Buckley on the Couch's Interview of Brodie Grundy

People watch footy analysis for different reasons. Some love the technical stuff. Some just love the players.

I agree, but when interviewing a player post match I'd prefer Bucks to ask questions, rather than tell questions.

When it gets to the "one week at a time" cliche, you can tell someone has done a bad job

Markfs

Nov 13, 2008
Sydney Sweeney's Shaving Team...
Grundy clammed up because he knew the "coach" was right.

maybe ....probably.....

but when buckley was coach, would he have taken a different approach? Buckley isnt responsible for grundy's next game, anymore. He can be the analyst. He might be paid to be the analyst.

Markfs

Nov 13, 2008
I agree, but when interviewing a player post match I'd prefer Bucks to ask questions, rather than tell questions.

When it gets to the "one week at a time" cliche, you can tell someone has done a bad job

totally agree.... and yet lyon reconfigured it to be "good television" after the interview. The media is about viewers, clickbait etc. Money in pockets of media owners. That's the endgame.

maybe .. but we know grundy. maybe he's a special case. most players will take it as a fair comment. I think grundy respects too much what buckley thinks but he didnt burst out in tears. He just decided to clam up... not good for an interview and probably not good for a coach-player relationship - which was my point in the first place.
I don't think it's ever good when the interviewer starts with his perspective rather than trying to find out the interviewee's perspective.

Either get rid of Bucks and have someone suited to the blokey chat that they usually do or teach Bucks to interview. That might as well just be Bucks giving the expert opinion that we hear from commentators for three hours during the match, without Grundy there.

Markfs

Nov 13, 2008
I don't think it's ever good when the interviewer starts with his perspective rather than trying to find out the interviewee's perspective.

Either get rid of Bucks and have someone suited to the blokey chat that they usually do or teach Bucks to interview. That might as well just be Bucks giving the expert opinion that we hear from commentators for three hours during the match, without Grundy there.

its funny. evidently jack higgins was interviewed by fox and riewoldt was there and he was the person who said that higgins wasnt good in the first round..... and because they were together, it was laughed off....both backed off...

but I still think it's grundy's problem. having said that, I'm not sure if i wouldnt let mason cox, for example, be interviewed by buckley if the club wants to keep mason in a positive frame of mind. buckley does give a dose of reality and it may not always be the best medecine... which was the point of this thread.

ps rewoldt is a revered person at st kilda too...and it wouldnt have been lost on higgins that he would lose some friends if he didnt take it jovially.

Mar 16, 2022
I think the competition needs more of those honest discussions. Grundy’s response to the McRae/ Buckley question gives us nothing. I would love to hear his honest feedback and I for one would 100% have his back as would the entirety of the media if it were less than glowing toward Buckley. I think the industry is pretty tired of glib responses to questions that could bring forward discussion and I think Buckley would take it like a champ unlike most flogs in the media (specifically Cornes who has really stunk it up with Collingwood views over the past 6 months).
I don’t think honesty is going to be endorsed by the AFL media anytime soon.

Aug 29, 2005
I’m yet to hear him participate in an interview with McRae. Not sure if that’s a fox/sen/Buckley or club decision though.

In terms of his media work Buckley is very analytical and often provides a large context prior to asking a question. It’s a different approach to what we commonly see with a lot of media types who simply ask a question and I can see why that’s not for every listener.

You better go watch pre game interview round 1 then, he interviewed Mcrae with Lyon and Reiwoldt.

Aug 29, 2005
I think the competition needs more of those honest discussions. Grundy’s response to the McRae/ Buckley question gives us nothing. I would love to hear his honest feedback and I for one would 100% have his back as would the entirety of the media if it were less than glowing toward Buckley. I think the industry is pretty tired of glib responses to questions that could bring forward discussion and I think Buckley would take it like a champ unlike most flogs in the media (specifically Cornes who has really stunk it up with Collingwood views over the past 6 months).

Lol he completely dodged the question, his answer wasn't even remotely close to what was asked.

You better go watch pre game interview round 1 then, he interviewed Mcrae with Lyon and Reiwoldt.

This is all that concerns me from that interview and I believe it. The rest is just noise.

When asked if there was a tinge of jealousy or regret after his exit last June, Buckley said he wanted to see the Magpies do well in 2022.

“I don’t know what the 22 Collingwood side is going to look like,” he admitted.

“I want to see them do well. There’s not one part of me that doesn’t want to see that.”

Markfs

Nov 13, 2008
Interesting symmetry or maybe its assymmetry between buckley's interviews with grundy and macrae.

Macrae gives bucks a big pat on the back for instilling great defence and then suggests that he is going to loosen it up a little.... and buckley walks away feeling good... i suuppose its all about framing your message to make it appealing to your listener...

over to you bucks...

The Magnificent Seven

Bucks Lockdown Beard, The Sherriff, Rrrooocccaaa
Jun 4, 2009
Just watched it and I reckon Brodie is just a bit tired of having to answer mundane questions with heavily Media-Department-Edited responses. He's finished a big game, his knee is killing him and he probably just wants to smash a Pizza and wash down a few Oxys before he sees the specialist.

Nothing to see here.

kittypurry

Oct 2, 2020
Sorry for the intrusion. I caught this interview and it was so painfully awkward. I came to your board just to see if any Pies supporters thought so as well.

From the smiling being wiped straight off Buckley's face when Lyon mentions Brodie is ready, to Buckley's overtly bitchy question, to Brodie stammering and sweating and repeating himself when asked about the new game plan.

Any truth to the rumour that Buckley was fired after Graham Wright discovered players like Brodie detested him as a coach and wanted him gone? If so, that would explain Buckley's overtly negative tone and Brodie's guilty energy.

Markfs

Nov 13, 2008
Sorry for the intrusion. I caught this interview and it was so painfully awkward. I came to your board just to see if any Pies supporters thought so as well.

From the smiling being wiped straight off Buckley's face when Lyon mentions Brodie is ready, to Buckley's overtly bitchy question, to Brodie stammering and sweating and repeating himself when asked about the new game plan.

Any truth to the rumour that Buckley was fired after Graham Wright discovered players like Brodie detested him as a coach and wanted him gone? If so, that would explain Buckley's overtly negative tone and Brodie's guilty energy.

Answer to all questions ....no.

Coaches are hired and fired for a variety of reasons. Chris Scott, for example, is charged with keeping the win rate high down at kardinia park so that the new grandstands are paid for....he's doing a good job and the focus might change to premierships once the club beds that in.

Aug 29, 2005
This is all that concerns me from that interview and I believe it. The rest is just noise.

When asked if there was a tinge of jealousy or regret after his exit last June, Buckley said he wanted to see the Magpies do well in 2022.

“I don’t know what the 22 Collingwood side is going to look like,” he admitted.

“I want to see them do well. There’s not one part of me that doesn’t want to see that.”

I also believe that. Was just saying he HAS interviewed fly.

I remember when he kicked 16 against South Melbourne in 1969.
Borrowed Dad’s transistor radio (usually used in the garage).
We drove to a park in East Malvern for a picnic & kick of the footy (Dad was working at Caulfield races that afternoon).
Couldn’t believe what I was hearing…seemed like every time we went forward…McKenna would lead/mark & kick the goal.
A great afternoon…topped off with ice cream & fish & chips that night.
I was King of the World!

Mar 16, 2022
I remember when he kicked 16 against South Melbourne in 1969.
Borrowed Dad’s transistor radio (usually used in the garage).
We drove to a park in East Malvern for a picnic & kick of the footy (Dad was working at Caulfield races that afternoon).
Couldn’t believe what I was hearing…seemed like every time we went forward…McKenna would lead/mark & kick the goal.
A great afternoon…topped off with ice cream & fish & chips that night.
I was King of the World!
I don’t think either Grundy or Buckley were alive back then

Leigh Matthews did in 1996. It is a little strange to hear their perspective at first, but you get used to it. Other than that, I don’t find anything wrong with it at all.

Matthews hates Collingwood never has anything good to say.