Bulldogs v Tigers affairs

Eagles
Are the Bulldogs going too far with threats of sueing richmond? They are after all the team who admitadly goes out in groups and knocks around weaker players every game.

They are now responsible for scratching lions players, harassing eagles players to the point of being reported for verbal abuse(last year for abusing Gehrid) and now for the incident against Knights.

I think the bulldogs should just shut up and let it go. A wise man once said a real man walks away from a fight, lets see which team walks away first.

------------------
"I'm not going to waste my life trying to prolong it"

It's a bit late now, as it has already gone through the magistrate, but personally, I don't reckon we should be going ahead with the legal action, and would have rathered seen a simple retraction from Casey end the issue. Not that we wouldn't have a very strong case, just that it could draw on for ages, the end result financially may not justify the time wasted on the issue, and our administration should be concentrating on more important issues..... like celebrating wins against Brisbane
biggrin.gif

Don't know why you brought up the past incidents, as they are pretty irrelevant, considering the issue concerns defamation, as opposed to on-field misdemeanors.

As for roughing up Gardiner, Cousins and getting Gherig to smash an umpy because of 'verbal abuse' .... it's obvious that you're still getting worked up and angry thinking about the incidents.... so i'm happy
smile.gif

I wish people would get their facts right. Why are people blaming the bulldogs for Wayne Campbell lying. He admitted it, he either lied on 3AW or at the tribunal. Either way that still makes him a liar! Casey's outburst was just not on! All he had to do was apologise and the story ends there.

The only people that will benefit from all of this will be the lawyers like usual
rolleyes.gif

Whats the chances that the lawyers convinced the presidents that legal action was the best option...

Vis

I agree the issue should never have gone to court. Chairman/Presidents/CEO's for some reason beleive they are now the mouthpieces of their clubs. All these people actually employ Press Secretaries and Media Relation staff to handle all this stuff.

When they left it to those experts things didn't get blown up like this very often if ever. Perhaps the in your face presence of the Collingwood Chairman in recent years has prompted the others to think they to can be media savvy. Alas, Eddie is on his own there.

Having said that, Smorgan has never accused Campbell of lying, he merely pointed out the fact that he is a liar as Ted's Robot said.

Not quite. When did he call him a liar?

It was Wayne Campbell himself who used the words " I lied, but" (on Steve Price's afternoon Tigers Show), so you are blaming the wrong person.

A simple retraction from Casey would be enough to stop it going to court. If you need to, listen to Smorgon's comments on the afternoon he replied to Casey, and you will hear him for the umpteenth time state that neither he, Wallace or the Club condoned any off the ball behaviour. He had already said this on Talking Footy and 3AW's Sports Today, and Wallace on the Footy Show, all during the week prior to Casey's outburst.

You will find this to be reasonably accurate.QUOTE]Originally posted by JUBJUB:
Smorgon should drop his legal action and stop sooking.He was the one who accused Campbell of being a liar.
Most people would of forgotten about it but now Smorgon wants to drag it out through the courts.

[/QUOTE]