C Section C Season 2011

Tigers awesome today chaps, as were the umpires Les.

Any problems with the men in white this week Bedford? :eek:
Not at all, OC's were too good in the end. If its D1 so be it thats footy, you go down and try and get back up and thats the beauty of promotion and relegation,you find your own level. But it aint over yet.

Tigers awesome today chaps, as were the umpires Les.

Any problems with the men in white this week Bedford? :eek:

Agree on both counts Grum, umpires are at there best when you don't notice them. Great job yesterday. Werribee are a tremendous side i thought we tried hard early but each quarter you guys were 5-6 goals better. Some of our players had really good games but it was to no avail. You are very quick now and supremely fit, i hate to say it but a pleasure to watch, that includes your twos. It must be a great feeling down there at the moment, many twos players could play seniors anywhere.

I saw enough from Ormond yesterday to suspect they've got at least one, and possibly two wins left in them to go. It would be a massive upset for them to roll a 'Bee machine tuning up for a 2nd semi final.

Still, next week they've got MHSOB and follow that up with the Bombers at the airport. Personally, I thought Ormond were a tougher test than Old Essendon were, and the ground out there should suit them.

The loser of the rd 17 clash at Sunbury between Monash and Rupo could still be vulnerable going into rd 18.

Are reports correct about a draw at the Monash/Roys game?

Yep a draw! Monash kicking for goal after the siren to steal a win but Joey cunnington could only kick a point to draw the game. Second one for the year at the Frearson.

Great night last night at caulfield to celebrate monash blues 50th year. Team of the half century very well selected, only a couple of controversies! Well done to Phil de young, Macca, spence, jacko and co for putting on such a great night.

I saw enough from Ormond yesterday to suspect they've got at least one, and possibly two wins left in them to go. It would be a massive upset for them to roll a 'Bee machine tuning up for a 2nd semi final.

Still, next week they've got MHSOB and follow that up with the Bombers at the airport. Personally, I thought Ormond were a tougher test than Old Essendon were, and the ground out there should suit them.

The loser of the rd 17 clash at Sunbury between Monash and Rupo could still be vulnerable going into rd 18.

A win at the barnyard would be the answer for the ashes scribe.....

Haven't seen ormond this year but their form doesn't look too flash. Would need something special from here.

Bound to be a few upsets in the run home.

Hopefully your right scribe, the injuries are killing us at the minute. Three weeks in a row we have had no bench in the last quarter.
The other concern is with 6 kids at Sandy Dragons and we were only allowed one yesterday which is bullshit.

Looking at the draw it could be a titanic last few rounds. All sides vying for that last finals spot appear to have two winnable games with Fitzroy v Old Essendon rd 16 and Old Camberwell v Ruperstwood rd 18 looking like pivotal battles. If Old Essendon win this week the last spot could be theirs bar the shouting, but lose and Rd 18 beckons( I note that Fitzroy have Mazenod. A win here would swing things their way) Looking into my crystal ball- two win to Fitzroy and Old Camberwell, one each to Old Essendon and Rupertswood so Fitzroy looking likely on percentage- but who knows. Maybe Rupo can start the upsets rolling with a home win this week.

Not at all, OC's were too good in the end. If its D1 so be it thats footy, you go down and try and get back up and thats the beauty of promotion and relegation,you find your own level. But it aint over yet.

What about the old Ump cramping up in the last? Had to get attention from one of the OC's players and then had to relinquish the bounce to his younger fitter counterpart. Pure gold.

Not only did he miss his tips this weekend in Premier B, but he and his stupid mate GOI.......

.....have both gone all very quiet recently.

Wonder why.......:confused:

So what did happen with rusling?

It's been a significant reversal scribe, but at 0-7 it looked grim. But they did go the early crow!

So what did happen with rusling?

It's been a significant reversal scribe, but at 0-7 it looked grim. But they did go the early crow!

His partner is Canadian. Had visa issues and they decided it was easier for him to move there than for her to relocate here. Only played round 1, and after getting injured ribs he had hoped to play a few more but the pressure to re-unite got pretty heavy, so he's overseas still I believe.

Like countless other guys in their mid 20s I guess.

Looking at the draw it could be a titanic last few rounds. All sides vying for that last finals spot appear to have two winnable games with Fitzroy v Old Essendon rd 16 and Old Camberwell v Ruperstwood rd 18 looking like pivotal battles. If Old Essendon win this week the last spot could be theirs bar the shouting, but lose and Rd 18 beckons( I note that Fitzroy have Mazenod. A win here would swing things their way) Looking into my crystal ball- two win to Fitzroy and Old Camberwell, one each to Old Essendon and Rupertswood so Fitzroy looking likely on percentage- but who knows. Maybe Rupo can start the upsets rolling with a home win this week.

Going strictly by current ladder positions right now:

4. Old Essendon play 5th (Roys), 9th (Orm) and 3rd (Maz)
Should finish with 36 points based on 2 wins and one loss.
5. Fitzroy play 4th (OE), 3rd (Maz) and 10th (MHS)
Ending with 30 points based on one win.
6. Old Camberwell play 7th (Mon), 10th (MHS) and 8th (Rup)
If they win all three, they finish on 38.
7. Monash have 6th (OC), 8th (Rup) and 3rd (Maz). One win means 28 points
8. Rupo play 2nd (Ajax), 7th (Mon) and 6th (OC).
Will need an upset to get above 24 points.

Old Camberwell would be faves in my book, simply as everyone else plays Mazenod or Ajax in the next 3 games.

Great to see some life on this thread.
Great to see sides battling for 3rd and 4th and non-relegation, which makes the VAFA best comp in the land.
Does anyone feel that Ajax and Werribee won't be Grand Finalists this year and if so why not?

The Ajax vs Werribee game will be when I pass judgement on both sides. Mazenod could do damage.
Wouldn't place too much on a dead rubber as either club could be playing ducks and drakes.
Will be interesting to see if Tiges can match Ajax's midfield. But don't be surprised if Ajax don't show their hand and either rest or put in different positions.
Still believe the two best sides in the comp.

Top 2 are a cut above Mazenod, who are a cut above the rest.

The finals' experience of both the top 2 are good, but I could understand if Ajax reckon their higher grade experience might give them an edge. Whomever loses the 2nd semi would be worried about missing out on promotion as the 1st semi winner would clearly go in with nothing to lose!

Werribee vs monash last year, so called dead rubber, Werribee blew them ducks out of the water. I reckon Werribee would like to inflict a wound to Ajax before finals, and if Ajax can win at soldiers, they would have one hand on the cup

Yes tt but monash was set for the semi, and as we remember gave it one he'll of a shake. Don't read anything into home and away games for the top two from now.

Yeah 10points or something. From memory Werribee played people out of position. But they had beaten monash earlier. Werribee will want to make a statement, and will not want to lose at home. They rarely lose there and would dent confidence.

I know Kirk will go all out to win and put doubt in Ajax.
Looking forward to it

Have fun in D1 monders

What?...oh no I have just seen the ladder, last time I looked they were ok, cannot believe this once great club will slip to D1 in 2012.

I was anticipating the inaugural Robbins Cup between Ormond and Rovers in 2012 however will have to wait for 2013 and whether thats in C or D1 is up for debate.

The great Bedford's voice/opinion in higher grades will unfortunately get ever so fainter as they slip further down the pipe.

What?...oh no I have just seen the ladder, last time I looked they were ok, cannot believe this once great club will slip to D1 in 2012.

I was anticipating the inaugural Robbins Cup between Ormond and Rovers in 2012 however will have to wait for 2013 and whether thats in C or D1 is up for debate.

The great Bedford's voice/opinion in higher grades will unfortunately get ever so fainter as they slip further down the pipe.
I will just go in the tipping in three divisions lol.

Werribee v Mazenod this week is a dead rubber as they will be playing 1st and second semi regardless of result. Maybe be experiment time for both and bruise free football.
Maybe call it off and have a rest day:D

Any news on finals venues chaps?

If not, any idea when they may be announced?
IIRC they had most worked out by rd16.

Werribee v Mazenod this week is a dead rubber as they will be playing 1st and second semi regardless of result. Maybe be experiment time for both and bruise free football.
Maybe call it off and have a rest day:D

We were thumped by the bees by 100+ last time... i can assure you there wont be any bruise free footy or experimentation on our behalf.