Coach Buckley steps down

I doubt ANY Pie fan wouldn't have wanted success for Nathan, for all the arguments, here, on the radio and at the pub. I reckon every single Pie fan wanted him to succeed - and he almost did.

The worst thing about this is Harvey is going to caretake the position, this is not good and would've been better if Nathan stayed out his contract for a transition to a worthy coach.

May or may not have already been revealed but me thinks GW and Anderson gave him the immediate tap on the shoulder, me thinks Nathan would've stayed on for the good of the transition and therefore the club.
Nathan would do whatever is best for the club.
The club no longer want him.

Nathan would do whatever is best for the club.
The club no longer want him.

If that is true then I imagine Nathan would've agreed with the sentiment of the club, personally for me it's worse having Harves in the chair for the development of the players and the game.

If that what the club wants then that's what the club wants.

I find it highly amusing that people are judging Harvey negatively. Based on what? How would anyone know?

This might have something to do with it, although I tend to agree and am guilty of pre judging - but this is hard to ignore.

1623245618740.png

If that is true then I imagine Nathan would've agreed with the sentiment of the club, personally for me it's worse having Harves in the chair for the development of the players and the game.

If that what the club wants then that's what the club wants.
If?
What do you think today was about?
Clearly the club no longer want him around.

If?
What do you think today was about?
Clearly the club no longer want him around.

Well that's speculation Jmac unless you can link that the club told him he had to leave immediately (after next game).

I don't know either way, but if the club asked him to see out his contract and he didn't then there must've been very good reasons he declined that OR he basically said 'ok then if I'm not renewed at the end of this year then I'm out now' :shrug:

Well that's speculation Jmac unless you can link that the club told him he had to leave immediately (after next game).

I don't know either way, but if the club asked him to see out his contract and he didn't then there must've been very good reasons he declined that OR he basically said 'ok then if I'm not renewed at the end of this year then I'm out now' :shrug:
If the club wanted him to see out the season, then that is what he would have done.
It’s pretty clear that wasn’t the case.

You would think this would kill off Browns board push. After all he can no longer be the agent of change when so much within the club will have changed over the course of this year. Maybe the board let it be known to Bucks he would not be resigned in order to ward off a challenge from the Brown ticket

I smell a richmond style failed board takeover that leads to a dynasty, or at least hope so.

Watch Buckley go to another club in a few years and coach a flag
Setting aside the obvious fishing here, it will be genuinely fascinating to see what he does next. He'll have his pick of assistant roles and media jobs, and will undoubtedly smash whichever of those he chooses. Another senior role might be less of a sure bet but he could probably get one if he wanted

Clarkson looking most likely in my opinion, lets face it, he's gone after next year a his contract is up and that moron Kennett has been looking to get rid of him for the best part of 10 years, I think a mutual parting of ways would hardly upset Hawthorn and Clarko could pretty much walk in to the job if he wants it.

For job security and a new challenge it's really a no brainer for Al and my money is on him. ($4 on sportsbet) (Gamble responsibly)

No it wasn't. It was a hypothetical and everything he said was true. Lyon would be nuts not to consider the role. He will consider it too, but interestingly, thinks Clarkson should be the number one man for the Collingwood hierarchy.
I found it embarrassing.
I did agree with Lyon though. Clarko should be our target.

Watch Buckley go to another club in a few years and coach a flag
Someone will offer him another gig if he wants it; unlike Voss that offer will come sooner. While I cannot see him going down the assistant coach route at this time I reckon he'd make a great footy manager and would love to see him in that role at Collingwood in a decade from now. He's also astute enough to hold a board position, again another role I'd love to see him in at Collingwood in a decade or so.

I say a decade, because we need to give the new coach space to breathe and also for Buckley to have some time separation.

I found it embarrassing.
I did agree with Lyon though. Clarko should be our target.
It wasn't great, but a proper McGuire pitch would include glossy pictures, graphics and video. He'd have all the stats and future vision charted and outlined. Wine and dine with players and influential Collingwood figures. For a better example look how he put together his Tassie proposal a few weeks ago.

Someone will offer him another gig if he wants it; unlike Voss that offer will come sooner. While I cannot see him going down the assistant coach route at this time I reckon he'd make a great footy manager and would love to see him in that role at Collingwood in a decade from now. He's also astute enough to hold a board position, again another role I'd love to see him in at Collingwood in a decade or so.

I say a decade, because we need to give the new coach space to breathe and also for Buckley to have some time separation.
You'd like to see him at Collingwood in a decade or so! You're obviously considerably younger than me. What he does in ten years time is of little consequence to me.

Wonder if you guys will go for Caracella? Had success at Geelong and Richmond. Has had an impact with our ball movement and midfield performance.
Would hate to lose him, but think he’s ready for the next step.
He was a former assistant coach here, but I thought Caracella had previously come out and said he wasn’t interested in being a senior coach. That may be the reason he is never brought up as a contender for coaching vacancies. But would love him back at the club as an assistant.

Coach Buckley steps down