buckley

• Thread starter Thread starter smooking39

What if Buckley stayed at Brisbane, they might have not gotten lappin black, power and akermanis, anyone smart enough to think about that, what happened happened, no point saying bucks should of stayed with brisbane

We still would've got them all, maybe just a bit harder to retain them all :thumbsu:

I think his demeanour in his younger years at Collingwood also adds his dislike. Admittedly Collingwood were shit at the time and he was clearly Collingwood's best player, but some of the beratings he gave his fellow team mates for not being as good as him lead many to believe he was a cnut.

No matter how many kicks he got or how many pin point passes he delivered, in years to come Buckley will be remembered for a few unsavoury incidents. Pie fans can try to rewrite history all they like, but whats done is done.

Unfair ? No.

WTF?

What unsavoury incidents!?

I think most will remember him as a champion brownlow medallist.

I think his demeanour in his younger years at Collingwood also adds his dislike. Admittedly Collingwood were shit at the time and he was clearly Collingwood's best player, but some of the beratings he gave his fellow team mates for not being as good as him lead many to believe he was a cnut.

Yep, heard that too :thumbsu:

A tad overrated in terms of being a good captain....couldn't get his team over the line when it mattered. Apart from barking instructions, never saw anything that would make me rate him as a captain.

By his own admission he was an arrogant bitch when he was younger, which is what turned him into a hated man. He thought that he was gods gift to football, and the greatest thing that ever happened was when Brisbane won 3 in a row beating Collywobbles twice! Fantastic.
Got a little respect for him now.

By his own admission he was an arrogant bitch when he was younger, which is what turned him into a hated man. He thought that he was gods gift to football, and the greatest thing that ever happened was when Brisbane won 3 in a row beating Collywobbles twice! Fantastic.
Got a little respect for him now.

Whew! He'll sleep better tonight

Still a bit cut about losing those Grand Finals are we.... I can understand that, and of course your angry since you follow the most hated club in the whole competition.
Am very impressed that you managed to string a sentence together though.

Still a bit cut about losing those Grand Finals are we.... I can understand that, and of course your angry since you follow the most hated club in the whole competition.
Am very impressed that you managed to string a sentence together though.

mmm... Not sure if that was necessary.

I find it amazing the response both Buckley and Collingwood get on these pages.

The guy is a champion. If you have no respect for him as a player then I actually pity you as hatred seems to rule your life. Get therapy people!!

I cant wait for the day figjam retires...a mercenary player if ever there was one. At least the sook Rocca had his mummy to return to when he left Sydney....The only consolation is that he was never going to win a premiership with the Pies...he should have stayed with the better team...I still haven't stopped laughing at Lynchie and Grease Shaw in the GF ....

I rest my case

*You are a w***er* CLAP-CLAP, CLAP-CLAP ,CLAP

That blood incident a few years back didn't help his cause, but in latter years he's been a model player, captain and ambassador for the game. His determination and professionalism to get back on the park in time for the finals this year was inspirational.

However, it looks like he's going to have to make do with his 1992 SANFL premiership medal.

That blood incident a few years back didn't help his cause, but in latter years he's been a model player, captain and ambassador for the game. His determination and professionalism to get back on the park in time for the finals this year was inspirational.

However, it looks like he's going to have to make do with his 1992 SANFL premiership medal.

And even then he has angered the Port Adelaide faithful by making a few snide comments about Port.

I think the fact that they gave him the nickname FIGJAM when he was there explains a lot of it.

He even admits he was up himself early in his career and that put people offside with him.

So true, my feelings changed towards him about 5-6 years ago, he really pulled his head in in this regard. Became far more humble.

From what i gather its not so much that he left brisbane but more in the way he did it. Am i correct?

Exactly. He basically said he was too good for them (they were struggling at the time) and he preferred to sit out the 92 season than go play with them. Then he realised he had no choice but to go there and demanded terms that included him playing for them for only one season and then they had to find a suitable trade for him. This is coming from an AFL debutante! I think they were hoping he'd change his mind but he obviously couldn't see them winning anything and he wanted out. It was definitely his FIGJAM attitude that lost him a lot of respect. No doubt he's a champion player though.

No he wanted to go to Collingwood.
The team he left doesn't exist.

This is where it gets a little hazy and it seems that history has been rewritten over the last decade & a half...

1st of all, Buck's leaves Brisbane because he wants to play finals (can't deny that one since he said it on TV).
No wait...Brisbane & Bucks had a deal that he would be traded after the 1st year all along.
No wait...he left because he wanted to play football & live in Melbourne (the city).
No wait...he left because he wanted to play for Collingwood and only Collingwood.

Now, according to Pies fans....Bucks went to Brisbane only because they had agreed to trade him to C'wood after 1 year.

People forget the incident with Cameron Ling where he smeared his blood on him, such a dog act...

So true, my feelings changed towards him about 5-6 years ago, he really pulled his head in in this regard. Became far more humble.
lol he sure did start pulling his head in! So much so that Barry Hall started calling him "Turtle" on the footy field.

very true
know from a relative who played at the time at collingwood, he was exactly that...unbelievable arrogance and little respect towards his teammates
however he improved dramitcally, some say tania calmed him down
and is now one of the most liked at the club
i have a lot of respect for him and would call him a champion:thumbsu:

This is where it gets a little hazy and it seems that history has been rewritten over the last decade & a half...

1st of all, Buck's leaves Brisbane because he wants to play finals (can't deny that one since he said it on TV).
No wait...Brisbane & Bucks had a deal that he would be traded after the 1st year all along.
No wait...he left because he wanted to play football & live in Melbourne (the city).
No wait...he left because he wanted to play for Collingwood and only Collingwood.

Now, according to Pies fans....Bucks went to Brisbane only because they had agreed to trade him to C'wood after 1 year.

But that's exactly what happened. (And I'm no pie fan! ;)). Buckley was so arrogant he sat out a complete year of playing footy at AFL level because he thought he was too good for Brisbane. When it was apparent he would still have to go to them the following year, he agreed only on the proviso they would on-trade him the following year to a Melbourne club. Brisbane clearly hoped he would change his mind. Clearly he didn't.

People forget the incident with Cameron Ling where he smeared his blood on him, such a dog act...

People forget that that incident was behind the play ling ran up and cheap shotted buckley with an elbow , buckley bleeding from the head (cuase of the dog act ling did ) angered grabbed lings jumper and wiped his blood on it and said "if im going off so are you". Now it was a bad decision as its disgusting but ling never copped it for being a dirty ****ing sniper cuase of that incidnet.

There was no deal for Buckley to go to the pies after a year in Brisbane.
Events were:

- Buckley said he didnt want to play for Brisbane.
- Brisbane drafted him with the backing of the AFL (who want the integrity of the draft maintained)
- Buckley tried to get out of it.
- The AFL threatened to not let Buckley play AFL for two years if he didnt go.
- Buckley relented, but only signed the minimum contract at the time (1 year).
- During that year, Brisbane tried desperately to entice him to stay. Offered him a big extension.
- After the year, Buckey told brisbane to trade him or he would leave and enter the draft. (brisbane didnt have 1st pick).
- Brisbane got offers from Collingwood and North. Both heavily in favour of the melbourne clubs because they knew buckley was leaving anyway.
- Brisbane reluctantly took the Collingwood offer for a small group of journey-men fringe players the best of which was Starcevich.
- The AFL realised their draft had been compromised (Player decided what club he wanted to go to, and the club paid well under market value for him), so brought in tougher rules. Eg. first contract is 2 years, relocation allowances, etc.

Buckley and Collingwood rorted the system, but the system ultimately screwed them back because their actions indirectly led to a closure of the rort and Brisbane went on to win 3 flags, and Buckley went on to be a regarded as an "arrogant blood-smearing mercenary who never saw a flag" by everyone outside collingwood. Starcevich went on to become a well regarded coach under Leigh Matthews (also ex-collingwood).

It has an almost fairy-tale poetry about it.