Bryce Gibbs

Squibbs is typical of carlton at the moment, a gun going forward but needs to work on his accountability defensively. He's learnt a lot from Nick Stevens.
Don't know what you are talking about here, last year he was used predominantly as a tagger before the end of the season and usually on high calibre opponents. It was used as sort of an apprenticeship for him i believe. Did a huge job on Adam Goodes, big job on Chad Cornes (although he was pretty much grounded by injury then), good job on Heath Shaw and a decent job on Van Berlo in a half after he had got about 30 possies in the first half. Don't really know what your talking about TBH. To my eye, for the last 2 years Carlton has really instilled accountability into him, playing as a defender then midfield tagger.

I can't remember seeing too many better players under 21 as Gibbs and Selwood. Rich looks a player as well.

An absolute tragedy for the Crows that he didn't go to them via the Father/Son rule. I think they missed out on him by 2 games. I believe that Ross Gibbs had played 198 SANFL games prior to 1990, which was the cut off.

Even as a Bomber supporter, the Crows Father/Son rule seems very unfair.

I can't remember seeing too many better players under 21 as Gibbs and Selwood. Rich looks a player as well.

An absolute tragedy for the Crows that he didn't go to them via the Father/Son rule. I think they missed out on him by 2 games. I believe that Ross Gibbs had played 198 SANFL games prior to 1990, which was the cut off.

Chris Judd says hello.

I dont really know the set-up of the SA father/son rule, but sounds a little bit unfair, surely it shouldve been 150 games as i think it is in the WAFL

It feels pretty unfair as a Crows supporter too :(

Absolutely love this kid, he's a machine. Gonna be an absolutely superstar, if he's not one already.

He had 91% effective possesions tonight. 2 clangers from 30 odd possessions that speaks for itself he is a gun..

It does speak for itself, it says Gibbs was all alone for the majority of the game, which he was. Even the best players(midfielders) will never get that sought of effectiveness, because it is too hard under pressure. Gibbs was under very, very little pressure down back last night.

I hand it to the guy for being very accurate with his disposal, but he still has to perform in the guts to win respect from anyone other than the Carlton fans. I saw him pull out of a head-on contest, similar to whats been posted on this thread. It's up to him whether he decides to become a hard player, if so he could be a good midfielder.... if not he'll hang out the back and play that lose defender role for his careers duration. The latter, respect = 0.

Anyone who says Gibbs can't win contested ball (notably the guy above me) has got no idea.

I don't know how exactly they measure contested possessions but Gibbs is absolutely dynamite in the guts in the sense that he cannot be touched. He just finds space when there is none to be found and has this innane ability to make time move in slow motion (overboard maybe but you get the point I am trying to make). The only way he gets tackled is if he is static waiting for the ball to arrive from someone (even then he can't be brought to ground) but when he is moving with the ball very rarely does he get touched.

Just because he doesn't get tackled in the guts doesn't mean he can't win his own ball in there, do they measure contested ball only when you get tackled and get it away? That would explain it as he certainly did win the ball from plenty of contests last night.

An absolute gem of a player.

It does speak for itself, it says Gibbs was all alone for the majority of the game, which he was. Even the best players(midfielders) will never get that sought of effectiveness, because it is too hard under pressure. Gibbs was under very, very little pressure down back last night.

I hand it to the guy for being very accurate with his disposal, but he still has to perform in the guts to win respect from anyone other than the Carlton fans. I saw him pull out of a head-on contest, similar to whats been posted on this thread. It's up to him whether he decides to become a hard player, if so he could be a good midfielder.... if not he'll hang out the back and play that lose defender role for his careers duration. The latter, respect = 0.

I dare say Gibbs is playing the back half role, because it has designated to him by Ratten. In due respect to your opinion, I am sure the coach is more interested in playing Gibbs in a position that he thinks is going to be the most benefit for the team, rather than be worrying about whether it will earn Gibbs respect from opposition supporters because he is not playing as in and under midfielder ATM.

If you watched Gibbs last year, you will see that Ratten was confident enough in his hardness to play him in body on body positions, usually involving the opposition's better ball winners such as Goodes, Cornes and Shaw.

Excuse me for asking, am brand new to these boards which do seem a little intimidating to a newbie, and this is genuinely not meant to be inflammatory to Blues supporters, but what exactly was the rule that stopped Gibbs from playing for the Crows? I know his old man Ross Gibbs played a bucketload of games for Glenelg (was it 250+ or so?). Not quite sure what the point of this thread is. I remember a few years back, in the season before he was drafted at #1, and all the talk was about the Bryce Gibbs Cup, the playoff for bottom of the ladder. He was always heading towards being a genuine star with the raps he got as a junior.

We systematically rorted the salary cap between 1994-2001, we then tanked for the next 5 years....sorry wrong thread:eek:

:eek:

http://www.pro-stats.com.au/psw/web/player_profile?pid=2007028

according to prostats he made 10 errors for the game last week, which sounds about right bc from memory he had an efficiency rating of 60-65%.

you like dem apples you silly prick?

Your using a one off site that's stats not only differ from most other sites out there, but differ from the official afl website! The AFL website lists Gibbs as having 30 possessions whilst your site lists him as getting 29 - they can't even get something simple as a possession count right! Not to mention a discrepency between free kicks against Gibbs. As well as that, your site spells "clearances" wrong, and their contested possessions and uncontested possessions don't even add up to the total possessions. Really credible stats site you've provided mate :rolleyes:

Funny thing is, Murphy had 88% efficiency & Hadley 85% efficiency last night. Would you have us believe they were also all alone for most of the game? Or was it that they just used the ball well in traffic, as did Gibbs?

BTW, if you did actually watch the game last night, you would have noted that Gibbs was in the centre square for the majority of centre bounces & was not playing "down back" as you suggest. Some people are so blinkered they really should be seeking some vision aids.

just my opinion but i believe that no body in the comp is better than gibbs at the following skills of the game:
-creating space for teammates
-peeling off his man and finding space
-smothering
-tackling (in terms of quality not quantity)

while i also believe he is elite in the following categories of the game:
-evasiveness
-clearance work
-kicking
-decision making
-ability to seemingly slow time when he has the ball

however i think the following areas of his game need to improve a lot for him to be considered an elite player:
-fitness
-upper body strength
-contested marking
-carrying the ball

it doesn't concern me in the slightest that he rarely uses his left foot because he's one of the few players in the comp who can kick with his right beautifully even if he's off-balance and is so nimble and smart he often allows himself to wheel onto a position where he can use his right boot. the fact that he is getting little attention from the opposition is the only reason why he is winning so much uncontested ball but once he does start receiving more attention make no mistake he is extremely capable of winning ball in contested situations and then make his opponents all look stupid by coming out of the pack with apparent ease. he'll neevr have blistering pace or a great leap but a time of 2.91 seconds for 20m is pretty good anyhow. if i could pick one player under 21 to have in my team for the next 10 years i'd pick gibbs without even thinking twice.

Your using a one off site that's stats not only differ from most other sites out there, but differ from the official afl website! The AFL website lists Gibbs as having 30 possessions whilst your site lists him as getting 29 - they can't even get something simple as a possession count right! Not to mention a discrepency between free kicks against Gibbs. As well as that, your site spells "clearances" wrong, and their contested possessions and uncontested possessions don't even add up to the total possessions. Really credible stats site you've provided mate :rolleyes:

what a pissweak response, you get pwn3d!!1 and then have a sook about the stats, lol@you. You are canning something you clearly have NFI about.

also noted this morning that Voss talked about going head to head with Judd-Power and looking at stifling his lieutenants like Murphy and Simpson, noticed he didnt mention Gibbs :eek:

seems the common theme here is Gibbs is used as the release man out of defence and opposition coaches are happy to allow him to run free to play that role. They cant all be wrong too, gibbs hurt factor is not nearly as much as you bluebagger batty boy's like to think...

just my opinion but i believe that no body in the comp is better than gibbs at the following skills of the game:
-creating space for teammates
-peeling off his man and finding space
-smothering
-tackling (in terms of quality not quantity)

while i also believe he is elite in the following categories of the game:
-evasiveness
-clearance work
-kicking
-decision making
-ability to seemingly slow time when he has the ball

however i think the following areas of his game need to improve a lot for him to be considered an elite player:
-fitness
-upper body strength
-contested marking
-carrying the ball

it doesn't concern me in the slightest that he rarely uses his left foot because he's one of the few players in the comp who can kick with his right beautifully even if he's off-balance and is so nimble and smart he often allows himself to wheel onto a position where he can use his right boot. the fact that he is getting little attention from the opposition is the only reason why he is winning so much uncontested ball but once he does start receiving more attention make no mistake he is extremely capable of winning ball in contested situations and then make his opponents all look stupid by coming out of the pack with apparent ease. he'll neevr have blistering pace or a great leap but a time of 2.91 seconds for 20m is pretty good anyhow. if i could pick one player under 21 to have in my team for the next 10 years i'd pick gibbs without even thinking twice.

LMFAOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO :D:D:D:D:D

:eek:

also noted this morning that Voss talked about going head to head with Judd-Power and looking at stifling his lieutenants like Murphy and Simpson, noticed he didnt mention Gibbs :eek:

Judd won us the match while Voss had Power going head to head with him. It wasn't the only midfield match up he got wrong last night that he didn't admit to this morning.

what a pissweak response, you get pwn3d!!1 and then have a sook about the stats, lol@you. You are canning something you clearly have NFI about.

seems the common theme here is Gibbs is used as the release man out of defence and opposition coaches are happy to allow him to run free to play that role. They cant all be wrong too, gibbs hurt factor is not nearly as much as you bluebagger batty boy's like to think...

Well, let Gibbs play free in round 15 and we will beat you by 83 points again:thumbsu:

Im just saying, dont rate Gibbs at your own risk.

...and didn't that plan work out beautifully for Brisbane? :D

Have a look at the ladder Tony. Gibbs helped put Carlton on top. Not down with your black and yellow dregs.

i think you will find that everyone at carlton would be delighted if the spotlight remained off gibbs.
as for the quality posters who clearly havent even watched a carlton game... im not sure where to start
he gets cheap kicks off half back... yet hes in the top 10 in the alf for centre clearances, 2 shy of judd and ablett who are tied for 3rd
afls crappy website has him and 2nd in the league for inside 50s with 14 in 2 games, thats a fair effort for somebody sitting in our defensive 50 racking up cheap possies

i see so many people saying they think murphy is the better of the 2, yet statistically gibbs has him covered in almost every category... even the ones you'd expect murph to dominate

seeing centre bounces with kruezer, gibbs, murphy and judd lining up in the square delighted carlton fans. we were calling for him to throw gibbs into the guts all year but he persisted with the defensive jobs all year. now it seems ratts believes hes ready and if opposition clubs let him run, theyll get gibbs'd
next time you people find yourself watching a carlton game, take note of whos directing traffic whenever theres a bounce. ill wager its that soft guy that racks up cheap possies in the back half and isnt accountable defensively

His body structure is very impressive. Very strong and well built for his age. Can play on all sized midfielders. He will be a superstar of this competition.

Quite simply - a GUN !

Had way too much focus on him when he arrived at Carlton, and he seems liberated now that he can just concentrate on his footy.

Is progressing very nicely, and looking forward to seeing him become a quality 200+ game player for the Blues

Bryce Gibbs