Opinion Butcher

Yeah man,

Give me a cuddle ok babe.

<3

So, I have an opinion, but thats not allowed, as you have an opinion?

How about you taste my tears and we cuddle up tonight babe ok <3.

Thank christ you chose to be a magician and not a comedian.... Babe :rolleyes:

Butch adds a hell of a lot to our structure. Gives Schulz the ability to lead up the ground to help us out at half back while still forcing a contest inside 50. He was well beaten by Talia today, but he's not going to be amazing every single game for a few years yet.

Butcher is too important to our structure. He needs more presence but that will come with another Burgess pre-season.

It takes more than one preseason to undo a lot of what some of these guys have gone through. Butcher/Newton/AhChee/Young I'd give them all another year purely based on the fact they have in essence only had 1 AFL class pre-season (not saying delist regardless).
Wingard is the only one that overcame it quickly.

Thank christ you chose to be a magician and not a comedian.... Babe :rolleyes:
Where was I attempting to be humorous.

But legit, you make you sense what so ever. Shut up.

I don't believe what I am reading... Sure he has lost that "Clunkability" from the 18's days, but that comes with confidence! He works his backside off to provide a target, allows the crumbs to fall at our small forwards feet... Like has been said, he is 22 and yet to complete a preseason, ajudge when he is fit and strong!

Who are we going to replace him with?

He isn't a lazy Key Forward as he chases and harrass' the opposition, not Richo like... Sure the goal he kicked he threw the head back and thought it would run out of bounds, but for the 5th week in a row, he is in the box position, heading to goal with nothing between him and the white posts and the kick lacks that5-15 meters of penetration to fall in his lap! He isn't the first bloke to be frustrated on the field and I am sure he will not be the last!

What were the critics saying about Hawkins 3 years ago? Key Towards, like ruckmen take time.

I hope to God we ain't pening Mason Shaw for 150 goals next year!

Butcher is coming along fine - he gets the double team which allows Schulz to work some magic. Still needs to read the ball in the air a lot better, but he's a good old fashioned footy forward. We're a better team with him in it, let's stop putting so much pressure on him. Next year is when he needs to start performing more consistently.

And putting him at CHB? I don't see it at all. He can't read the flight that well now, so let's give the opposition goals when he does it in the backline?

He'll put it all together. It'll happen when it happens. He's only played 19 games.

CHB? Lol, under Hinkley I think we've seen that gone are the days of trying to re-invent the wheel with players, the guys a forward so he will stay a forward. He's playing just fine, the guys played less than 20 games and gets double and triple teamed already. What he does do is always make a contest and his forward line pressure as I noticed yesterday genuinely has opposition players worried and under pressure forcing mistakes. He made some key handballs late in the game to, he's getting there but guys his size and in that position take time.

Where was I attempting to be humorous.

But legit, you make you sense what so ever. Shut up.

Neither do you it seems.

Anyway let's hope Butch comes out and kicks a bag this weekend and leads us to the finals.

I had a a very interesting observation today regarding Butch.
There was a moment where Colquhoun received the handball from Butch inside 50 and kicked the goal.
When butch had possession of the footy, he looked lost. As a 'key' forward he wasn't even interested in looking at the goal. Instead, he dishes off to a kid who's played a handful of games in sort of a "look, I'm just not gonna get it so someone else take it" kinda fashion.
Read into it what you will but in that passage of play it's summed up for me on where I think he stands. I reckon his confidence is rock bottom.

The hoon goal, Butcher cleaned up some sloppy handballs in the centre then sprinted into the fwd 50 to put pressure on the cow kick resulting in the turnover, then receives the handball and lays of for the goal. Pretty good effort I thought.

The goal he kicked he received the turnover kick from lynch on half back and sprinted in the fwd 50 to create the chance, he thought it was going out so stopped for a second which didn't look good but he had just run from half back only to be spoiled at the last so was understandably disappointed.

You've also got to look at how he helps our structures out of defence as well. Having him allows us to anchor a big man either side on the boundary about 60m out to try to either win the contest or nullify it to the boundary or a ball up and then to reset. Otherwise we are stuck like we are in the first bit of the year having Schulz as that guy on the defensive side of the ground but having to pull someone else big out like a Hoff to the otherside for this target instead of having them in around the ball. If you watch our structures closely it helps so much with Hinkley's preference to put more numbers around the stoppages if he knows he has a target that can bring the ball to ground and make another contest up the field for people to run on to and also absorb 2 - 3 loose defenders.

I don't believe what I am reading... Sure he has lost that "Clunkability" from the 18's days, but that comes with confidence! He works his backside off to provide a target, allows the crumbs to fall at our small forwards feet... Like has been said, he is 22 and yet to complete a preseason, ajudge when he is fit and strong!

It's still there, which we saw in the St Kilda game, agree with the rest of your post.

This thread stinks of people who look at stats only when forming their opinions. He still looks awfully skinny compared to his opponents and as such is not being able to win one on one marking constests as often as desired. I think he's pretty close though and he is still contributing each game so why is there any need to drop him when there is nobody to replace him unless we want to drastically change our forward structure and become overly reliant on Schulz again?