C section 2010

I will preface this statement (cover my arse) by saying i am a terrible tipster.
I tip Caulfield to win the premiership this year. I have seen 3 years of "C" Grade footy and they are the best team i have seen at this level. The loss last week will only help IMO.

Well done to the Roy Boys i have always believed in them.

The four is basically settled, much to our disappointment.

"C" Grade is a terrific level of footy.

One of the stupider things i've read today.

Rupertswood of '07 were an 8-12 goal better side than the current one and would've beaten Caulfield. Not to mention they finished 3rd behind 2 unbelievably talented/listed "C" grade sides...thus exposing the difference between C grade in '07 and now.

What a debut at shark park for fitzroy with the beauy magoos snagging a good win,However the sad note note was the ones mite have hit a bit speed hump with a shock loss to fitzroy. It was fantastic luncheon with the ice cold frothies and a nice a bottle of penfold grange to go with my meal. It was great to see Di there too as I think she had more fun than me. However unfortunately didnt get a chance to say Hi,maybe have to wait to c grade presentation nite or the finals.
What do you think of the day bluebird?

All the best

Baz

What a debut at shark park for fitzroy with the beauy magoos snagging a good win,However the sad note note was the ones mite have hit a bit speed hump with a shock loss to fitzroy. It was fantastic luncheon with the ice cold frothies and a nice a bottle of penfold grange to go with my meal. It was great to see Di there too as I think she had more fun than me. However unfortunately didnt get a chance to say Hi,maybe have to wait to c grade presentation nite or the finals.
What do you think of the day bluebird?

All the best

Baz

You're sounding more and more like a stalker, Bazza.:rolleyes:

A good win in the ones by the Roys, but I'm told Beauy were nowhere near full strength.

We virtually lost 70% of our best reserves players. There was a discontent on there opportunities given. Fortunately the proof is in the pudding with a premiership win. But that has come at a cost that has decimated any depth we had. Generally these players were pretty good but commitment wise were over the year short of the mark and didn't deserve senior selection . There's an old saying, "you dont make too many changes to a winning side." The top 4 "C" Reserves sides would beat our reserve team of last year easily IMO.

kb,

i disagree with your description of these guys as reserve players. rupo has always dismissed players as reserve players and reds players. a bit like the caste system in india. i'm not surprised these untouchables with higher self esteem have chosen options where they get better opportunities.

I witnessed last year's pre-season where players fates were determined before the season started. getting an opportunity was like breaking into the bank of england. it's little wonder that this resulted in a mass exodus.

who left? guys who had spent their time as juniors with rupo. over a decade at the club. this is a sad indictment of the change in ethos between the junior and senior levels of the club. inclusive to exclusive.

it shit me for four seasons to watch player development dished out so haphazardly. equality of opportunity was not high on the list for the coaches. a consistent direction was never valued.

and now the reds have gone. too embarassing. replaced by the reserves. it's no fun getting flogged every week. no wonder the numbers for reserves are a weekly struggle.

i think rupo needs a peacemaker to go forward.

ps glad you still take an interest dent.

pps. this is better than the weekly tips cycle i have been reading for most of the season.

Rupertswood of '07 were an 8-12 goal better side than the current one and would've beaten Caulfield. Not to mention they finished 3rd behind 2 unbelievably talented/listed "C" grade sides...thus exposing the difference between C grade in '07 and now.

A fair bit of this Caufield side and the Beauy one were blooded in B Grade in '07 and '08, a place you haven't been yet!

kb,

i disagree with your description of these guys as reserve players. rupo has always dismissed players as reserve players and reds players. a bit like the caste system in india. i'm not surprised these untouchables with higher self esteem have chosen options where they get better opportunities.

I witnessed last year's pre-season where players fates were determined before the season started. getting an opportunity was like breaking into the bank of england. it's little wonder that this resulted in a mass exodus.

who left? guys who had spent their time as juniors with rupo. over a decade at the club. this is a sad indictment of the change in ethos between the junior and senior levels of the club. inclusive to exclusive.

it shit me for four seasons to watch player development dished out so haphazardly. equality of opportunity was not high on the list for the coaches. a consistent direction was never valued.

and now the reds have gone. too embarassing. replaced by the reserves. it's no fun getting flogged every week. no wonder the numbers for reserves are a weekly struggle.

pps. this is better than the weekly tips cycle i have been reading for most of the season.

Robbo
You once accused me of hurting your feelings so I am going to try to be nice here. Sometimes, we as parents can have an over inflated opinion of our sons footballing ability and tend to watch them through rose coloured glasses. We all know that you believe your young bloke didn't get a fair go at the selection table. The reality was he was not ready to take the next step at that time. If he had stuck at it ,with your encouragement, rather than blaming everyone else, who knows where he might be playing right now. Not sure where you are coming form with the 19 Reds. This has always been our second under 19s. if you were to go through the list of players who have graced the Reds over the years you would note any have gone on to play senior football, in fact one is currently at Werribee VFL and one actually played for the Tigers AFL last year.

There is nothing "embarrassing" about our reserves side. May not have been terribly successful on the scoreboard and we are struggling for numbers but those guys have stuck at their task admirably through some massive adversity this year. Pretty sure we can still register your bloke for the rest of the season. We would be delighted to see him down there.

{re Beauy's 'rested' players}

Hehe umm unlikely that a local suburban ammo club would make players miss matches for the team's season plan. I can see it being a possibility if there's millions of people paying memberships, buying gear and feeding television ratings, but err I think a C Grade player told he's not to play this week - to preserve him for next week - would probably start looking elswehere :)

But I do like the cut of your jib though :D

In that match, there are melee fines and URP charges bandied around. When is all that thrashed out?

I am sure i am far better placed to comment on Rupo than you. To suggest my comments are stupid clearly comes from a w***er, who has no idea.

kb,

We lost reserves players from last year who did nothing but deserve to play mainly reserves last year. These players had potential to play seniors but were simply not good enough and did not show the appropriate commitment. They were "reserves players" for us in 2009. The team selected in the Grand Final was the correct one as vindicated by the result. Unfortunately at alot of clubs reserves players see themselves hard done by. Players must be judged when in the selection process, this is an unfortunate reality

I am sure i am far better placed to comment on Rupo than you. To suggest my comments are stupid clearly comes from a w***er, who has no idea.

Kingbrown, your comment was in fact stupid...you even retracted it (see below).
"Might have got a bit excited, i can do that"
So, i'm the "w***er" if i pull you up on something you clearly preempted? (see above).
You then go on say you're in a better place to comment than me? :confused:
You have no idea mate.

Kingbrown, your comment was in fact stupid...you even retracted it (see below).
"Might have got a bit excited, i can do that"
So, i'm the "w***er" if i pull you up on something you clearly preempted? (see above).
You then go on say you're in a better place to comment than me? :confused:
You have no idea mate.
At least KB gets off his arse and does something around his club !

We lost reserves players from last year who did nothing but deserve to play mainly reserves last year. These players had potential to play seniors but were simply not good enough and did not show the appropriate commitment. They were "reserves players" for us in 2009. The team selected in the Grand Final was the correct one as vindicated by the result. Unfortunately at alot of clubs reserves players see themselves hard done by. Players must be judged when in the selection process, this is an unfortunate reality

These comments really expose how bitter you are. Guys that have been at the club for years and years and given so much on and off described in such a belittling way. No wonder they left and you are suffering the consequences.

this comment is misleading kb. some of the guys had played a lot of senior footy for rupo. i think they deserve more respect for their contributions at rupo than the moniker of 'reserve players'. despite you getting cranky with me you enjoy my great respect for the contribution and passion you have given rupo. sincerely robbo.

depends on your perspective grrrr :)

cheer up mobbs. there's always next week, next year etc. i attended last year's grand final [sat by myself:p] and the royboys represented the club with pride and certainly provided me with a new found admiration for fitzroy. i think it's great that the club has breathed life into a victorian institution.

Robbo, to suggest the coaches at Rupo have done little to develop the players is ludicrous at best. You only have to look at the amount of players we have within the AFL, VFL, QAFL & TAC competitions. The players who left over the summer did so of their own accord and yes, we miss them at Rupo as they were good guys. The fact is, they have left to play snr footy in a sub standard local competition (probably for some coin)and I personally hope they do well. I myself, was left out of a GF side some 28 yrs ago after playing 18 / 22 games. I chose to up the ante, work my arse off over the off season to get where I needed to be and was duly rewarded with a Snr premiership the following season. I chose to prove to those who dismissed me the previous year that I deserved to be in the 'A' team. Gotta say though, that omission still hurts. Dunno what else to say really.

The 2007 version of C versus the 2010 is a bit apples and oranges.
Reckon the top 3 this season aren't a patch on the top 3 of 2007. However, down the mid/bottom Ormond, Fitzroy and Mazenod are far more competitive than their counterparts from that season.

Old Camberwell's position in 4th isn't the best measure

Have no idea about 2010 C Grade, but do know that Rupo were the best team to finish third for a very long time in 2007 C Grade. Still can't believe they got relegated in 2008 after being so good the previous year. Modern mystery.

These comments really expose how bitter you are. Guys that have been at the club for years and years and given so much on and off described in such a belittling way. No wonder they left and you are suffering the consequences.

For a week or two bitter was a good description. It is no longer that way. I hope all the boys do well. I've had alot to do with them all. If you know me well i would never deliberately belittle anyone.
Anyone who has had anything to do with Rupo knows who i am on this forum. I have no idea who you are , you are welcome to PM me and discuss your thinking. To say i have no idea is a bit rough IMO, possibly you can enlighten me.
I still rate Caulfield very high, and was excited about what i seen on Saturday, they play a completely different brand of footy than the OC's of 2007. I still lean to Caulfield.

I did say you were a w***er who had no idea, not a good reference point to not belittling anyone, that probably is a stupider comment in light of what i said. So if i could take those comments back i would, anyway i need to move on, nearly over it all to be honest.