hilly

Nov 27, 2000
Frank Grey Smith Bar
Triple M commentary team
As you can probably tell I'm new to this board (thumbs up so far), so I hope I don't post a dud topic to start off with!

Anyway, I'm just wondering what everyone's thoughts are in regard to the best "bump", "hip and shoulder", "collision" , or whatever you want to call it, of 2000 (including ansett cup). The only requirement being that no suspension resulted from the action.

Despite being a North supporter, Jason Johnson's shirtfront on John Blakey in the Ansett Cup Grand Final was bone-crunching. Whilst it received some criticism in the press, it was just unfortunate that Blakey was in the wrong place at the wrong time, and did not sense what was coming his way.

Anyway, let us all know what you think

Yeah i know i harp on it, but it was my grand
final.

Once again dockers are copping a beating at the hands of the eagles.Its the 3rd quater and basically or last roll of the dice.

Mitchell white was carving us up across half forward.Bounce down on the wing and the ball is hurried forward.Two players from opposites side run for it.Both made a decision to take the other out, about 10 meters.Big mistake, there isn't many people that run into cook and live to tell the story.Crack white is down and streteched off.

Subsequently the dockers get a lift and go on to win, the most emotional game in the afl of the year

BRING ON 2001

yeah sabre

Troy Cook is one helluva tough character, has dished out some of the best shirtfronts I've seen over the last couple of years. He was pretty good when he played for the Swans, now he is back in the West and has bulked up considerably.

Now if he could just work on his disposal a bit he will be a champ for the Dockers for many years to come.

cheers

now i know everyone is going to scream at me for saying this but the hip and shoulder on simmonds by long in the grand final was a very bad one.
now i know people think it was an accident and all this bullshit but hey it was still bad and poor simmonds had to spent like a week at hospital getting scans and shit.
its not fare that long didn't get anything more than just 3 weeks seeing as this so called "incident" could have caused simmonds his career or even his walking ability or life!

dees for ****'s sake get over it
the guy can walk, he can play football, its happened, long got 4 weeks and has had his reputation ruined by the little sook

get over it, and get on with life
if melbourne had of won the gf you wouldnt be crying over it
stop being a sore loser

for what its worth j.johnsons bump on blakey was a clinker

"Bump(s)" the year would have to go to any match the "Hardy Boys" are involved. Or the massive bump by "Kanyon" from the top of the triple-decker cage.

Err...ah.... sorry guys, I just drifted off on to my favorite wrestling "bumps" of the year.
smile.gif

Sticking to football I would have to give the nod to Jason Johnson's bump on John Blakey on the Ansett Cup grand final.

look Walshy1993 i am not going to get OVER IT coz troy simmonds happens to be one of my favorite players, he is a wonderful guy and has never done any harm to anyone and he is the last person who deserves it! regardless of losing the gf (which stopped bugging me along time ago) i still see this so called "accidental bump" very serious and if Long got his reputation destroyed for a little while then he should have been more cautious and thought about what can happen because he has enought experience (don't know if he has enought brain though) to see the outcome of what he wanted to do.
so you stop being so careless and let me dwell over this bump for as long as i want
thank u!

------------------
you might no like it... but i don't care!
GO THE MIGHTY DEMONS!!! :)

Just getting back on the topic now, I agree with you Hilly. Jason Johnson's shirtfront on John Blakey was the best this year. Well, we might think it was the best but I'm sure John Blakey thinks differently. lol
smile.gif

BSA

Yeah his disposal leads allot to be desired.But it seems to improved, he kicked some excellent goals on the run from 50 out.

But he makes up for that flaw with his ability to clear the ball from the center and conjested areas.

Plus all the young kids on the list seem to walk around with there heads up and dont get intimidated as easily with the knowledge there mate cookie is backing them up.

He is the tough man we have been searching for.Every team needs one

We just got the added advantage that he can play.

Have to disagree with you, Fletch.

Although I do agree that Anthony Rocca gets the "Bump of the Year" award.

But the classic bump that wins Pebbles the prize was the one in Round 16, when he lined up Croad with the intention of knocking him into the middle of next year ... and collected Tarrant by mistake.

Just about summed up our year, I thought.

------------------
**floreat pica**

Well you can exclude dickhead lloyd from essendon this guy and other morons reckon he is a footballer.

YEAH RIGHT

'OH DONT HURT ME'

'OH DID U SEE THAT UMPIRE'

But then again i must remind my self he is only an essenscum turd!!

Lloyd put a nice bump on Brent Harvey in the qualifying final agnst North, Joffa, but I guess you have no reason to be watching finals games so you probably missed it
frown.gif

Other faves of mine this year:
Blumfeild on Camporeale rnd 20- left him on the deck for a good while looking dazed.

Also loved the collection of hits that the Dons inflicted on Haselby at Colonial. I almost felt sorry for Haselby when Solomon nailed him, and Haselby had to leave the ground for bit of a hurl
biggrin.gif

Originally posted by Olmy:
hahahah!!! Fartscray!! That's so plain stupid, it's the funniest thing I've heard in ages!

***Scratches head***

Olmy was that a compliment or a criticism?

Either way I can't take any credit for it since it was first thought up by one of the guys at Extreme Black and White.

Alfie, I remember cringeing when Pebbles took out Tarruntula in round 16, devastating stuff. But that Round 5 bump on Fartscray's captain and inspirational leader takes the cake. Although my friend who just happens to support the red, white & blue thought otherwise and it nearly caused a punch up in my backroom. I could have taken him!

Also to the Essendon fans do your players ever pick on anyone besides the kids of the AFL? i.e Haselby & Simmonds.

They sure do breed'em tough at Bomberland.

[This message has been edited by Magpie-Fletch (edited 04 December 2000).]

Yes it was that WayneKerr Troy Cook cheating and illegally bumping Mitchell White. His intention was to hurt White that was it. Dirty play from a dirty club. I hate the Dockers so badly because of that.

:-(

Originally posted by johnson:
Yes it was that WayneKerr Troy Cook cheating and illegally bumping Mitchell White. His intention was to hurt White that was it. Dirty play from a dirty club. I hate the Dockers so badly because of that.

:-(

What can i say.
That is one of the most stupid comment I have ever heard on this board.
Did he get suspended?No
Did he get reported?No

Both players 10 meters out decided to go for eachother.And White came off second best.
TOUGH LUCK
You hate the dockers cause you lost.And are going to continue to loose.Your club is on the slide and your looking for someone to blame

HA

C'mon Sabre. It was a dirty game and the umpires have a lot to answer for letting things go.
Look, the dockers are not hated because they beat the Eagles. They're hated because they are the Dockers. A second rate outfit that has yet to play a finals match. Now just cos the Eagles are not in the finals for one year don't mean anything. We'll be up there next season and the Dockers will be below us as has been the case for the vast majority of the dockers history. When your anchors get to play a final then perhaps you can have a little credibility in having a go at other sides but until then the Eagles are the pride of WA.
tongue.gif

Sabre
Why don't you have a bet with Frodo that the Dockers finish above them next year, I think your money will be safe. Eagles going down, Dockers going up.
Cheers

------------------
mantis

Oh give me a break

how tall is lloyd compared to harvey

thats just like me flattening a kid from kinder

pathetic pathetic pathetic

did yous all stand when dickhead lloydy did
that did yous all say yeah lets go lloydy!!

what a joke , what dickheads!!

"Bump"of the Year?