Burton

• Thread starter Longjohn
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None

L

Longjohn

For a guy that gets laughed at a lot it was good to see him make a joke of collingwood's ruck division.

who gives a rats, last week Collingwood was the greatest thing since sliced bread, now the just green, a bit like the mold on the bread.

Remember "spider Burton made them look stupid, I never thought I would see the day",
made me laugh so much, I think I got a hernia.

BloodStained Angel

The roos do seem to pick up footballers form others clubs and turn them into great palyers but freo seems to be our best recruiting ground. Players like Bell, Abraham, Dhurrkay and now Burton. If they keep delisting them we'll keep on getting them.

Thats the Kangaroos for you PaulKanga

I follow the Swans but I find the Roos are easily the most interesting club to talk about in the forum - and this is just another aspect to the club which fascinates me.

The Roos always seem to be a 'dumping ground' where other clubs offload their unwanted players - the joke is that this team of discards and unwanteds then turns around and becomes an absolute team of champions

Half your luck mate - I only wish my club could do as well.

And another one to add to your list - Byron Pickett

You guys might get get Modra tossed in your direction next year - will go on to kick 100 for you I bet ;-)

I am an eagles supporter, but have freo as my second team. Burton is a joke, he plays the odd good game and then does nothing. Fremantle now has Bandy, Michael and Longmuir who are much better rukman. Dhurkay has done nothing for North either, he didn't play in the grand final, he is a player that comes in when others are injured. Bell was a mistrake, but then he didn't fit the freo game plan at the time, and Abraham was just plain lazy and deserved to get delisted.

BA

Before I forget, thanks for sticking up for me in the Greg Miller chat. OH, and we got Byron Pickett from the Port Adelaide reserves.

Anyway, you have only half the story. The other thing that North have done well is in their policy of *retiring* players. In the past few years, older players like Schwass, Allison, Laidley, Fairley, Crocker, Rock, etc. etc. have left the club with nary a bad word. That's been an important thing considering the angst that Hawthorn went through when their great team of the 80s was dismantled.

In regards to the Fremantle players though, Eagle Fan does have a point. Burton is strictly a backup ruckman. Don't forget, just two weeks ago, he finished a game on the bench for our reserves side. With a fit McKernan and Capuano, with players like Hewitt, Lange, McCartney, Martyn and all to help out around the ground, Burton would not be in our first choice 22. Bell and Abraham have been brilliant for us while Dhurrkay had a poor 1999, but he seems to be coming good this year. Speaking of Winnie, Abraham was a LAZY player at Fremantle, but he works very hard for North. Whenever he loses the ball, he always chases the player to get the ball back....there was one game last year where he chased his man for 40 metres, finally forcing an error from his opponent. You never saw him do that at Freo.

yeah fine eagles_rule - you do have a point regarding Dhurrkay

but how come all these other so-called lazy jokes suddenly start playing really well for the new club ?

North Melb must doing something right - or Fremantle must be doing something wrong - a bit of both perhaps ?

BA

I reckon one part of it is the club's culture. Players like Carey, Bell, Martyn, Archer, McCartney, Blakey, Stevens etc. etc. set the example at the club and everyone else is expected to follow or they're out.

Take last season. Brett Chandler's season was ruined by injury, and yet, with no chance of even making the Grand Final team, in the last training session of the season, he trained as hard as a player who had a chance would have trained.

The club is also very closely knit and Pagan rules it with an iron fist. In a way, it would be like what Allan Jeans did to Hawthorn in the 80s or Malthouse with the Eagles in the 90s. Everyone in the club knows exactly what they have to do.

Nice to catch up with you again SBoners

Interesting point about how the Roos are quite good at letting the older blokes go what are your thoughts on Glenn Freeborn ?

Went AWOL for the Magpies last year a bit I thought - but seems to anjoying himself under Malthouse this year.

Do you think you guys got it right with him - or are there some regrets at letting him go ?

He's still a great player with alot to offer I think ...

Hiya BA

I know that North didn't want to let Freeborn go, but understandably, he wanted to play first team footy. Like many ex-North players running around in different colours, I do keep an eye on him and hope that he does well. Anyway, I don't think he would have been a regular in our team.....that's not to say he isn't a good player, but it's just that we have plenty of players that can do the same job as he does.

He has done a good job for the Magpies though. I think he's only missed maybe one or two games and he's the type of player that most opposition fans don't notice...sort of like Blakey or Simpson at North....but the clubs fans would appreciate. I don't know how the Collingwood fans rate him (any Pies want to comment?), but I reckon that Freeborn, while not a club leader like a Buckley, Brown, or Williams, would still be someone who could help lead and develop Collingwood's batch of youngsters.

Was it a mistake to let him go? Only if he kicks a winning goal against us or wins a Brownlow! Gotta say though, if he ever did win a Brownlow, I'd be rapt for him.

Anyway, what's up with the Swans? Losing 3 at the SCG was unthinkable a couple of years ago.

Cheers

A distressing lack of hardness around the packs SB ...

Richmond didn't play that well - but we were absolutely dreadful in our fumblimg, slipping over, poor foot skills and most of all just a sheer lack of commitment to get into the packs and win the hard ball.

I'm always a believer in that old coaching cliche - to win, first get the ball - and we just did not do enough of the hard stuff yesterday. Clinton King absolutely murdered us around the packs and he wasn't alone.

Time and time again I saw the Swans just standing around (or even worse gesticulating to the umpires)while the Richmond guys just got in and under and came away with the ball - continuously - it was depressing.

I haven't seen such a lacklustre, dispirited performance from the Swans in a long long time. It takes me back to the bad old days of the early nineties when the Swans were just pushovers and a laughing stock.

On a brighter note, at least the game plan looked a little more direct, but really we have to forget about sh*t like top-four finishes and that sort of crap - we just have to work harder at winning the ball and just at the moment any win would be gratefully accepted.

cheers

Is it my imagination or is David "Beefcake" Calthorpe actually proving me and lots of other people at least half wrong at present by enjoying a reasonably ok start to the season?

Very surprised but credit where its due.

Dutch

PS. This thread has been a very interesting read BTW - good stuff BA, SB et al

Dutchman,

yes Calthorpe has been an interesting pickup for us.

He's played all 6 games and has kicked 8 goals so i guess he's doing weel a tthe moment. His goal on Saturday was great from the boundary line.

Let's hope he keeps it up

PaulK

Good to see I suppose (unless you're Barry Young). He's okay as long as he doesn't turn into a FIGJAM - then he's deadset terrible.

Speaking of Bazza, good too see him amoung the best this week despite the Hawks poor game.

Incidently, Eagle_Fan, forgot to ask, what is a "second team"? Ran this concept through the computer and it didn't compute... Is it where you follow two teams with most emphasis on the one doing well at the moment? Or is it that you used to follow one team but then changed to a more successful team (eg: say from Hawthorn to WCE at the end of the 1980s)? or that you just have a bit of a soft spot for another team because they've (usually goddamn) awful?

More info pls...

The "Red and Black until I die" Dutchman!

OK, for one more time, Eagles_rule is not me. I've registered now, so hopefully you won't keep crediting me (or discrediting?) for someone elses posts!

But since you asked...
I think the reason ex-dockers in particular improve so much, is simply the change in professionalism. Freo is the most laid-back club by a mile! For that matter so is the city. Being a Docker is just a lot of fun, popularity and the perks that result.... Once they've been delisted once, they realise just how lucky they are to still be in the game, so a change of club acts as a kick up the arse.

On the second club thing- surely you have a soft spot for at least one other club Dutchy! [I for one hate the Hawks, always have, so I'm obviously not who you think. He's not here]
wink.gif
Freo to many Eagles supporters, are like a younger, weaker brother. We hate them up front, but have to admit to a soft spot deep inside. When it comes to sibling rivalry, we hate their guts, but usually stick up for them in across town fights. Get my point? And I suspect there's a fair bit of interstate rivalry involved.....

Hey Eagle_Fan..

Re: the Hawks thing - I can't imagine what you mean... (hehehehe)
biggrin.gif
wink.gif
(never thought you were!! Just stirring the pot)

Used to have a soft spot for the Roys... despite losing a bunch of close finals to them in the 70s/80s... but that was because they were strugglers and tried hard while under the financial pump (much like Wimbledon in the Premier League)... but now they've part of a wealthy franchise so....

That said, its good to see (the great) ND doing well at Melbourne and BOMBER Thompson with the Cats - shame I can't say the same about Timmy.

Cheers
Dutch

What about now though Dutchy? Don't find yourself secretly barracking for anyone in particular?
A likely story.......
wink.gif

Ciao, E_F -(a LIFETIME Eagles fan [actually I've never even seen a Hawks GF, not even '91, bad as I hear it was])

EF

If you're looking for a soft spot for the Eagles I'm afraid you'll have to look elsewhere (sorry).

Historically I would have to say that I have respected them - ie: a win over the Eagles has always been a good win, particularly in Perth.

But I have a feeling that was more to do with the Sheedy v Malthouse thing - you know, past premiership Richmond players and (I think) team-mates... complete clash of styles - boring ol' drill sergent vs loony tunes flexibility...

I fair (hope this isn't the case) that the jacket waving may move to Anzac day to follow this rivalry.

Who knows?

Hey Dutchman

You're not the only one surprised by Calthorpe. When we picked him up, I was thinking, "what the.....? huh? why?". The term "reserves best and fairest" also came to mind. But Calthorpe has been picked for every game and he just seems to hang around in the forward pocket and get a couple of goals here and there while also working hard to make sure the ball stays in our forward line....so he's doing his job. But my God....even when he's running at full pace, he looks as if he's going backwards.

As for soft spots for other teams, I have one for Geelong (best mate barracks for 'em) and Fremantle (hilariously inept when they're bad, great to watch when they get a run on, always giving us their rejects, but last and not least, many of my best pals come from Fremantle).

I have a soft spot for Collingwood, they have been down for so long now it would be nice to see them in the finals, even if only for Buckley.

Firstly i think i am not eagles_fan ok? Maybe I should change my nick or something. I support the eagles and to a lesser degree fremantle. When the two teams meet Iike most supporters i hate the other team. But during the year when they are playing i watch all of their games and support them. I think a lot of West Australians do. It is different to SA where the two teams supporters loathe and despise the other team. Maybe you want to say i'm not a real supporter cos i like two teams, I don't really care. There is something about Fremantle which is really exciting. Maybe it's their running, maybe it's their silly mistakes, maybe it's just a combination of everything. But like i said before two times a year WCE and Frem hate each other. If North finally goes to Sydney Bloodstained angel im sure you will follow them also, though prolly not as strongly as Sydney. Anyway i hope i answered your question Bloodstained Angel.

Burton