C section 2010

Hello football mentalists,

My name is snips i want to be coach of beauy u19's 2's please make me a 5 figure offer.

snipsy

Big changes in Sunbury. The geese have been culled. Apparently they didn't show enough enthusiam during the pre-season. As for Rupo, who knows? I think the posters have been banned from making comments. The coach is seeking improvement from within this year with a number of missing injured players adding to the depth of the senior squad from last year. Certainly two, maybe three could make a difference if they come back fit and firing. I'm not sure about the team bursting into C section like it did in 2007. Couple of players from that year are not easy to replace. Realistically, a solid season would be an achievable target. A finish between 4 and 6 IMO. Lots of players drifting away from the club. 11 have asked to be cleared. Some real surprises amongst those listed. Also the destination of choice seems to have changed. It's been the Sunbury Lions in the past who has pinched all the players. Noticeable difference this year is the number of guys going to the Sunbury Kangaroos. Plenty of choice now concerning which games you can attend. Hopefully Rupo will put four teams on the ground this year although I'm not convinced that the changes are a positive outcome for the younger guys and the lesser lights at the club. Sometimes the choices don't contain a good option and you make the best of a situation where the choices are limited.

Hard to work out which is more predictable.

1) that a handful of Rupo fringe players are going to play RDFL in the hope they get more senior opportunities (wow, big deal....no really!); or

2) you've chosen to get on here and highlight the fact.

Same old, same old. :rolleyes:

Hard to work out which is more predictable.

1) that a handful of Rupo fringe players are going to play RDFL in the hope they get more senior opportunities (wow, big deal....no really!); or

2) you've chosen to get on here and highlight the fact.

Same old, same old. :rolleyes:

I've said a lot more than you've chosen to highlight. I offered an opinion on where I think Rupo will finish and the major difference between the 07 and 09 models. I've expressed an opinion about the possible lack of opportunity for the guys if Rupo only field three teams this season - a possible reason why players are drifting towards the Sunbury Kanagaroos for the first time. I choose to post because, like you, I enjoy it. Apparently expressing an opinion, I've found out, can bring out all sorts of responses. I'm happy to post and reply to posts without being too judgemental of others. I don't know who you are so all I can respond to is what you say. You haven't said much so I'll leave it at that.:confused:

From my point of view these situations at football clubs are most disappointing. I have known most of these players since they were 10 years old. Whatever happened to copping it on the chin and working harder. What startles me is we weren't good enough at D1 reserves level to win it, yet the feedback is they will all play seniors at the Kangaroos. It is clear that amateurs is a great competition, and a competition that is great for young men. Luckily we still should be OK, unfortunately i remain very upset. There's an old saying "30 doesn't fit into 22".

Gday fellas
Hope u all having a good start to 2010

I had a glance at the transfer page on the vafa website and striking transfer had been done with local businessman Jono Roney going to oggers from oakleigh.

Im sure oggers will all be fitted out with new businessmen attire as Jono provides top quality gear at flexible rates.This must be a sign that Beaumaris and Oakleigh arnt just office people who sit on computers all day and eat dim sims and potatoe cakes and sip on fancy lattes.

All best Jono and good luck on cracking ur new market.

Baz

I've said a lot more than you've chosen to highlight. I offered an opinion on where I think Rupo will finish and the major difference between the 07 and 09 models. I've expressed an opinion about the possible lack of opportunity for the guys if Rupo only field three teams this season - a possible reason why players are drifting towards the Sunbury Kanagaroos for the first time. I choose to post because, like you, I enjoy it. Apparently expressing an opinion, I've found out, can bring out all sorts of responses. I'm happy to post and reply to posts without being too judgemental of others. I don't know who you are so all I can respond to is what you say. You haven't said much so I'll leave it at that.:confused:

Well given you posted this 50 weeks ago (leading into the 2009 D1 season), I daresay you have an axe to grind with the decision makers at your club about players departing to play locally.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=13765447&postcount=392

Ever get that feeling of deja vu?

The fact is your club is one of the most remotely located in the VAFA and its more than likely those lads who aren't getting regular senior games they believe they should be playing, and travelling 1-2 hours every 2nd Saturday to play curtain raisers, may think about the options closer to home which may let them play senior footy in a more localised league.

Not much the club can do about it if these guys aren't committed to improving themselves as players and trying to get into the Rupo 1s.

As KB said, it probably says more about the character of those departing than the current state of the club they're turning their back on.

You lift something out of the dim dark past that doesn't tell the full story. I think you'll find that I was surprised, yet again, to see kids who had been given good opportunities at Rupo just up and leave when it suited them. I couldn't understand the lack of loyalty being displayed. I thought it was poor form when Rupo had been relegated to D1.

As for the leagues these guys are going to play in, it still requires plenty of travel. So I don't agree that the travel factor has much to do with it.

I think KB is upset. He loves Rupo and has a great relationship with the players. I really don't think he's questioning their character and I don't think you should read too much into some of his comments.

Whilst I too am disappointed to lose these players, the club restructure at Rupo has been a great move and I am tremendously excited at the prospect of a young and dynamic group of players constantly challenging for spots in the seniors. Onward and upward !

I agree big fella, it is just taking me time to adjust. On restructure it is interesting Old Camberwell have a premier U19 side this year. I think this is a difficult proposition. Our senior side has become more and more reliant on the youth coming through and the balance between seniors and our U19 premier side was a headache for all. It is a young mans game, no doubt. If you are a good premier side i would suggest between 6-10 players would be good enough to play Premier "C".

spot on KingBrown.I reckon 3 or 4 will play from rnd 1 with up to 6 others getting games during the year.This probably puts the under 19 group under significant pressure to win games in such a tough comp.Unders recruited very well but with so many retirees at senior level many kids will get an oppo. Good for the club I reckon.

Same for the Roys re: youth pushing through.

Our top 30 will include at least 12 guys who played U19s in 2008/09. Doubt many would be required to play up. Maybe 2 or 3, but we're running 2 x U19 sides again, so they will want to minimise the number of eligible players playing up, lest they struggle to fill the U19 (2) side.

Only 3 weeks to PMs now.......:)

Scribe[B said:
]Same for the Roys re: youth pushing through.[/B]

Our top 30 will include at least 12 guys who played U19s in 2008/09. Doubt many would be required to play up. Maybe 2 or 3, but we're running 2 x U19 sides again, so they will want to minimise the number of eligible players playing up, lest they struggle to fill the U19 (2) side.

Only 3 weeks to PMs now.......:)

I thought Zoo and KB were talking specifically about the effect on a club of a premier division unders side?

spot on KingBrown.I reckon 3 or 4 will play from rnd 1 with up to 6 others getting games during the year.This probably puts the under 19 group under significant pressure to win games in such a tough comp.Unders recruited very well but with so many retirees at senior level many kids will get an oppo. Good for the club I reckon.

This balance becomes very hard to manage, there is a pull from both ends. Good Luck with it. A major issue for us was the jump from u16 to u 19 where alot of players had up to 4 years as a junior with a desire to play seniors with the conundrum of the clubs desire to be competitive in the best under age comp outside of TAC. I suppose the idealistic view is to play your best 22 in the seniors week in week out, this certainly does not always pan out considering the pull of friendship and playing with your mates.

On the other hand our change of model certainly has a degree of uncertainty as we move forward. The movement of our second tier players out of our club will put strain on our depth. The core group is strong, yet i sense our year will be defined by a fully fit playing group even more so than 2008. For some reason i feel "C" Grade will be an awesome comp and playing Parkdale at Parkdale round 1 is a huge challenge for our club considering round 1 2008!!!!!! Is Rochford still playing?????? It should be fun!!!!

Looking through posts re Old Camberwell, it appears as though this was not the case last year re playing kids in the seniors.
Funnily enough the senior coach was u19 coach last year, double standards or am I reading too much into this Mr Zoo?

as I am no longer an official of the club I can voice an unbiased opinion.Honestly I don't know the answer but there were plenty of kids last year who were keen to taste success with their mates.

However a look at the seniors playing lists in '09 reveal 3 or 4 unders playing seniors weekly.Hart,Deeve and Bennett became permanent members from round 9 till 17.

As for questioning the current coches philosophies,I am in no position to comment. And remember before I was senior coach in 03/04 I had similiar scenarios for 4 seasons with successful unders groups. It really is a hard one to get the balance right.The kids from the school are used to being 'cleaned up' on the scoreboard in the AGSV so the chance to play in a winning team with the mates you have suffered with is hard to knock back.

Have both brothers returned?

There are 3, Andrew is the oldest, and has hung them up. Brett has returned, and Callum is the youngest and is at Port Melbourne with CGFC as his second club.

But i say keep your eye on the "ice man" on his return.

I can only think that the sharks and vultures may remember him. Apologies for the nickname only, but it is all i can give at the moment.