Buddy

There is a Bloke called Boutcher(sp?) going next year who is probably as good as Watts.

I think his name is Butcher, and yes, he is meant to be a great KP forward prospect.

I think there are a few good KP forward prospects in this draft. Melbourne should go for one of them with their PP or pick 19. I think they all have good capabilities, although maybe they aren't as complete as Watts currently. Cahill is an example of this.

I would hope we draft Nait or Rich with our #1 pick, as there is depth in KPF in this draft, and I feel they would be better for the club and its future than Watts. However, Watts is still a good player, so any of the 3 will be good for us.

I think his name is Butcher, and yes, he is meant to be a great KP forward prospect.

I think there are a few good KP forward prospects in this draft. Melbourne should go for one of them with their PP or pick 19. I think they all have good capabilities, although maybe they aren't as complete as Watts currently. Cahill is an example of this.

I would hope we draft Nait or Rich with our #1 pick, as there is depth in KPF in this draft, and I feel they would be better for the club and its future than Watts. However, Watts is still a good player, so any of the 3 will be good for us.

Completely agree, as I've said in another thread the rucks who should be available at 17/19/35 are nowhere near Naitanui, the mids at those picks are nowhere near Rich, however the forwards at those picks are almost as good as Watts.

Therefore it makes sense to take Nait or Rich, as any one of Cornelius, Johnston, Cahill and Brown + others should be available at 17/19/35.

Also, imo Butcher >>>>>>>>> Watts.

how was leigh matthews saying buddy could be the greatest player he has ever seen? huge statement

I was born in 1980 so a bit hard for me to judge the greatest from past decades before my time but the players i would rate highest that ive seen play would be gary ablett snr followed by darren jarman and chris judd.

Buddy would have to up the ante in my view even more to get close to either of jarman judd let alone ablett.

Thoughts on the greatest players you have seen?

Far out I don't want to finish last again next year. Forget next years draft.
none of us want to finish last again but after watching melbourne against richmond id say its a huge possibility..having said that we have some of our best players to come back and we will be much better but most probably bottom 4

Good to see more Dees fans getting on the Natanui bandwagon.

For all those in the Watts camp, just remember - next year is going to be a very lean draft, and there's a fair chance we'll be getting a priority pick.

If we tell Watts we won't select him at pick 1, he won't nominate for this years draft.

WE CAN PICK HIM UP NEXT YEAR ANYWAY

There won't be as much talent to choose from next year. We can put Watts on layby by telling him we're taking NicNat. We can then get BOTH PLAYERS ANYWAY.

I think its more of a risk to NOT take Naitanui than it is to take him. Worst case scenario is that he's useless or goes home after a couple years. in either situation we will have lost a pick 1. Hardly then end of the world.

If he goes to another club and develops into the biggest star in the league - we will have lost the BEST PLAYER IN THE AFL.

IMO he's the only guy in this draft that has the potential to be the best player in the league. Why pass that up? Even if he goes bust, all we've lost is a pick. If we don't take him, we could lose the best player in the comp.

p.s. I don't rate Watts that highly. Young forwards are just as big a gamble as athletic freaks like NicNat - heaps of them are only good because they're playing against kids. At least with Naita we know he can play against guys his own size.

Look at the Hawks model.

1) Buddy best player of all time if he keeps going - Supposed risk
2) Rioli - Ditto Buddy

When you go the safe bet with the draft I think it does not allow you the chance to create a destiny. Sure it's risky. But isn't it more risky to put yourselves out of the hunt before you begin?

No offence, but NickNat will never be in the same class as Buddy.

Nicknat will be similar to Croad. It will take him 6-8 years before he plays at full capacity, and when he does, it will never be close to Buddy.

If I were Melbourne, I'd take Watts. The kid knows where to run and has a great pair of hands. Nicknat hasn't got the footy brain.

Watts > Nicknat now and 10 years down the track.

Finnally some sense!

Naita is the risk we need to take, we just cant pass on a potential Buddy if not better. I will be so angry if we take Watts, Just knowing 5 years from now Naita will be the new Buddy...

Dont be stupid Melbourne!!!!!!!!!! For ONCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Good to see more Dees fans getting on the Natanui bandwagon.

For all those in the Watts camp, just remember - next year is going to be a very lean draft, and there's a fair chance we'll be getting a priority pick.

If we tell Watts we won't select him at pick 1, he won't nominate for this years draft.

WE CAN PICK HIM UP NEXT YEAR ANYWAY

There won't be as much talent to choose from next year. We can put Watts on layby by telling him we're taking NicNat. We can then get BOTH PLAYERS ANYWAY.

I think its more of a risk to NOT take Naitanui than it is to take him. Worst case scenario is that he's useless or goes home after a couple years. in either situation we will have lost a pick 1. Hardly then end of the world.
I can handle that I suppose as he'll have an extra year of development and we will have a better idea of whether he'll sink or swim but we definitely need a forward gun.
_______

On a seperate note, it appears that we will be getting Warnock come rain, hail or shine so the big question is whether we need both Naita and Warnock? It would give us good ruck stocks and Naita and/or PJ will have more freedom but is it a bit of a luxury we don't need given how depleted we are over the ground? Warnock and Rich is not as dynamic as Warnock and Naita but is a lot more logical I would have thought. Are there any midfielders out there that we could get that has the capacity to be a gun? Blease gets tossed up a bit but is he just going to be another also ran because lets face it we need a GUN.

Finnally some sense!

Naita is the risk we need to take, we just cant pass on a potential Buddy if not better. I will be so angry if we take Watts, Just knowing 5 years from now Naita will be the new Buddy...

Dont be stupid Melbourne!!!!!!!!!! For ONCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Which would be great as long as he is still playing for Melbourne.

Buddy's from WA isn't he...doesn't look like he's going anywhere. If we treat interstate draftees well we're more likely to keep them. Losing Scott Thompson was unfortunate, but we can't think of him everytime we consider drafting from interstate.

Regarding the #1 pick, i'm still undecided. I like the thought of Nick Natanui though, on pure athleticism. One wonders though if we have the coaching capacity to be able to teach him finer points of the game. Seems like other clubs do, but we lack a little in this area. Others have mentioned if we get Warnock then we should not get Natanui. If we trade for him, i agree, as we will have lost a draft pick. However if we get him through the preseason draft, i'm happy with getting both. As we will have another draft to pick a forward/midfielder. There's no guarantee Warnock will develop any more than he has anyway. If we could snare another top 25 pick through trade, then that would be excellent as we can afford to take a risk on Natanui, as well have three other talented kids in the system.

Watts will take just as long anyway.
That may be true but the point with Watts is that he will help us get a structure together. Watts may take a while (like any draft pick) to develop personally but just having him up forward will help the rest of the team develop a game plan and grow an understanding. Also our midfield will hopefully gain more confidence with a genuine key forward to aim at. With Naita, sure he may be a freak but he isn't pivotal to a position that we need to fill. Naita is more a sleeping giant who could be a superstar in future years. Ok, we may be able to put him in a few different areas but with Naita it is about Naita. With Watts it is about the team. I'm not saying Naita is necessarily a bad choice but IMO he is external to our team/gameplan development compared to a KPF or even a gun mid like Rich. Naita would be more of an acquisition to the team where Watts or Rich would be important cogs in the machine.

Another thing, comparing Naita to Buddy is kind of pointless. Yes, both may be freaks but my question is - So what? Buddy is a Freak who roams around the most damaging part of the ground and has kicked over 100 goals this year. Naita is primarliy a ruckman and despite being athletic, would not do any where near the same damage against the opposition that Buddy does simply due to his position - a position that we can fill reasonably well with other ruck options. Now, if we played Naita up forward this changes the whole scenario dramatically. We would be trying to mould an athletic ruckman as a forward option which is in some ways against the point of getting him especially if other forwards were available. The most likely scenario I guess would be using Naita in the ruck then resting up forward intermittently but even then we have to make sure that we get that set up right because in the next few years we should be working on a pretty concrete plan of attack.

That may be true but the point with Watts is that he will help us get a structure together. Watts may take a while (like any draft pick) to develop personally but just having him up forward will help the rest of the team develop a game plan and grow an understanding. Also our midfield will hopefully gain more confidence with a genuine key forward to aim at. With Naita, sure he may be a freak but he isn't pivotal to a position that we need to fill. Naita is more a sleeping giant who could be a superstar in future years. Ok, we may be able to put him in a few different areas but with Naita it is about Naita. With Watts it is about the team. I'm not saying Naita is necessarily a bad choice but IMO he is external to our team/gameplan development compared to a KPF or even a gun mid like Rich. Naita would be more of an acquisition to the team where Watts or Rich would be important cogs in the machine.

Another thing, comparing Naita to Buddy is kind of pointless. Yes, both may be freaks but my question is - So what? Buddy is a Freak who roams around the most damaging part of the ground and has kicked over 100 goals this year. Naita is primarliy a ruckman and despite being athletic, would not do any where near the same damage against the opposition that Buddy does simply due to his position - a position that we can fill reasonably well with other ruck options. Now, if we played Naita up forward this changes the whole scenario dramatically. We would be trying to mould an athletic ruckman as a forward option which is in some ways against the point of getting him especially if other forwards were available. The most likely scenario I guess would be using Naita in the ruck then resting up forward intermittently but even then we have to make sure that we get that set up right because in the next few years we should be working on a pretty concrete plan of attack.

Well the thing with Naita is, he isn't necessarily a ruck either. He's more of a midfielder who happens to be able to leap over anyone in the AFL, so he also rucks.

I just think if we're being really ruthless we'll take Warnock PSD, Naita pick 1 and Watts next year.

Just watching some more highlights of Nicholas Naitanui and I am still unsold on him.

From what I saw he did have good ability as a ruckman to tap the ball to advantage aswell as absolutely thump it into the forward line from the center circle. His defensive pressure and second and third efforts were very good, he was also able to take a few contested grabs.

However I am still baffled at the non-existence of his skills when he has the ball, he kicks Jeff White hospital balls, almost comes to a complete stop when he has to bounce the ball when going for a gun and he has little to no evasive skills, he gets caught every time.

I don't understand why people are comparing Buddy and Naita. The risk involved with Buddy concerned his attitude whereas Naita hasn't grasped the basics of football:confused: They're worlds apart and the risk is far far greater on the latters behalf

Whilst I agree that he is more of a risk than Buddy, too much is made of his lack of football basics. You have to have some knowledge of the game to be considered a potential #1 pick and play seniors in the WAFL. People overstate this absense of fundamentals from his game. His kicking is one example, it just isn't as bad as its made out to be.

Sure, he doesn't have the same level of football knowledge as a Rich or Watts, but he has more potential and athletic ability than them. Its a trade off that needs to be considered by the club, however what works in his favour is that knowledge and skills can be built, whereas his level of athleticism cannot.

IMO Naita would be more of a Goodes style player than Buddy anyway.

That's my understanding. Really the only similarities between NicNat and Buddy is that they are huge, black and athletic. I reckon Watts is another Beau Dowler and should not go number one. If you want to play it safe, take Rich. He will be a gun, no doubt about it.

Having said that, I think you should take the punt on NicNat. Yeah it's a risk but not taking a bloke who goes on to be a marketing dream and top 5 player in the comp can set a club back psychologically for a long time (Richmond). With so many fickle supporters (not those on Bigfooty but you know it's true of many of your fans), Melbourne can't afford that.

IMO Naita would be more of a Goodes style player than Buddy anyway.
Pfft, guess we could take a two-time Brownlow medallist, premiership player if we have to.

BC, in reply to your post before - i can only think of Jared Brennan when I see Nic Nat, but my main reservation is the go home factor.

We took Jeff White from Freo and he went to fantastic with the Dees. Imagine the pain of letting a number 1 pick go home, then think about the gay docker mascot and i'd cry.

If we pick him or Watts, it won't make a lick of difference until our Midfield grows some testicles and gets some continuity.