Bye Bye Nobles

The defence is the biggest issue
It’s old, slow and can’t string 3-4 kicks together to give the team some respite up the wing
It can’t intercept, apart from McDonald when opposition is not moving it quick
The team knows that’s once the ball goes in there we are stuffed
Any sports team no matter what’s the sport needs a defence that gives some confidence
If it’s young, confidence it will get better
If it’s old and terrible, its like driving a car with 3 wheels
How we’ve left our defence to rot and wilt to such an extent is an indictment on everyone at the club

There is no drive out of defence at all.
One thing Scott got out of defence was a springboard to attack. You could see it consistently.
I don't trust this group to defend, and they don't either.. which means taking the risk to attack becomes very difficult if you're panicking that it's just going to come straight back.
It's a real issue at the moment.
We've lost the base too.. Robbie leaving has really destabilised them I think.

We were PUTRID last night.

Nobles presser was spot on. He is no dodo.

I’m coming to the realisation we simply have a stack of young C-D grade footballers that for some reason, are not progressing. It is shattering as a hard-core NM fan to see where we are. Maybe our current playing group is just not AFL standard, and never will be…….

It might be like Australia playing Holland in Test cricket and the Dutch coach is trying to implement plans to knock the Aussies off. No matter what he does, it ain’t happening because his players are so much inferior.

I’m interested to see what response the players provide next week. Sadly, I’m not expecting a great deal because like the Dutch cricketers, no matter how hard they train or how hard they try, they’re not going to trouble their more talented opponents.
I just get the feeling at the end of the season they extent his contact by another 2 years! Because they say he needs more time. You get another gun mid. Simpson will out of contact end of 2024 your a good chance to get him

I actually think Clarko gets a bit overrated.

He was kissed on the dick by his list management team who gave him a bloody good list of talent, which was perpetuated by them being able to top up with top quality free agents.

Last year when they had to clearly rebuild, he didn’t look up to it.

Don’t get me wrong was a great coach and his record speaks for itself, but not sure this side would be that much better under his guidance? We might have a better game plan, but not sure even he is polishing this turd.
Free agents James Frawley, Tyrone Vickery, Ricky Henderson, Kyle Hartigan and delisted free agent Jonathan Simpkin

Yep, we’ve smashed free agency!

This thread is more embarrassing than the game, and shows how spoilt some of you have been by never having to witness and go through are true bottom out type rebuild.

Are we talking, like, what era Flying? I agree with you but am struggling to think of a rebuild since the early 70’s that anyone under 40 would have lived through.

I am not sure if 1988-1991 is as epic as a rebuild as this needs to be?

200.gif

Okay, now SQUEEZE the stress ball people.

My takeaways:
1 - Maybe we shouldn't sack Noble and his team after 25 games. Have many of you collectively lost your minds?
2 - Forget the second half. That happens to rebuilding teams with five core midfield players out against top teams sometimes. Your emotions as you watched it don't change that.
3 - The first half was actually okay (hear me out) I felt like players competed pretty well when we managed to make contests. But the number of uncontested chains of possession on the outside was a big worry.
4 - Noble and co MUST fix our structures. Specifically, the propensity of our players to 'see ball, get ball' Obvs someone needs to get the ball, but I saw the same thing in the Sydney praccy. When we do lose the contest, the ease with which they scored coast to coast was terrible. And it doesn't matter how good our players are; if this isn't fixed, we'll just end up a team which wins contested possession and clearances, but gets smashed.
5 - I'm not sure what's causing this structural issue. It's either
(a) They've trained the wrong structures. That is to say, the ideas are incorrect.
(b) The structures are fine, but our ability to execute them isn't.

For the coaching team's sake, I'd hope that it's (b)

But, in short, get a grip and take the membership out of the microwave. Football is 60% structures now. Why do you think that we are seeing matches with such big swings in momentum. Because one team's players all of a sudden started trying harder and the other team's stopped? Nonsense.

We see that because there's a swing in the chess match happening. Of course, you can't change anything if you don't win the footy. But as we showed in the first half, winning the footy isn't enough.

Free agents James Frawley, Tyrone Vickery, Ricky Henderson, Kyle Hartigan and delisted free agent Jonathan Simpkin

Yep, we’ve smashed free agency!
And that’s why he no longer has a job.

He looked a million bucks when he had a superstar list and just run of the mill when it fell apart.

Remember Harvey asking more of our youth at this time? We had the opposite problem - a strong senior group without the youth supporting them. Now the kids are here and they're the leaders and they're found wanting.

Firrito wasn't even a top 4-5 player for us - he was around the Kayne Turner mark now. But my god he always had a dip and was a leader. You wouldn't want to drop your standards playing alongside firrito.

And now most of them aren't playing in the AFL or are the "senior" players at the wooden spooners. Boomer was prophetic lol

I think if you are calling someone a pig of a person based on one loose comment then you are being awfully quick to judge. You may also find it hard to choose a new coach if your main criterion is that he must be as nice as Drew Petrie. That's a pretty high bar and also has no connection with coaching. And also, I haven't met the man but I'm told David Noble is one of the nicest people you would ever meet.
The assessment isn’t just based on my account of those individuals.

My mum was watching training one evening and left her jacket behind. Kingy saw what happened, left the track , jumped the fence , and chased mum to give her the jacket back.

Yeh but like your royalty down there

“Mrs Passmore, Mrs Passmore you forgot your jacket”…

Still happy to see the season out and see what happens.

Not ready to burn the imaginary plastic membership card and cry myself to sleep just yet.

I think it is a little premature to attach the "S" to Nobles. Like henna tatts he can have it temporarily.

I do think we have a game plan, just haven't the cattle to carry it out. Now he could adjust our game plan to suit the current squad, but what's the point.

Better to weed out all those not capable of delivering on it. And we've plenty of those left unfortunately.

A bloke I know saw Kingy walking past and said “gday Kingy”.

Without looking Kingy says “fu** off idiot”.

Fair play, my mate is a dickhead.

I saw him in Swanston St opposite Y&Js one day. Gave a nod as I walked past. He nodded back.

I think it is a little premature to attach the "S" to Nobles. Like henna tatts he can have it temporarily.

I do think we have a game plan, just haven't the cattle to carry it out. Now he could adjust our game plan to suit the current squad, but what's the point.

Better to weed out all those not capable of delivering on it. And we've plenty of those left unfortunately.
Serious response: The cattle are people who have played footy for most of their lives and were selected to play at the top level. In most cases, North chose players that would have been picked up in the draft by other clubs pretty soon after so it isn’t like we chose crazily. There has been a problem (it seems) with playe development for some time - some clubs appear to be better at it than others.

My question (for anybody, not just TAO) is, why would players at this level not be capable of holding a structure that has been drilled and trained into them? Unless they don’t believe it is the best structure?

Bye Bye Nobles