Bye bye 'Fireman Sam' Fevola?

Is this the end of 'Fireman Sam' Fevola? A 3rd drunken indiscretion in one season will not go down well at Carlton. Apparently he was on his last warning after the 2nd incident at Bridies earlier in the year, and this is the last straw.

Does anyone think their club will pick Fevola up, and would you want him? I think he has talent, and is still young - but gee, he has a lot to prove now. Will he only ever be remembered as the highest goal scorer on NYE?

And Carlton afford to get rid of another forward in light of the loss of Kouta and the possible retirement of SOS and Bradley?

Once a di(k head, always a di(k head unfortunately.
My opinion of Brendan Fevola has not changed since the scene he caused at last year's B & F.
He has a serious attitude problem and it's time that Carlton kicked him in the arse and out the door.
The fact that he wears the number 25 guernsey is an insult to Alex Jesaulenko.

The question isn't can Carlton afford to lose him, the question should be can they afford to keep the idiot? He's a liability!

But look on the bright side, perhaps they can trade him for Barry Hall.:rolleyes:

Ship the loser off to the country leagues where his antics will be considered an asset. Carlton are in the box seat to acquire Barry Hall, so they don't need him.

Originally posted by Bee
Once a di(k head, always a di(k head unfortunately.
My opinion of Brendan Fevola has not changed since the scene he caused at last year's B & F.

What did he do at the Best and Fairest???

3 times in one year is a bit much to get drunk & disorderly in a public place. Does this guy have any brains at all?? Surely you realise if you are a footballer you should do stupid things like that every few weeks!!

nope - can't see it happening myself.

Carlton will be struggling to kick enough goals next season, so Carlton will sweep all the dirt under the carpet, close ranks, and declare Fevola a 'reformed man' who has 'learned his lesson' etc etc blah blah

Of course if Fevola was an untalented hack then he would already be out the door.

But because he can play a bit, Carlton will cut him slack, and as much slack as it takes too.

Bee - what exactly did he get up to at last years' B&F ?

cheers

Originally posted by Bloodstained Angel

Bee - what exactly did he get up to at last years' B&F ?
cheers

During the speech by David Parkin, Fevola insisted on laughing and talking loudly to the girl he was with. After being told by someone to show some manners and be quiet, he then proceeded to embarrass everyone around him and David Parkin by shouting "F@ck him, he's not the coach anymore".

The boy has an attitude problem. Or maybe he just can't handle alcohol. Who cares what his problem is? He has to go!

oh dear - what a callow youth you have on yer hands there Bee !

still, I'll stick to my original point - 'cos he can play a bit, the club won't do anything about this, not publicly anyway.

If Carlton's forward wasn't looking quite so under-manned, he probably would have been demoted to the VFL for the rest of season after his last indiscretion at that pub (the stolen bottle of Bourbon incident) and then delisted at the end of the season.

But he wasn't, and he probably won't this time either.

Any news about Houlihan's role in this little escapade ?

cheers

Originally posted by Bee
The boy has an attitude problem. Or maybe he just can't handle alcohol. Who cares what his problem is? He has to go!

Not surprising given what I saw of hin on the ABC's doco "the game" last year - did you manage to catch any of that?

He is a dead set cert for the "Elliott award for Off Field excellence"

Hic!!

A future president for Carlton in the making.

I don't agree with you BSA, I think he has gone this time.
How long can the club put up with him? How many chances do you give someone? Besides I don't think he is all that consistent as a player. He plays one good game then follows up with some real bad ones. He isn't as important to the club that he seems to think he is.

As for Houlihan, I don't know what happened there. He always seems to be fairly quiet, maybe he was lead astray.
Although there were rumours a couple of weeks ago that he may not be at Carlton next year, but with his brother at Geelong.
Who knows?

Originally posted by Dave

Not surprising given what I saw of hin on the ABC's doco "the game" last year - did you manage to catch any of that?

After seeing that, I realised what a twit Fevola was and my opinion has not changed.

He'll find himself on the outer one day and he's got that kind of personality that will say to himself "what did I do to deserve this?". He hasn't got a clue and he's the kind of person that will never acquire wisdom.

Interesting of the 3 players they followed in that documentary only one - Ramanauskas, has gone on to play decent footy.

And all the problems that are happening now were evident even before they were drafted - Headland clearly didn't want to go to Queensland and this may be a contributing factor to his (apparent) poor work ethic. If I was West Coast or Freo I'd be trying to get him, I bet he would be performing a lot better at a WA club.

And Fevola clearly looked like he had a maturity problem compared to some of the other draftees - I guess Carlton was hoping he'd grow up a bit.

But I tend to agree with BSA - I reckon Carlton will realise without Fevola their forward line is stuffed, as there may be no SOS to throw forward next year either. They will try and trade him for Hall and if that falls through will send him to some reform school to clean up his act.

There was a rumour on the radio that he had already been sacked, but I can't find any confirmation on the net. Has anyone else heard this?

I heard the "Happy Hanger" woman on Sport927 this morning and she said Houlihan was the main culprit and had been most aggressive. She was actually a Carlton supporter and was very reasonable. Her son actually played two games for Footscray in 1987. Farnk Lesiputty (2 games, 1 Goal). Anyone remember him?

Fevola may be an important player in Carlton's forward line, but there comes a point where team unity is more important than one players ability.

What's the point of having someone who can play, but his team mates have no respect for.

It sounds like not only is he making a di(k of himself at the club's expense, but he is also dragging teamates down with him. Lappin and Houlihan have both been linked with his drunken buffoonery now.

Houlihan would be close to getting a severe reprimand. Their talking about Favola being in the firing line, but Houlihan has a case to answer. Carlton would be loath to axe both players, but if they were going to delist a player, that player would be Fevola. Houlihan has shown much more than Fevola. Chins wouldn't be a huge loss. You don't need players like this in your footy club.

As soon as the become AFL footballers, they must realise that their identities are public property, and therefore open to scrutiny.

Originally posted by Dave

yeah i saw it aswell, but it was actually called "the draft" i think
i was out at jimmy rowes the night of the first incident with merrington and lappin and i seriously think that was blown out by the media
i know merrington from cricket and i spoke to him a fair bit that night and when the place closed about 2, they were far from pissed
i reckon they only had about 4 maybe 5 pots (and anyone who has been to jimmys knows they arent full pot glasses)
this case they were jumped on cause they were afl footballers

Originally posted by Pornstar
It sounds like not only is he making a di(k of himself at the club's expense, but he is also dragging teamates down with him. Lappin and Houlihan have both been linked with his drunken buffoonery now.

Yeah, if that is the case, that is annoying. Houlihan seemed like a nice kid with a clean image before I heard about this. If I had to guess I'd say it was Fevola's influnce that got him into trouble. I've seen Fevola drunk in public once, fair dinkum, he acts like a complete moron. Lappin's had his problems too, but I think he may be starting to grow up. Kris Massie is another one with a bit of a problem. We have a core group of senior players who set a fine example for the club: Bradley, SOS, Ratten, McKay, Campo. But it seems the young group of guys are real "lads" - but when the club's president has a history of drunken incidents then the problem is starting at the top. Its been a tough year at Carlton it seems.

Originally posted by Pornstar

Sorry Pornstar but Lappin has been in more trouble off the field than Fevola.

He's been involved in many incidents at St Kilda and now Carlton.

His form has been excellent though.

Bee,

Could you let us know what happens at the 2001 Carlton B & F? The 2000 B & F seemed to be fairly action packed with a few incidents. ;)

Originally posted by Chris_23
I saw it Dave. All this was on the cards wasn't it? It was quite evident that he had an attitude problem.

Yep, footballers often aren't too bright and kids often display immaturity but this bloke looked like Trouble with caplital T.

Walshy, yeah, it wasn't the game. D'oh.