Opinion Butcher

Agreed he hasn't looked that great apart from patches. But he is a young KPP and they often do take a while to look the part.

However we need to keep him in the side, as he is very important for structure. If he wasn't in today, Talia would have double teamed Shulz and changed the way the Crows set up.

Agreed he hasn't looked that great apart from patches. But he is a young KPP and they often do take a while to look the part.

However we need to keep him in the side, as he is very important for structure. If he wasn't in today, Talia would have double teamed Shulz and changed the way the Crows set up.
Doesnt take opposing teams to long to work out a decoy. Breaks my heart to see Shultz taking marks on the back 50. Butch week after week gets dropped into the same under performing role in the forward line. When the game was up for grabs today before the final result was known, i would rather have seen a genuine match winner in Westy up forward whilst Shultz was up the ground. Westhoff is a genuine target and butch is more than capable of playing an extra across half back. He cant afford to carry his current form into next week against genuine top liners. Play him yes, throw him around and let himself work into confidence.

Butcher will be a good player as he is naturally gifted.

His problem is he is lazy, lacks confidence. lacks aggression and he is dumb.

The next twelve months will determine his future.

My tip is he will improve

Don't bury your heads in the sand guys he's been useless and is being gifted games.

How much better is Schulzs form with Butch in the side?

This. This. This. This. This.

I don't care if he's literally not getting a touch, Butcher needs to stay in the side for the effect that it has in Schulz. It's either that or Daniel Stewart, and Stewart could only manage 3 disposals in the SANFL yesterday, so yeah.

Don't bury your heads in the sand guys he's been useless and is being gifted games.

Nah.

He hasn't been useless but he has been gifted a few as young kpp's often are.

Not even Buddy, Tredders or Wayne Carey dominated from game 1. That is why Jeremy Cameron is so special.

Sarge looks better with Butch and Butch looks better with Sarge.

He needs to be in for structure.

Correct. Having a genuine credible second target is so important. Sarge cannot do it all himself. When the Future clicks, it will be worth the wait.
Now just to find/develop another tall to unleash the Hoff full time is the next priority.

I had a a very interesting observation today regarding Butch.
There was a moment where Colquhoun received the handball from Butch inside 50 and kicked the goal.
When butch had possession of the footy, he looked lost. As a 'key' forward he wasn't even interested in looking at the goal. Instead, he dishes off to a kid who's played a handful of games in sort of a "look, I'm just not gonna get it so someone else take it" kinda fashion.
Read into it what you will but in that passage of play it's summed up for me on where I think he stands. I reckon his confidence is rock bottom.

The hoon...wingard moore these are the guys who stood up in the end.....a valuable lesson should be learnt from that.....but in that I still want 1 more go from NaCl

1 goal, 1 goal assist, took heat off Jay, allowed us to use Westhoff as a chess queen all over the board.

Yeah, let's drop him for Daniel Stewart.

Having both hips operated on and not having a full pre season suggest there's scope for a lot of improvement in his game.

That's a good point.

I hope I'm wrong about him.

Yep, **** him right off and bring in Jack Watts :rolleyes:

Get a grip guys......... Keep him in, he's young, he's been held back due to injury. He's still showing more than Dan Stewart ever has, and we've all seen what he's capable of when he's up and about.

He won a one on one last week guys, you've just forgotten it coz the subsequent kick barely scraped in.

Needs to stay for all the reasons Tribey mentioned.

I'm so glad you idiots aren't anywhere near our club selection team.

NFI

And you are a expert, That's why Newton is in the side.

Seriously, this is a opinion thread isn't it?

It's comments like this that keep me out of the Port board because some of you are so ****ing precious and can't listen to others opinions.

NFI

And you are a expert, That's why Newton is in the side.

Seriously, this is a opinion thread isn't it?

It's comments like this that keep me out of the Port board because some of you are so ******* precious and can't listen to others opinions.

NFI

Yeah man,

Give me a cuddle ok babe.

<3

So, I have an opinion, but thats not allowed, as you have an opinion?

How about you taste my tears and we cuddle up tonight babe ok <3.

Was awful today. I don't know what happened to the contested marking machine we saw in the U18s and his first couple of years at the club, but he cant outbody an opponent and cant take a grab to save himself. Just needs a big pre season to work on his core strength through the hips and torso and hopefully that gives him enough weight and strength to start holding his own in one on one contests - because I don't think hes won a 1on1 contest all year

I think that's where the problem lies. Fixable.

Where was talia today should be the question. Schulz dominated rutten. Hes there for pressure and structure. Enjoy the win man.

This is exactly correct. Talia has proven his ability to effectively shut down an opponent, but Talia also provided nothing for them today.
I look at it that he removed their most important defender out of the game and allowed Schultz to get more of it. Look how often he competes, brings the ball to ground, chases etc.

People need to stop expecting Butch to be Travis Cloke and let him develop.

Far too important to our long term structure to replace.

We could always replace him with the awesome Daniel Stewart;)