Bye Bye Nobles

Back when we had a soul!
I got so much enjoyment watching that 3 minutes of football.

I cant remember the last time I enjoyed a North game of footy.

I am paying for Kayo so I can watch live games and replays and I haven't watched not one replay all year. Not even the WCE game.

Very sad....

I completely agree that we lack valuable senior players - I would have kept Dumont as I think he was really important structurally last season and is also a great example of someone that trains hard and gets the most out of himself. But Noble didn't want him, and that's on the coach.

But there are enough senior bodies on the list to not be one of the most uncompetitive teams in AFL history, especially when you consider Corr and Greenwood have come into the side. It's arguably not even the margins that are concerning, it's the incredibly lopsided statistics in general play (inside 50s, scores from rebound 50s, uncontested possessions, effective possessions, metres gained) that just shouldn't happen with an AFL side, even a rebuilding one.

You'd almost take a 1-14 season if you could see promising signs, players were improving, body language was positive and we were staying in games for longer. But we're not.

Simpkin, Stephenson and Thomas, three players who looked on the verge of really breaking out and anchoring this rebuild, have regressed and look miserable. Larkey and Zurhaar are feeding off scraps. McKay is for some reason playing forward while CCJ is sitting in the VFL watching Xerri get five touches per week while Goldy goes on television to say he has no idea if he's getting another contract. Powell spends most of the match on a flank while Greenwood attends every centre bounce ineffectively.

Noble inherited a s**t sandwich and has somehow made it ten times worse. I feel for the bloke but I have no idea how people are watching this every week and coming to the conclusion that no coach could do better,
Your 100 percent correct. I agree with your entire post.
I think we all just want it to work. Noble is so bloody likeable. He rolls his sleeves up, isn’t flashy or arrogant and works hard. He looks and behaves like a shinboner. Unfortunately he’s just not getting any improvement out of the group. I don’t know the exact reason why. I’d love for it to work for Noble and the club. I’d love to see Noble holding the cup up with LDU or JHF in 4 years time, but it’s not looking good

It seems Noble doesn't allocate too much responsibility to others.
If that was the case then how does the box function with him on the bench... On the other hand if Walsh has seen enough then it probably indicates that the box does not in fact function. He of all people would have had a prime time views after all.

I am paying for Kayo so I can watch live games and replays and I haven't watched not one replay all year. Not even the WCE game.

Very sad....
The 'win' against one of the most depleted teams in history felt like a loss, and it would have been an actual loss if the game went for 5 minutes longer. It was as flat and as depressing as I've ever been. Horrible.

I would say the only game I enjoyed this season where the team actually played something resembling good footy was round 4 vs Sydney.

Very sad....

I got Kayo this year just to see North. How do you reckon I’m going?

I actually cheer when it starts buffering.

The 'win' against one of the most depleted teams in history felt like a loss, and it would have been an actual loss if the game went for 5 minutes longer. It was as flat and as depressing as I've ever been. Horrible.

I would say the only game I enjoyed this season where the team actually played something resembling good footy was round 4 vs Sydney.

Reckon the Dees game was pretty good at the ground, even though the final quarter fell

Nobles has left it way too late to "hang on" and definitely too late to change his approach. He is now left with agreeing to an honorable resignation or outright sacking. In terms of his future, he would have been better to have accepted that his approach wasn't working and seek external advise as to the options. If this wasn't successful then resign. Being inflexible and being sacked isn't great on a resume.

Let's face it. He's never getting a senior gig anywhere else no matter what.

I can't believe that John Blakey - assistant coach to the 2003 and 2012 premierships, and to Grand Finals in 2004, 2014 and 2016, being coached by Walls, Parkin and Pagan, assistant to Matthews, Roos and Longmire - has had no positive input into the current shitshow. It suggests that Noble is a "my way or highway" leader. That's OK, if "my way" works. But it doesn't.

Serious question. Has anyone been in a job where you know that your employers think you're not up to it and it's only a matter of time until you're cooked?

Did you just hang on until the inevitable hoping they have missed it? Did you change your approach hoping it would make a difference? We're you so confident you were right and everyone was wrong?

I'm not saying I'm great at my job, I've just never been in that situation.

Noble has nothing to hang his hat on. A review means someone is getting the arse. Results suggest it's you. Why are you hanging on?
Yep, seen both sides, with the same employer.

Our boss was the national sales manager, he was a real autocrat, and extremely demanding. For the last couple of months of his tenure, it was obvious the CEO (a real arrogant prick) didn't rate him, and was blaming him for a drop in performance. We all knew it, and it was very hard to be motivated to do all the extra stuff our boss had always pushed for. By the time the inevitable happened, most of the team were working at less than 100% of capacity because it was pointless to keep pushing themselves for someone who had been as good as gone for quite a while.

A year or so later, another new CEO and this time I was clearly in the gun. He didn't like or rate me, and made no secret of it. I worked hard, but it was kind of pointless because nothing would change his attitude towards me. I was 12 months from long service leave, and there were rumours of impending redundancies, so there was no way I was going to leave of my own accord when a much more lucrative payout was potentially around the corner. I lasted another 6 uncomfortable months before the hammer came down, but I got a nice redundancy payout, something that would never have happened if I buckled under the pressure and left of my own accord.
So yeah, without being a sports person, I reckon I've experienced the Headspace some of the players would be experiencing, and something of what the coach is going through.
Human nature from my experience says the players will try their best, but some will probably leave something in the tank. And the coach will hang on as long as he can. Pretty much what's happening.

Serious question. Has anyone been in a job where you know that your employers think you're not up to it and it's only a matter of time until you're cooked?

Did you just hang on until the inevitable hoping they have missed it? Did you change your approach hoping it would make a difference? We're you so confident you were right and everyone was wrong?

Noble has nothing to hang his hat on. A review means someone is getting the arse. Results suggest it's you. Why are you hanging on?
I was in this situation in my 2nd year of teaching was told half way through the year I wouldn't be getting a new contract. As much as it was tough I pushed through it till the end of year for me there was 2 things 1 obviously being the money but the 2nd was that I knew I'd still learn from it as much as it was tough I kept trying to get better.

Anyone notice how he has coached on the bench since mid way through this year (correct me if I'm wrong)

I wonder if something changed or there is a disconnect that made him move to the bench.

Ok, I'm just going to throw this out there as it solves two problems in the one hit, "Fabian Francis as our new 2023/2028 coach". Yep it's risky, but it's a win win for JHF!

On a serious note, what worries me is "who will want the position and who suits the position" if Noble is done? We surely can't go down the untried path again, (even though I'm big on Yze) and Clarkson would be the clear #1 on our wish list...... but is it reciprocal?

Is it "Choco?" and I'll be honest, I'm not a fan, but perhaps that's because I'm probably being influenced by what my mates who work in the "AFL industry" say about him behind closed doors..... so that probably means he's a perfect fit???

I really just can't get my head around who the experienced coaches would be, that would realistically be approached for the job or alternatively, interested to approach us to coach? Pyke, Ayres, Leppitsch, Collins etc
Leon Cameron

Walrus Yes GIF

Noble can’t survive
Carey says Roos coach must go
Will Hogan
NORTH Melbourne legend Wayne Carey says the club has no choice but to remove senior coach David Noble this year.

Carey, who captained the club to two premierships, said Geoff Walsh would not baulk the hard decisions which need to be made on the coaching position based on the team’s terrible results this season.

Hawthorn premiership mastermind Alastair Clarkson would be No.1 target on the replacement wishlist, but it remains unclear if the coaching legend has any interest in returning to Arden St. The changes could be more widespread, as Kangaroos chief executive Ben Amarfio is also under pressure following the departure of three Roos recruiters mid-season.

The Kangaroos lost to Geelong by 112 points on Saturday night and managed only 12 inside 50s after quarter-time in their biggest backwards step of the season.

The Roos have become the first team in AFL/VFL history to lose 11 straight games by more than 47 points.

Carey said the Roos were paying the price for “some really poor decisions made over a long period of time” and had hit “rock bottom”.

He said the club had to make a senior coaching change for 2023.

“He (Noble) won’t be there,” Carey said on Triple M.

“Results have dictated that.

It is pretty plain for everyone to see.

“I think his messaging for me is starting to become confusing, and if it is confusing for me listening, then it is going to be confusing for the players. There is no way he can survive.”

St Kilda great Leigh Montagna agreed. “They need a circuit-breaker.

A number of things need to change,” Montagna said.

But former Fremantle and St Kilda coach Ross Lyon said the club must support Noble.

“I feel for David Noble here,” Lyon said.

“The argument is, could they be doing much better? Everyone is looking for some green shoots.

“(But) it is a tough business if you haven’t got the talent and he is going into a gunfight with a knife.

“I do feel for him a bit and if they (the club) have made the decision that he’s not going to be there, they are better off going to him and say ‘Mate, this hasn’t worked, we are starting our hunt (for our replacement), what do you want to do with this?”

Bye Bye Nobles