C-section Ammo's 2007

In case anyone wonders what just went on there ... I just made a pretty awful faux pais ... unaware of the news at the time ... thought it best to kill it off ...

Horrible event. Sad stuff.

My apologies to anyone who copped an eyeful of my ignorance before I got to it!

I take it most people on this thread will be at praccy games this weekend but the 20/20 game at Carey will be where a lot of people should be supporting the cause - check vafa website and support the initiative !

Carey have so many good players now its game over and B Grade for the mighty panthers ! ! Them and Reds appear to be the ones for season 2007 once it gets going ! !

:p

Carey have so many good players now its game over and B Grade for the mighty panthers ! ! Them and Reds appear to be the ones for season 2007 once it gets going ! !

:p[/quote]
Anyone know how Reds went against Blacks on Friday night?

:p
Anyone know how Reds went against Blacks on Friday night?[/QUOTE]

Apparently they did very well according to overtheline, and are meant to look pretty formidable (read a few posts back), but he did neglect to mention who actually won the match :)

Anyone know how Reds went against Blacks on Friday night?

Apparently they did very well according to overtheline, and are meant to look pretty formidable (read a few posts back), but he did neglect to mention who actually won the match :)[/quote]

Well, with six quarters and guys coming and going off the ground a lot it is hard to tell.

I would estimate the Reds won by approx 5 goals.

Apparently they did very well according to overtheline, and are meant to look pretty formidable (read a few posts back), but he did neglect to mention who actually won the match :)

Well, with six quarters and guys coming and going off the ground a lot it is hard to tell.

I would estimate the Reds won by approx 5 goals.[/QUOTE]

I'd have no idea what the scoreline was but it'd be fair to say it was maybe a goal or two either way. There were a few obvious guns for Blacks having a run (Kempton and Lacey definitely played which is good for them), but I have no idea if they were 1/4, 1/2 or full strength. Fact is, running 6 quarters on a Friday night at reasonably short notice would make it difficult to get a solid senior unit together for either club.

We mixed up the first 3 quarters with U19s and mainly 2nds/3rds players with a sprinkling of senior guys who managed to get there early. I think the side which finished would've had maybe 14 guys who are expected to play seniors at some stage in 2007.

Only one notable injury (dislocated elbow) which was a bummer, but at least no-one else got hurt. The aim was to ensure everyone who attended (who didn't have a broken jaw like me!!!) got at least 2 quarters, and in that regard it was mission accomplished. Some guys played better than we anticipated, and their senior prospects have increased slightly as a result. For those who had a quiet hit-out, well that's OK as long as they start getting going soon.

We've now got 3 more games to tune up against Old Mentonians (this Saturday), Caulfield Grammarians (14/4) and Monash (21/4) - which will be strange given we should play them again for premiership points the following week!!!

In summary - I'd put absolutely no stock in the outcome of Friday night's hitout if (indeed) the Reds did prevail because it matters little. Just a lot of rust taken out of some players who might've been a bit sore on Saturday morning.

:thumbsu:

... (who didn't have a broken jaw like me!!!) ...

Wow I knew some of the punters were a bit crook on the whole columnist thing last year but crikey!

Good to hear that it was a promising run!

And six quarters huh ... remember when we were worried about not being able to play 4!

To touch up a B grade club with a lot of our key players missing was, indeed, impressive.
Things looking very promising for the Reds.

In the words of another well known poster...be very afraid!

To touch up a B grade club with a lot of our key players missing was, indeed, impressive.
Things looking very promising for the Reds.

In the words of another well known poster...be very afraid!

You Reds people are a joke!!!You were all talking the same **** at this time last year and look what happened......

If you went as hard at the footy as you do on this site, I may 'be afraid' as you say but the simple facts are that you are soft. Please stop posting crap until you start to prove yourself in the C Grade competition.

In some ways agree with surly- lets get something more constructive thatn Reds patting themselves constantly on the back, or Wells talking themselves up. Have had a few rumours re Whitefriars losing players, Old Carey gaining players, and NOBS John Barker.

How about some season tips, is Hilton at Old Camberwell? this would be bigger than many other rumours.-concrete news on Carey pickups, names- do they exist?- how are monash looking? Have NOBs got more than J Barker for a half season> what about mazenod?Have parkdale recruited??

for what it is worth

Promotion
Fitzroy
Mazenod

smokie Old Carey

relegation
Monash
Parkdale.

anyone see the practice match between Camberwelll and NOBs? how did they look?

Yes mate

OC had a small win,don't think anyone kept scores.Both sides left many players out so hard to decipher anything much other than the game was fast and flowing,with early seasons skills not to bad.

OC'S new skipper was pretty good as well as some of the unders coming thru.

In some ways agree with surly- lets get something more constructive thatn Reds patting themselves constantly on the back, or Wells talking themselves up. Have had a few rumours re Whitefriars losing players, Old Carey gaining players, and NOBS John Barker.

How about some season tips, is Hilton at Old Camberwell? this would be bigger than many other rumours.-concrete news on Carey pickups, names- do they exist?- how are monash looking? Have NOBs got more than J Barker for a half season> what about mazenod?Have parkdale recruited??

for what it is worth

Promotion
Fitzroy
Mazenod

smokie Old Carey

relegation
Monash
Parkdale.

Have to laugh. After potting the Reds supporters for pumping up the Reds, who does he pick for promotion!!
I must agree with your ladder. not bad except Reds will be playing Friars.
Hilton isn't at Oc, Barker IS at Nobs and Carey have recruited very, very well.
Appartnetly Nobs ran camberwell very close on the weekend so predictions about both sides( camberwell good and nobs bad) seem a little off the mark.

Surly, stick to the tired old comments about your mate Kinsella and stay on the B grade thread!

Yes mate

OC had a small win,don't think anyone kept scores.Both sides left many players out so hard to decipher anything much other than the game was fast and flowing,with early seasons skills not to bad.

OC'S new skipper was pretty good as well as some of the unders coming thru.
Come on zoo, fess up. The scores were something like OC 15 g 23 b to COBS 5 g 6 b. Cobs didnt score in the second half. OC had most of their guns out, whilst Barker played for COBS.

brian ,you must be everywhere,lol.
In my defence I did say we didn't keep score.Perhaps, on reflection, OC's margin was a bit bigger than I first thought.Given I was concentrating mainly on some of our 'boys' may I please be forgiven this time?
I'll make sure my next post is more factual.

brian ,you must be everywhere,lol.
In my defence I did say we didn't keep score.Perhaps, on reflection, OC's margin was a bit bigger than I first thought.Given I was concentrating mainly on some of our 'boys' may I please be forgiven this time?
I'll make sure my next post is more factual.
LOL zoo, your lads look really good, which is great. I would say that without pumping up Pauls boys, opposition clubs can expect a good game when they play the Wellers. The Reds are still the team to beat, along with Carey, should be a great season.

Regarding the OC v COBS practice match, while OC looked the better side, nothing can be taken from the seniors match because at least half the players from both sides were still p issed from st.pats day and COBS had 6-7 missing including barker and grace and there is still 6 weeks til season proper, however the seconds was a much better indication of where both sides are at, where id say OC should be early season favourites, with no st. bedes and seniors from last year being dropped looked very good, however many st.pats kids didnt play for COBS and it was far from the final side (with at least 10-12 players missing)

I hope my fellow Catholics do well bake, what are your realistic hopes for this year?

Realisitically the seniors will be mid-table, the inclusions of tall men Barker and Grace and a few other players whom i wont name on here will surprise many of the other teams. If Tim can get that one extra mid-fielder to help out Tonkin, Brady etc, it will be equal to any in the competition. The reserves had only 6 or 7 of the guys who played on the weekend as part of the final team, and should play finals. so realistically the seniors will just miss finals and the 2's will finish prob 3rd or 4th, I HOPE.

Afternoon all,

Just curious as to who is having a hit out this weekend? We (Rupo) have got a run with banyule after paradians pulled the plug. Also, are there any sides that are going to struggle with their grounds being available for round one?

Cheers, Dud

old carey playing tom down at phillip island. everyone is talking up their recruits but who are they? know they have lost some seasoned and experienced players like battle.