• Parkdale Vultures

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Mazenod

Votes: 0 0.0%

Roy, I would have thought that a club as proud as Hampton could defeat AJAX without the assistance of VFL players. I am not keen on the idea of VFL players taking the place of regular players just because the VFL has a bye. If a player is not selected in a normal round then he is entitled to play with his nominated club but the number of players released this week is abnormal and will affect results in all grades.

Would make AJAX's win over them even sweeter knowing they had up to 6 VFL listed players playing

I mean fair dinkum, get a load of this guy would ya. Truly... if you're gonna have sustained success then you need to make the most of these opportunities. These kids have done their time in the junior program and have been fortunate enough to go on to bigger things in footy. Bloody oath you play them. I mean fair dinkum... if they've got a week off and want to give something back to their clubs and play with their mates you let 'em play.

Is that you Steve Irwin?

I reckon this game will tell us a lot of where these two teams-Rovers & AJAX-are heading in the course of the season.

I understand where you're coming from but these boys aren't just ring ins. They played their junior footy there and are regulars on a Saturday arvo supporting the Rovers and come to plenty of the functions. It might also have a fair bit to do with keeping in touch with them so they come back to the club after their VFL careers are over. Most boys only stay at a VFL club for 2-3 years then it's back to their local club with their mates.
And the bit about people missing out is a total cop out. The players that do get dropped are obviously not performing that well and in many cases aren't getting much game time as the VAFA isn't the AFL with all it's rotations. Often 2-3 players will spend the majority of their game on the pine. If 3 players get dropped to make way for 3 VFL players it obviously lets them know where they stand and gives them a reason to push harder so they're not in the danger zone again.

I understand where you're coming from but these boys aren't just ring ins. They played their junior footy there and are regulars on a Saturday arvo supporting the Rovers and come to plenty of the functions. It might also have a fair bit to do with keeping in touch with them so they come back to the club after their VFL careers are over. Most boys only stay at a VFL club for 2-3 years then it's back to their local club with their mates.
And the bit about people missing out is a total cop out. The players that do get dropped are obviously not performing that well and in many cases aren't getting much game time as the VAFA isn't the AFL with all it's rotations. Often 2-3 players will spend the majority of their game on the pine. If 3 players get dropped to make way for 3 VFL players it obviously lets them know where they stand and gives them a reason to push harder so they're not in the danger zone again.

Yeah, you're dead right.

Kim, read my lips. My objection to returning players is directed to VFL byes, not players dropped from their VFL side. Of course they have the right to play in the VAFA and support the club that taught them their craft. If these players are to return to their club after their VFL/AFL stint, all the better for the Ammo comp in the future, but in the spirit of fair play I believe there should be a cap on the number of returning players each week. My thought is 3 per club per week. By allowing Carte Blanche, a team in any grade, could be religated or promoted on the strength of their VFL player list. More to the point, very few of these players would qualify to play finals. I leave the rest open for discussion.

It's a bit like what FIFA are talking about at the moment at their conference, a cap (or limit) on the number of foreign players used by European clubs (ie Manchester United, Chelsea, AC Milan) to play for them.

Not really, as these players are not ring-ins nor are there millions of dollars involved, but I get your drift.

Round 8 Tips

Hampton v Ajax- Draw
Mazenod v Oakleigh- 19pts
Ormond v Monash- 6pts
Parkdale v MHSOB- 10pts
Whitefriars v Rupertswood- 21pts

ROUND 8 LADDER

Hampton 7-0-1 30pts
Ormond 5-3 20pts
Ajax 4-3-1 18pts
Parkdale 4-4 16pts

Oakleigh 4-4 16pts
Mazenod 4-4 16pts
Monash 4-4 16pts
MHSOB 3-4-1 14pts
Rupertswood 3-4-1 14pts
Whitefriars 0-8

Have a good break everyone!

Round 8 Tips

Hampton v Ajax- Draw
Mazenod v Oakleigh- 19pts
Ormond v Monash- 6pts
Parkdale v MHSOB- 10pts
Whitefriars v Rupertswood- 21pts

ROUND 8 LADDER

Hampton 7-0-1 30pts
Ormond 5-3 20pts
Ajax 4-3-1 18pts
Parkdale 4-4 16pts

Oakleigh 4-4 16pts
Mazenod 4-4 16pts
Monash 4-4 16pts
MHSOB 3-4-1 14pts
Rupertswood 3-4-1 14pts
Whitefriars 0-8

Have a good break everyone!

Having been in red hot tipping form, I confidently put forward the following for a bumper Round 8:

AJAX with the best midfield in the comp to defeat the Rovers.

Mazenod to just get over the Oaks, no idea why.

Monash to account for Ormond (who cares who sprayed who last week!!)

Parky at home to get the points over the High.

Friars to beat Rupo (who knows!?)

Have read with some interest (well done lads) the posts re VFL players coming back to play in the VAFA. Have noticed over the journey that these guys who are dropped/released seldom make much of an impact. Not sure whether this is due to their ability level or down to the difficulty in adjusting at late notice to new team-mates, coach, surroundings etc.

If the bye for VFL teams suddenly introduced a heap of guns which changed the whole balance of the comp, I would have problems. I just can't see this happening though. The VFL coaches are not about to let quality players charge around in C Grade. We will always see the guys who are just hanging in, and the system can work on this basis.

Enjoy your day at the footy. Do something nice for the umpires.

Yeah, you're dead right.
Please put it in persective...Let's remember it's VFL reserves that they have been dropped from..At some A & B grade clubs dropped players from VFL clubs play VAFA two's or 19's because they aren't good enough... Unless they are 17 or 18 yrs old - playing VFL two's isn't worthy of bragging about...

Maybe the VAFA & its VFL counterparts should come together before the start of next season and try and work out exactly how many VFL players could come back to play for their VAFA club of origin (at least 3 players a week IMO) in home & away footy but not finals. (Because under VAFA qualification rules a player must have played at least 5 games to be eligible for finals participation, and some VFL/VAFA players may not meet this eligiblity criteria due to their commitments with their VFL club).

we have full confidence that we will win with or with out VFL players.

secondly with 6 avail, thats not saying all are playing. (get down today to see!)

agree in full with pinto, these are boys that we want playing back at our club when they finish with VFL so of course we are going to treat them well and give them a game.

Groundsman: you have answered your own argument saying that it could affect a team getting promoted, but none of them will qualify for finals. so in the end its down to the core group of players.

and lastly after talking to people who have been dropped, for these players they are the least sad about it this week, to get dropped for someone who is playing VFL, and also it gives them a chance to play out a full game in the two's and play some good footy which can give a good confidence boost.

enough of this chat im off to play some footy.

Please put it in persective...Let's remember it's VFL reserves that they have been dropped from..At some A & B grade clubs dropped players from VFL clubs play VAFA two's or 19's because they aren't good enough... Unless they are 17 or 18 yrs old - playing VFL two's isn't worthy of bragging about...

As it is the bye week for the VFL none of these players have actually been dropped. More that they want to get some extra game time and have a run with their mates. 3 of the boys going back to Hampton have played solid VFL senior footy over the past year.

C SECTION RESULTS

Hampton Rovers 25.15. 165 d AJAX 14.10. 94
Mazenod 18.11. 119 d Oakleigh 11.15 81
Ormond 18.17. 125 d Monash 9.16.70
Parkdale 22.12. 144 d MHSOB 13.14.92
Whitefriars v Rupertswood (Sunday)

C SECTION LADDER

Hampton Rovers 8-0-0 32
Ormond 5-3-0 20
Parkdale 4-4-0 16
AJAX 4-4-0 16

Oakleigh 4-4-0 16
Mazenod 4-4-0 16
Monash Blues 4-4-0 16
MHSOB 3-4-1 14
Rupertswood* 2-4-1 10
Whitefriars* 0-7-0 0
*Playing tomorrow

The Jackas will be outright 2nd after this weekend by a mile and within striking distance of Hampton. After our poor start we are ready to pounce and go one better than 2006.

would you like cream to go with that humble pie?, twat.

Surely the Victorian selectors must seriously look at Matthew Robbins now. I reckon he would go straight into the final line-up as full-forward for the VAFA after a performance like what he did today. Hampton Rovers showed today just why they are the best team going around at the moment. The Rovers kicked 9 goals to 4 in the final quarter to win by 71 points, to win their 8th straight game. And to think they would struggle to win a game at the commencement of the season, according to some experts. Would losing the D1 premiership have something to do with the way the Rovers are playing now?

I reckon this game will tell us a lot of where these two teams-Rovers & AJAX-are heading in the course of the season.
Due to the hype surrounding the VFL players I ventured down Bluff Rd. The Rovers were awsome and I think I have some answers to their outstanding success today.The VFL hype lived up to its name. Martyn,first game, 7 goals. Corp, first game, 3 goals. Gribbin, first game, 2 goals, thats 12 goals. Wynn, in for his first game and Lyall in for his second. Can't believe Fletcher wasn't named BOG nor Greenwood in their best. Must try and get to the return match.

Surely the Victorian selectors must seriously look at Matthew Robbins now. I reckon he would go straight into the final line-up as full-forward for the VAFA after a performance like what he did today. Hampton Rovers showed today just why they are the best team going around at the moment. The Rovers kicked 9 goals to 4 in the final quarter to win by 71 points, to win their 8th straight game. And to think they would struggle to win a game at the commencement of the season, according to some experts. Would losing the D1 premiership have something to do with the way the Rovers are playing now?

Not for mine Jas. He wouldn't (or shouldn't) have figured in Ormond's best 6. A bag of goals but 3 from frees and one cheapy over the top. Took 1-2 good contested marks against an undermanned Monash backline.

Ormond pretty solid after a slow beginning. 7/10.
Monash up and down. Inaccurate and turned it over often. 3/10.
Umpires diabolical. Red card in first quarter a disgrace. Charge will be dropped (again) but the massive penalty inflicted can't be changed. 1/10.