
Shackled and Drawn
Death to my Hometown
Wrecking Ball
Tenth Avenue Freeze Out

Wouldn't mind if Sunny Day, Tom Joad and Shackled and Drawn were given a rest.

Brilliantly. Actually, no. It's not Stevie and Tom. It's Bruce & Steve, and Nils & Tom. Stevie is still Bruce's main man. Nils and Tom are just shredding stuff. They all had their own moment (Stevie had several). It was just amazing. In any other band they'd be the shit hot guitarist, but in this band Tom Morello is 4th banana. Amazing.

I'd pay to see a show of just Gary W Tallent and Max Weinberg. Those two are awesome.

This.

A mate of mine - big muso but casual Bruce fan - bought a cheap ticket in front row behind the stage for Adelaide - I said, no problem - just as much awesome musicianship to watch back there!

Really enjoyed it and was one of the most entertaining and fun gigs I've been to which is saying something as I don't know too many of his songs. Tom Morello was awesome but disappointed they didn't play Glory Days or Born in the USA as the were a couple of the few tunes I know haha.
What was the highlight for you?

I guess you'll have to attend multiple shows to hear them :)

What was the highlight for you?

I guess you'll have to attend multiple shows to hear them :)
Dancing in the dark was easily my fave tune as it was the only one I knew :p

Loved all the solos by the band especially Morello. Such a good guitarist and sounded very Rage Against The Machine.

Most entertaining was when Bruce sculled a beer. Took him a while but he got there in the end :D

Man, I am loving reading this thread at the moment. Cheers all - the enthusiasm is infectious. I went to his last tour as a casual fan; left being a convert.

Just curious to know how well Steve and Tom Morello are working together?

I know we are the nut cases but if you love music - a wide spread - I can't see how you would not be convert or at the very least go home and want to find out more and look up his catalogue.

Christmas 2012 I had a mate from uni footy days return home for Christmas from Toronto. He's been there since 2005. He put up my brother inlaw in TO a few months earlier, so the bother inlaw wanted to repay my mate and his family for their hospitality. so I caught up with him a couple of times over two long lunches. About 15 minutes at the end of the second lunch he told me that he and wife went to watch Bruce at Madison Square Garden about 6 months earlier. Their friends in NY got them tickets. They both weren't fans, knew very little of his music, had great seats, but raved how great he was, couldn't believe how much energy he and the band put in, and they wanted to go the next show at MSG - but couldn't as they had to leave NY. I wish I had found out the first 15 minutes rather than the last 15 minutes of our two meetings.

Interesting, I thought something was up during "Because The Night".

He did the long "Take me now...take me now" intro, but it went a REALLY long time. Then during the first chorus he turned back stage, pointed at his teleprompter and ran his finger over his throat. Basically "it's dead". And I didn't notice but someone on Greasy Lake is saying he basically made up a whole new second verse. Might be interesting to hear on the downloads.

Thunder Road - wow this acoustic version is so different even to the London 2012 version at the end of the Springsteen and I doco from Hard Rock Calling at Hyde Park.

Thunder Road - wow this acoustic version is even so different even to the London 2012 version at the end of the Springsteen and I doco from Hard Rock Calling at Hyde Park.

Yeah I didn't really love it. And I love Thunder Road. Give me the full band, or Bruce and Roy like at Hyde Park.

I am..
Ironman...

Solid Little rock show that
Piano_Boss.jpg

Bruce Springsteen