FTA-TV Bushfire Coverage!

• Thread starter Thread starter tess

no bullshit about Warrandyte North and Research coming under ember attack which would have panicked god knows how many people.

Where did this come from?

I noticed on the CFA site that they had to put out a notice saying that North Warrandyte, Research, Kangaroo Ground and Eltham were not in danger. I don't know how it came about though. Can anyone enlighten me?

As a resident of Montmorency, I was a little concerned that the CFA thought they needed to put out such a statement.

I thought it was only me.

I think these media types don't really get it. The last thing these people need is "Mel and Kochie" and Stefanovic5000 running around Whittlesea unchecked. Have these people not suffered enough?

This is a terrible tragedy and there is a need for the story to be told, but we don't need to fly down these abovementioned flogs from Sydney just so they can say in 6 months "When Victoria burned, we were there." They are not the story, they are insignificant in the grand scheme of things and it does not add any value at all to the story that they are trying to tell.

The shining light in all of this is, as has been mentioned, ABC Radio. No nonsense, no hype, no bullshit about Warrandyte North and Research coming under ember attack which would have panicked god knows how many people. Class act from all concerned at 774

I agree. I remember getting ready for work on Tuesday and thinking "God I'd hate to be in a disaster, and the first person I'd spot would some talking head clown from 7 or 9 asking dumb questions" I reckon I'd deck them. Talk about ask the bleeding obvious.

I've been flicking from Sky to 7 & 9 when I get home from work, then catch the ABC News & 7.30 report.

Where did this come from?

I noticed on the CFA site that they had to put out a notice saying that North Warrandyte, Research, Kangaroo Ground and Eltham were not in danger. I don't know how it came about though. Can anyone enlighten me?

As a resident of Montmorency, I was a little concerned that the CFA thought they needed to put out such a statement.

The media and it's want for these bush fires to never end and thus they can line their pockets from the revenue in advertising and the paper through massive sales. Anyone who calls me a cynic are slaves to the media and their overall shitness.

They just don't get it do they and think we, the public are so consditioned to their overall crapness that we won't notice.

BTW Interesting to see the sharing, caring Channel 9 showing an episode of 'The Mentalist' tonight which focuses on an arsonist who goes around small country towns lighting fires with the sole intention of killing people.

Classy 9, classy. :rolleyes:

What chance Scorched gets a re-run on 9 in the coming weeks?

Don't tell me they haven't thought about it...

What chance Scorched gets a re-run on 9 in the coming weeks?

Don't tell me they haven't thought about it...

The late movie on sunday night was called Firewall,although they apparently changed last nights episode of The Mentalist due to it's title

Nine has also altered an episode of The Mentalist, which was to have been S1E9 “Flame Red”. No doubt its arson attack storyline was deemed inappropriate.
Link

The late movie on sunday night was called Firewall,although they apparently changed last nights episode of The Mentalist due to it's title

Link

Good Article from Greg Barns at Crikey - he calls the media handling of the fires as "grief pr0n"

It just shows how easy being a "journo" is.

"What were you thinking when you saw the flames?"
"How does it feel knowing you've lost everything?"
"It must be hard"

Gee, what do you reckon?

The sad thing is that with the coverage as it is, it's just filled with half an hour of who can get the most sob stories or tales of heroism into a half hour to win ratings. Sad, but true.

I mean, it deserves to be covered, but the overload at present is a bit much, both on television and in print.

I've never seen so many denim-clad journos in all my life. Is it a condition that each journo must wear jeans and a shirt? Do they do it to look like one of us?

The media and it's want for these bush fires to never end and thus they can line their pockets from the revenue in advertising and the paper through massive sales. Anyone who calls me a cynic are slaves to the media and their overall shitness.
"Anyone who calls me a cynic are slaves to the media and their overall shitness"

Is that just a defensive line to prevent people from debating your point? Or to stroke your ego and pronounce your statement as correct and the rest, who debate, are wrong?

The clothing is to prevent an US V THEM feeling. Where you are being intruded. It is more of a sit down with a 'mate' and talk about your terror. Rather than talk to a 'reporter'.

I don't know if this has been mentioned, but the HUN had pictures of all the children who died plastered right across the front and back page of the paper.

I know of at least one victim already whose family didn't get asked about, or authorise the use of any photo on the front page of the paper.

Do they not realise they are exploiting human misery, or do they not care?

Are there any budding film/media students out there?

There is a brilliant "fly on the wall" media & catastrophe expose type doco, itching to be made.

Just go to the Whittlesea/Kinglake and covertly film the mainstream media in action or a few days.

The clothing is to prevent an US V THEM feeling. Where you are being intruded. It is more of a sit down with a 'mate' and talk about your terror. Rather than talk to a 'reporter'.

But there should be an US VS THEM feeling, after all, THEM is trying (and succeeding) to exploit the victims suffering for profit.

It just shows how easy being a "journo" is.

Nah, i don't think it'd be that easy for most to forgo their morals, ethics and compassion.

Yeah, because you know Tom Steinfort's immaculate designer jeans and shoes didn't look at all out of place against a backdrop of burnt homes and towns in ruin. :rolleyes:

How much profit do those posting the comments believe the media are making from exploiting victims. And then explain the reasons why they would be making this profit.

Great_Ocean_Road......... Not all reporters care. Not all photographers care. But the large majority of them do.

How much profit do those posting the comments believe the media are making from exploiting victims. And then explain the reasons why they would be making this profit.

Great_Ocean_Road......... Not all reporters care. Not all photographers care. But the large majority of them do.

not wron there mate. i saw today and the other day on the news. today when i think it was gary lyon who was consoling a victim. you see a photographer rush in and take pictues and on monday when a daughter and father were reunited. the media jumped on them

I'm not sure if you're aware but most media outlets rely on advertising dollars, and more viewers/readers = more advertising dollars and teh best way to get readers and viewers is to sensationalise and emote everything rather than reporting the facts and actually being an ethical news service.

Working for the HUN, 7 and Nine? HAHAHA

I'm not sure if you're aware but most media outlets rely on advertising dollars, and more viewers/readers = more advertising dollars and teh best way to get readers and viewers is to sensationalise and emote everything rather than reporting the facts and actually being an ethical news service.

Working for the HUN, 7 and Nine? HAHAHA

So what Channel 9 and the like are doing now is different to what they have previously done?

Are there any budding film/media students out there?

There is a brilliant "fly on the wall" media & catastrophe expose type doco, itching to be made.

Just go to the Whittlesea/Kinglake and covertly film the mainstream media in action or a few days.

There is something in this.

yes, yes.