Roast Bryce Gibbs

If the rumors are infact true, the. What if Bryce doesn’t want to make it public? In that case, AFC can’t really do much other than gift him games which would not be fair on the rest of the team.

Something is obviously very off with the whole situation.
Give him a calf injury, as has always happened when clubs are trying to hide the real reason a player is out.

I'm not even sure I entirely understand what is being achieved by him not playing, other than giving him more time on his hands.

Anyone remember what happened in the lead up to, and when we were informed that Goodwin had a gambling problem? Much different times I know.

Goodwin's gambling issue was actually worse than Gibbs in the context from an AFL perspective.

He was betting on AFL outcomes.

So thinking back, was it right for Carlton do deny Bryce Gibbs the opportunity to come home the first time he asked?

Morally, probably no, but you've got to do what's best for your club. Carlton did do that.

We offered fair market value for Gibbs the first time. SOS exploited a situation. His day is coming. Karma is approaching him.

Wasn't that the 'outing' of him as a general gambling addict? Or have I got mixed up?

I dont remember the details, but I do know Goodwin was betting on AFL outcomes. Like he would have placed bets on multis etc. Like certain teams to win over the weekend etc.

What saved him was that he wasnt betting on Crows games.

If Gibbs has a gambling issue and Carlton kept that from us, I wouldn't be surprised given what happened with Chris Yarran after they traded him to Richmond.

CarLOLton. Did you not see the posts earlier that their own supporters on this board knew about Gibbs issues 4 years ago.

David Wildy and KG basically revealed what the rumour is on FiveAA a few mins ago - talked for 10 minutes about how awful the rumour-mongering is on Gibbs and his family and how they won't go into what the rumour involves (except that it involves 'nothing sinister') and then in the next breath - "how awful is the story coming out of Melbourne about AFL players having chronic gambling problems - Beams and Charlie Cameron are among the names being mentioned..."

CarLOLton. Did you not see the posts earlier that their own supporters on this board knew about Gibbs issues 4 years ago.

But how much trust would you actually put in an anonymous online forum though? If someone from our club was reading the Carlton rumours thread and knew all that about Gibbs we should have got a much better deal at the trade table or stayed away completely, so we either didn't do due diligence or we were fearful of him going elsewhere (i.e. Port) and being embarrassed after the previous trade negotiations broke down.

Reid has done pretty well with the 19 that we got in the trade.
I was trying to track exactly what the deal for Gibbs was ... as I was sick of hearing the "2 first round picks" rubbish.

Carlton received
  • Pick 10 (Lochie O'Brien)
  • Pick 16 (ended up at Bulldogs - Ed Richards : Carlton got Matthew Kennedy and Tom De Koning)
  • Crows' 2018 second-round pick (31 - ended up at Melbourne, James Jordon : Carlton got ???)
  • Pick 73 (Angus Schumacher)

Adelaide received
  • Gibbs
  • Carlton's 2018 second-round pick (19 - we traded back to them)
  • Carlton's 2018 third-round pick (37 - ended up at Sydney, Justin McInerney: Adelaide got ???)
  • Pick 77 (not used)
Can someone fill in the blanks?

Using the daft Points Calculator that has Bryce costing us Pick 7.

But how much trust would you actually put in an anonymous online forum though? If someone from our club was reading the Carlton rumours thread and knew all that about Gibbs we should have got a much better deal at the trade table or stayed away completely, so we either didn't do due diligence or we were fearful of him going elsewhere (i.e. Port) and being embarrassed after the previous trade negotiations broke down.

Players talk. I suspect the club has known something for awhile and would make sense why Gibbs playing performance has slid if he is involved. Adelaide has a huge Carlton connection too so it's not unreasonable to suggest players and coaches found out through the grape vine.

The rumour wasnt a rumour it was a fact.

If you read a few of the articles in the Melbourne newspapers 4 years ago, they talked about how Carlton players openly had established a betting team.

This was potentially a failure by our Club to not have investigated it further and not taken into consideration if a player is a heavy gambler or not.

Its not a unique issue either. Its a common problem amongst well paid athletes that are paid well, not just the AFL.

Um ... are some actually trying to say that we didn't know much about Gibbs before the trade. The trade that Justin Reid tried to get for 3 years? If Justin Reid only knew more about his target :drunk:

As far as the gambling rumours ... let's just hold our guns on the flaming of the player or the clubs until we know what is true and what is skuttlebutt.

Something is going on with BG - he is not playing anywhere near his expected level - and the club has no responsibility to keep the media informed of what is happening with blow-by-blow press releases.

Um ... are some actually trying to say that we didn't know much about Gibbs before the trade. The trade that Justin Reid tried to get for 3 years? If Justin Reid only knew more about his target :drunk:
Spot on. We knew whatever there was to know about Bryce Gibbs, and decided to trade for him.

I hope it wasn't a situation of Reid putting a mate above the club, or his heart ruling his head?

I was trying to track exactly what the deal for Gibbs was ... as I was sick of hearing the "2 first round picks" rubbish.

Carlton received
  • Pick 10 (Lochie O'Brien)
  • Pick 16 (ended up at Bulldogs - Ed Richards : Carlton got Matthew Kennedy and Tom De Koning)
  • Crows' 2018 second-round pick (31 - ended up at Melbourne, James Jordon : Carlton got ???)
  • Pick 73 (Angus Schumacher)

Adelaide received
  • Gibbs
  • Carlton's 2018 second-round pick (19 - we traded back to them)
  • Carlton's 2018 third-round pick (37 - ended up at Sydney, Justin McInerney: Adelaide got ???)
  • Pick 77 (not used)
Can someone fill in the blanks?

Using the daft Points Calculator that has Bryce costing us Pick 7.

If we kept those picks I would say we would have picked Fog with 10
16 could have been a gem Richards,Higgins or a Tim Kelly
We could have offered Charlie more to stay
Rockliff went to Port as free agent. May have been better option

If we kept those picks I would say we would have picked Fog with 10
16 could have been a gem Richards,Higgins or a Tim Kelly
We could have offered Charlie more to stay
Rockliff went to Port as free agent. May have been better option
I don't think Rockliff was for us.
Charlie was always going.
Tim Kelly looks like an easy target in hindsight.

I reckon we paid about the right value ... but the mistake was more in what we dished up in 2018 than the Gibbs trade. He played really well last year, and we wasted the year with the CM and hamstring debacles.

Anyone who has a problem with us not playing Gibbs because his past performances have been good - or he could potentially re-ignite his form - I think is in the wrong. That's a "golden ticket" scenario that we all hate. His form is down, he isn't an easy fit into the team at the moment. I'd prefer that he try and find his form in the SANFL and demand to be picked for the best 22.

Spot on. We knew whatever there was to know about Bryce Gibbs, and decided to trade for him.

I hope it wasn't a situation of Reid putting a mate above the club, or his heart ruling his head?
Actually - if the guy is struggling with a mental health issue and needs family support in SA, then I'd be proud of us as a club if we put his welfare above his AFL output. We have plenty of guys that can step and play in the AFL 22 - if Bryce needs structure and support around him more than he needs to find the pill at the MCG on a Saturday ... then I'd love our club to step up to that challenge and put the footy stuff onto the back-burner.

I like what Ross Lyon did with Harley Bennell. He put the human ahead of the footballer. That shows strength in my book.

We can cry about the trade being "overs" or not getting the best out of Bryce, but really he isn't the straw that's breaking our back. I hope the club just puts him first and helps him get on top of whatever is causing the big issue. Maybe the rest of the year in the SANFL is what he needs. He gets the benefits of the club structure and resources off the field, and the camaraderie of team mates from the SANFL players. I wouldn't mind our young midfielders learning from Bryce Gibbs.

Roast Bryce Gibbs