Mr Ripper

Pink-cheeked and robust
Dec 21, 1999
Far North Fitzroy
Brisbane Lions
Fitzroy FC
And that is...if the Lions knock off the Pies at the G today, the Lions WILL make the Grand Final.

Of course, if the unthinkable happens and the Maggies actually get up (an outcome I'm not really contemplating), then it's right back to the ol' drawing board for my mob!

*BS = Big statement...not what you're all thinking! ;)

Originally posted by Mr Ripper

No... I reckon it's closer to the BS that first impressions would have given. ;) :p :D

For the record, I think Brisbane will win today, and with their good run of home games in the remaining 7 rounds, will almost certainly finish in the top 4, but they will still have to face either Essendon, Carlton or the Kangaroos in a Preliminary Final, and that won't be so easy. :D :D :D

Well Rip, I had the Lions 2nd in my pre-season ladder. If they are good enough to finish there, it will go a long way to them making the big one. A win in the first week (if they were to finish 2nd) would virtually assure them a start in the Grand Final, with a weeks rest and a home Preliminary Final.

Huwwo Wipper.

Well I think the Lions will kick butt today.

Hey man, are ya going to the game??

If you are, can ya yell for me.
Give BEAUtiful Beau and Browny the STUD MUFFIN a woo hoo for me.

ONYA MATE YOUR A CHAMP ;)

cheers...

Beautiful Beau?

Tall, lanky...oh so beautiful*cough*

They win a few games, and Brissie think they are all that...the maggies will do your lot today, and you will continue your trememdous form in Melbourne.

Don't forget Hawthorn or Carlton, we may have lost a few lately...but still dangers

;)

The Hitman

Originally posted by windyhill
I have the Ess/Bris G.F quinella for heaps,these two teams have the best lists,of course they have to win here consistently,should be a good game.

That'd have to be the 3rd year in a row you've had that bet on wouldn't it Windy?!

If the lions do get a home final how good will the investment in paying melbourne to transfer a home game have been.

-But I still think thier campaigns will go the way of the others if Voss becomes injured. I think the is the most important player to his team in the AFL, even though the lions have improved in other areas.

Originally posted by Pessimistic
If the lions do get a home final how good will the investment in paying melbourne to transfer a home game have been.

Spot on Pess. Clever strategy by the AFL isnt it. The AFL has invested a LOT of money into developing AFL in Qld, which all began with the Brisbane Lions merger. When it comes to sport Qld'ers are very different to Victorians. Vic's just love sport, win, lose or draw - it's instilled into us from birth - its the atmosphere, the thrill of competition etc etc that we thrive on. Qld'ers are 'theatre goers' just after some entertainment for a few hours, why sit and watch a losing match when you could be elsewhere enjoying the sunshine? This is why you'll find that Qld'ers only follow sports when they're home sides are winning, the Bronco's, Qld Reds, the Bulls, the State of Origin side. At the moment, all these sides are the best thing since sliced bread - everywhere you look they're being shoved down your throats. I bet if I went down the Mall right this second and asked who the Bullets or the Strikers were, I'd be lucky to find a third who could tell me - WHY? because they arent successful, people just don't care.

The AFL still has an untapped market up here in QLD - what better way to get people into the game than giving Bris some concessions, get them winning games at home and give them a home final????

Also, on another note consider this - perhaps the AFL don't want 4 Vic teams to finish in the top 4, that would mean 2 games at both Colonial and the MCG. The MCG can organise games at the last minute, can the same be said for Colonial?

First of all, it's the 1st, 2nd, 5th, and 6th teams that get home games in week 1. Chances are 3 of them will be Victorian, while another will be Brisbane or Port.

Even if all four games were held in Victoria, it would be 3 games at the MCG, and one at Colonial.

Friday night at the MCG, Saturday at the MCG, Saturday night at Colonial, and Sunday at the MCG.

On Brisbane, someone had to merge with Fitzroy, Brisbane stuck their hand up. While I am sure the AFL wantBrisbane to succeed for commercial reasons, I don't think it's a backroom conspiracy to get the Lions a flag or success. Sydney are the real winners of AFL concessions, and they seem more fickle then Brisbane people.

One away game has not got Brisbane to where they are, the likes of Voss, Black, and the coaching of Leigh Matthews have...

Sly77,

I think you have a pretty good point about Brisbane crowds, I agree. The real test on how footy in Brisbane is going will be when they're nearer the bottom... how will the crowds go then? You must remember though that the teams you named elicit very little loyalty in part because of their lack of history... these teams haven't existed very long. I think Brisbane Lions' biggest task is to develop the culture that exists in Melbourne, of supporting your team through thick and thin. Although that culture doesn't exist here in Brisbane, it is something that is possible.... given time. Without that loyalty, the worst case scenario is that if Brisbane have a few bad years, support will drop off so badly that the club may go belly-up.

As for your other points, not sure how much orchestration has gone on, and don't want to get into it, but I'd like to believe that it hasn't been.

Sbagman.

I think you have a pretty good point about Brisbane crowds, I agree. The real test on how footy in Brisbane is going will be when they're nearer the bottom... how will the crowds go then?
Stats from the Lions site:

Position: Last
Average Home crowd: 16,675 average.
Ground capacity for the first four home games was 22,000, after which it was reduced to 17,000 for the last seven. So the average capacity was 18,800 for the year.

Six games out of 11 were sold out.

Hard to draw any definite conclusions when the ground capacity was reduced, but its hard to say from those figures that Brisbane supporters stayed away in droves when the club needed them.

BoM,

Not sure what conclusion one can make from those figures. I think that was only one bad season though... it wasn't a prolonged period of failure, eg Fremantle in current times.

Sbagman.

Originally posted by windyhill

Yes indeed,a glutton for punishment me ! If they both get there this time a nice payout will be had
Especially if you put it on just before the Lions played Essendon, following a 70+ point loss to Carlton and a home loss to Adelaide and sitting at 4 wins 5 losses...

Originally posted by Mr Ripper
And that is...if the Lions knock off the Pies at the G today, the Lions WILL make the Grand Final.

Just been trawling through some old posts...thought this one was worth a second look! :D

BS* o' the week...