jonbe54

A lengthy article on our Captain in the Melbourne Age

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...-leader-than-captain-cool-20140704-zswd2.html

"I reckon I capped my career and players cap what they could become by putting too much pressure and too much stress on themselves," Buckley said in an extensive interview with Sunday Age columnist Matthew Lloyd last week.

"A guy that stands out to me is Scott Pendlebury, as there's no greater competitor or bloke who has a will to win and to perform than 'Pendles', but his manner is so even and he's a fantastic leader to have around the place.

"I would have loved to have played like that, and I would have loved to have had a role model around like that, and I'd like to think that in my position I can help guys see that - and 'Pendles' is definitely going to do that by action. I want guys to see and to feel that you can still succeed and be elite without having to whip yourself every time you put a foot off the beaten path."

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...aptain-cool-20140704-zswd2.html#ixzz36WtXgijF

No bout a doubt it ;)

Captain cool.

Its a good article, providing as much insight into Bucks as it does into Pendles.

I was one of those - idiots - who had questions about Pendles assuming the captaincy. Cant believe how wrong I was.

Its a good article, providing as much insight into Bucks as it does into Pendles.

I was one of those - idiots - who had questions about Pendles assuming the captaincy. Cant believe how wrong I was.

I too questioned Pendles, I thought he was too meek and mild, I prefer a fire breather, but he's getting the job done isn't he:)

I was one that reserved judgement - neither on on the bandwagon or questioning. His performance onfield has actually lifted and he's done the job so far in the captaincy stakes.

It happens to the best of us.

And bad mistakes, I've made a few.....

Good thread J54. I think the players / club have done a great job choosing the last two captains. Not many supporters would have gone that way- especially the Maxwell choice.

I think it shows those that run the joint generally have a better grasp on things.....than me anyway.

Good thread J54. I think the players / club have done a great job choosing the last two captains. Not many supporters would have gone that way- especially the Maxwell choice.

I think it shows those that run the joint generally have a better grasp on things.....than me anyway.
Agreed for me also g4f - looking at Maxwell and Pendlebury side by side you could hardly hope to find more polemic examples of captainly leadership.

One with a limited skill set but a heart and desire unmatched in my experience and the other and out and out champion.

Apparently the club has captainly criteria that embraces a broad spectrum of human experience and attributes :thumbsu:

I was talking to my old man a few weeks back (we're both born and bred Collingwood men) and I said to him, "who's the best Collingwood player you've ever seen?" After a few moments he replied, "Bucks." (and he has personalised plates commemorating Darren Millane - number 6, such was his fanfare of him.)

I thought for a moment, because I was born in 1990 and have seen a bit of Bucks' playing days in my life.

I said to dad, "my memories of Bucks only start around the time I turned 10 when footy genuinely became a huge fixture in my life, more so than cartoons and video games. But even then, we lost two grand finals in a row to the Lions around that time, and I'm blocking that out of my memory. From then, we were only competitive for a few years up until Buckley retired, so I never had the chance, unfortunately to see him playing well, without injury, in a reasonably good side. I'd have to say Pendles is the best player I've seen."

To which dad said, "Neck and neck mate. He definitely made me think about it and probably by the end of his career, my opinion will have changed. He's an absolute champion."

It's conversations like this that make me realise I'm witnessing something special. There have been some high Collingwood times in my life and there will probably be some pretty extreme lows to come. But I refuse to take for granted what I get to see week in week out, in Pendlebury's footy. He's a Rolls Royce, there is no one like him and I am so thankful to be a Collingwood supporter.

Good story Ricky90, but don't worry - Scharenberg will be another one!

I'm no expert or have a crystal ball obviously, but I remember having the exact same feeling about Pendlebury back in late '07 early '08. More so than Daisy or any other high end draft picks from that time.

It's conversations like this that make me realise I'm witnessing something special. There have been some high Collingwood times in my life and there will probably be some pretty extreme lows to come. But I refuse to take for granted what I get to see week in week out, in Pendlebury's footy. He's a Rolls Royce, there is no one like him and I am so thankful to be a Collingwood supporter.

Hi Ricky, I have to point out that you REALLY ARE witnessing something special, with Pendles and this generation of Pies players, plus top quality club administration. There are many of us on here who have lived through worse, much worse. If you ever hear Des Tuddenham talk about how the club was run in his day (captain in the 1960s and early 1970s), he is scathing. We had some top end talent then too, but were poorly managed. Tuddy was incredibly tough as well, would run through brick walls for the club. Haven't seen his like in a while, but I appreciate the outstanding athletes and footballers we currently have. Heading towards 8 (?) straight finals series is an outstanding effort, and never underestimate how hard that has been. Rant and lecture over!

I would hope that those who criticise club, players and coaches for every mistake or loss are from a younger generation who dont know what it's like to support a club that would regularly shoot itself in the foot. I must admit that I have no time for people who complain about small issues or argue about silly little things. My sole focus is supporting the team to win a premiership. It seems to me that a lot of people want to bignote themselves by predicting players who are going to make it or what decisions are right or wrong. I dont give a crap about these things. They are funny little side stories to the only thing that really matters in this sport and that is winning a premiership. Unfortunately our history is littered with outstanding efforts like making finals for years on end. Does it really mean anything? Premierships are hard to win. You need to do everything right and have a lot of luck. I dont curse when the ball bounces the wrong way but I'm not impressed when someone at the club lets the club down in some way by not doing their job. As far as I can see, the current people involved are doing all they can to win a premiership. They will continue to have my support until they are shown to be not good enough. I would hope that at that stage, they would then stand aside and support the next person taking over the wheel. As George W Bush said, you're either with us or against us...

I was talking to my old man a few weeks back (we're both born and bred Collingwood men) and I said to him, "who's the best Collingwood player you've ever seen?" After a few moments he replied, "Bucks." (and he has personalised plates commemorating Darren Millane - number 6, such was his fanfare of him.)

I thought for a moment, because I was born in 1990 and have seen a bit of Bucks' playing days in my life.

I said to dad, "my memories of Bucks only start around the time I turned 10 when footy genuinely became a huge fixture in my life, more so than cartoons and video games. But even then, we lost two grand finals in a row to the Lions around that time, and I'm blocking that out of my memory. From then, we were only competitive for a few years up until Buckley retired, so I never had the chance, unfortunately to see him playing well, without injury, in a reasonably good side. I'd have to say Pendles is the best player I've seen."

To which dad said, "Neck and neck mate. He definitely made me think about it and probably by the end of his career, my opinion will have changed. He's an absolute champion."

Interesting comparison.
To me there is no question Bucks was the better footballer. He had everything.
Pendles will be the better captain though no doubt, and Bucks himself has indicated why in the article.
Cool heads win premierships I'm convinced of that and who better than to lead the team than Pendles.

As a few have said, the club has not always been so well run, particularly through the lat 60's through the 70's as well. We had some incredible players but lacked that killer punch in the close mauls that finals were in those days. That comes down to player development, fitness staff and the coaching panel, which in those days were pretty woeful to be honest. A number of times we got ourselves in winning positions only to fade badly in the second half.

Pendles is a bit of a departure from the average Collingwood captain, most have been pretty intense, the same goes for coaches. I imagine it's accomodating a more inclusive era that we live in.

Bucks ahead of Pendles for me, but Pendles the second best Pies player in my 25 years of properly watching footy.

It's been a great era for individual great players as well as team success with Buckley, Swan and Pendlebury. If you put together an all-time Collingwood team, all three definitely would be in it, which is amazing when you consider the players we've had over the journey.

Great story mate, I'm only a couple a couple of years older than you but I would have to say as good as Pendles is in my opinion Bucks is and always will be the better player. He was as dominant as they come in what was an ordinary side, I would have loved to have seen him play in a side like our 2010 team where the focus isn't only on him.

Buckley was a better kick, mark and had bigger impact on games, Pendles has better evasiveness. Both are big game players. My old man says bucks is our best and most complete player that he has ever seen, I'm happy to take his word for it.

Both are/will be Collingwood greats but Bucks is on top of the tree and as good as Pendles is Buckley was once in a generation!

Daicos was a magician, and ultimately its a matter of personal opinion, but I personally can't see how you could have him above either Pendles or Buckley as an overall footballer. And I say that with Daicos having been my hero through the late 80s and early 90s.