Bumping into players

Played college footy against Chris Lewis in 86...he would take the ball from the ruck contest, have a bounce and kick goal from CHF on average about 3 times a game. He would then go and play for Claremont later in the arvo.

Served Woosha beer once a week at the Curtin Tavern in 88 and 89... it was always "Two Middies Please" ... one of the politest students on campus.

After Perth Cup in Early / mid 90'S... (jumped on a bus that took me to Claremont?...close to Scarbs I thought were I was shacked up at the time.) Try to Thumb a ride... car picked me up but picked up another fella before me about 50m up the road. Turned out to be McIntosh...we got another 200m down the road before this fella got done for DD by an unmarked cop car. The D's almost locked up Ash for being a smartarse...we ended up walking through Claremont to some cutey's house where he had a chat to her for a while... then trained it and walked to the OBH and that is about as much as i can remember.

I have met many former players, played against a fair few former players and went to school with a few more of them. Nothing is better than the time I met Karl Langdon:

Back in about 1990, I was at Steve's Hotel with my then girlfriend, as too were a number of Eagles - Langdon being one of them. He was trying to crack onto my girlfriend right in front of me! He was showing off and being a bit too confident. As he is/was an ugly pr*ck, my girlfriend spurned him.

About a year later, I walked into a hotel in Karlgoorlie, and low and behold, there was Mr Karl Langdon playing pool with three girls. I went up to him and said, "You look really familiar, where do I know you from?" Karl was playing his "modesty" card that night, and replied, "You don't know me champ, I'm just an ordinary Joe". Even though what he was saying appeared to be modest, his body language was oozing with arrogance. I went back to my seat while he had his pool shot.

When it was my next shot, I went up to him and said, "That's it, that's where I know you from, you're a news reader on TV?". He said, "No mate, you got it wrong, you don't know me, I'm not a public figure". I had my shot and returned to my seat to watch Karl try to tune the girls.

With my next shot, I asked him again, "I know, you play in that band that's always in the charts". He denied this again. I could just imagine that he was playing this up to the girls - as in "They think I'm so good because I get recognised, but I'm even better because I'm so modest".

My next shot, I've said to him, "I don't know where I know you from, but you are so familiar, are you sure you're not on TV, or a sportsman or something?". He replied, "No champ, never been on TV all my life". I could see that these girls were now starting to think I was a bit of a loser, but here comes the killer punch.

I've now walked straight up to him, and said, "That's it, that's it, I know where I know you from!". I could see him turn to the girls and roll his eyes up to the top of his head like I was some groupie/ar$e licker or something (as in, gee it's such a pain being a public figure). He had this smile on his face like he was tooo coool. That's when I said, "You used to work at the R&I bank in Subiaco. No wonder I didn't recognise you, you used to have red hair!" You should have seen his face change. Not just the realisation that he had been had, but also the embarrassment about having red hair.

I have nothing against blood-nuts, but it was obviously a bit of an issue for him if he had to dye it blond.

Originally posted by bunsen burner
SJ ROLLIN: who did you play for? I may have played against you!

Alcoc Cup P.S.A... (the dark blue, the light blue and the green)
My 1st XVIII experiences in 86 was limited to two games (one of which was v Christ Church). Was a more frequent contributor in 87.

Langdon...what a goose!

Originally posted by bunsen burner
I have met many former players, played against a fair few former players and went to school with a few more of them. Nothing is better than the time I met Karl Langdon:

Back in about 1990, I was at Steve's Hotel with my then girlfriend, as too were a number of Eagles - Langdon being one of them. He was trying to crack onto my girlfriend right in front of me! He was showing off and being a bit too confident. As he is/was an ugly pr*ck, my girlfriend spurned him.

Bunsen! I feel your pain!- if you look further up the thread, you'll note that i recounted a similar experience involving Karl and a chick i was mates with. Happened in '98 though. By all accounts this guy is a bit of a sleeze

SJ ROLLIN: It was a while ago, but you went to Trinity, right? I don't recall a light green? I played in Navy and Gold.

Spot on BB... the green was only really dominant on the 1st XVIII guernsey which was in the traditional St Kilda pattern.
If memory serves me correct (from my vantage point as a spectator), Lewis was just as fearsome in summer with the six sticther coming in off a long run.

2nd year Commerce

How about you?

How did I know youd be studying commerce? Theres only approximately 10 billion commerce students heheh. Im doing my final year of engineering (at last)

What type of engineer? I'm doing Engineering/Commerce at UWA but I don't really know what type of engineer I want to be yet.

What type of engineer? I'm doing Engineering/Commerce at UWA but I don't really know what type of engineer I want to be yet

Im doing Civil and Construction myself, probably the easiest one to do, Chemical Engineering would have to be the hardest.

Originally posted by Visro
Saw Peter Bell at UWA yesterday. Don't know what he is studying though. He's a pretty small bloke!

He's doing Law, but I would expect Part Time.

Originally posted by Thrawn666
How did I know youd be studying commerce? Theres only approximately 10 billion commerce students heheh. Im doing my final year of engineering (at last)

Tell me about it. Probably they will build another CBS building after they finish the one they are currently doing. Also, how bad is the parking this year!!

That building isnt exlcusively for the CBS, from what I remember when we were taken around that site was that it was going to be shared with either Psych or Physio. Theres going to be a rather large lecture theatre in it though. Glad to know at least one of the Schools is making money, another building eh? my god where will they put that. You think the parking is bad now, wait till they rip up more of it to make that building :P. Oh well wont be my problem by the end of this year hehehe.

That building isnt exlcusively for the CBS, from what I remember when we were taken around that site was that it was going to be shared with either Psych or Physio.

Physiotherapy I think. Free massages for students during their breaks perhaps?

****in hope so, you seen the chicks that do that course??? My goodness.....

Oh mate tell me about it! Also some of those Nursing birds look the goods. Where is a drooling 'smilie' when you need one?

Originally posted by GoEagles

Oh mate tell me about it! Also some of those Nursing birds look the goods. Where is a drooling 'smilie' when you need one?

Speaking of nurses, mate, you should see some of the UWA ones! :eek: There's this one that catches my bus every morning and lets just say that I would deliberately go catch hypothermia just to see her bend over to take my temperature! :eek: :D